

Members Brief

An informational brief prepared by the LSC staff for members and staff of the Ohio General Assembly

Author: Larry Gunter, Jr., Research Analyst Reviewer: Bill Rowland, Attorney Volume 136 January 10, 2025

Motor Vehicle Registration Cost

State law requires payment of certain taxes and fees when registering a passenger car. The registration costs paid by a passenger car owner consists of the base annual license tax (\$20), an additional registration application fee (\$11), an alternative-fuel vehicle fee (which varies depending on the type of vehicle and applies only to certain vehicles), a deputy registrar fee (\$5), and a local motor vehicle tax (which varies from \$0-\$30 depending on the taxing district). Fees also apply for a new license plate, and there is an annual fee for a county identification sticker to be placed on a license plate. Because of the variability of some of the taxes and fees, individual passenger car owners will pay different amounts to register their vehicles depending on where they live, the type of vehicle, and whether new license plates are purchased.

The Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) in the Department of Public Safety (DPS) is responsible for registering vehicles throughout the state. The vast majority of these vehicles are passenger cars. A passenger car is any motor vehicle that is designed and used for carrying not more than nine persons, and includes any motor vehicle that is designed and used for carrying not more than 15 persons in a ridesharing arrangement. According to DPS, nearly 9 million passenger cars were registered in Ohio in 2023.

Annual passenger car registration cost

The general taxes and fees for registering a standard passenger car powered only by an internal combustion engine are specified in Table 1 below. The taxes and fees for registering alternatively fueled passenger cars are specified in Table 2 below. The fees for issuing one license plate are specified in Table 3, and the fees for issuing two license plates are specified in Table 4 (note: Ohio requires only one license plate, but a person may purchase two). Additional fees may apply in nonstandard circumstances, including those highlighted in the footnotes of this memorandum. Additionally, the fees listed below are for a single-year registration. Passenger car owners have the option of registering their vehicles for multiple years, up to five years. In that case, the owner generally pays the single year fees multiplied by the number of years the car is being registered.¹

¹ See <u>BMV Fees</u> for a list of fees that may apply in other circumstances, which is available on BMV's website, <u>bmv.ohio.gov</u>. See also R.C. 4503.103.

Table 1. Base passenger vehicle registration cost				
Description	Revised Code	Amount		
Annual license tax for passenger car registration ²	R.C. 4503.04(B)	\$20		
Additional application fee ³	R.C. 4503.10(C)(1)	\$11		
Deputy registrar fee	R.C. 4503.10(D) and 4503.038(A)	\$5		
Permissive local taxes	Chapter 4504.	Up to \$30 ⁴		
Total		Generally, \$36 to \$66		

Table 2. Motor vehicles using an alternative fuel source				
Description	Revised Code	Amount		
Additional fee: hybrid motor vehicle	R.C. 4503.10(C)(3)	\$100		
Additional fee: plug-in hybrid motor vehicle	R.C. 4503.10(C)(3)	\$150		
Additional fee: battery electric motor vehicle	R.C. 4503.10(C)(3)	\$200		
Annual license tax + additional application fee + deputy registrar fee + permissive local taxes (see Table 1)	R.C. 4503.04(B), 4503.10(C)(1) and (D), 4503.038, and Chapter 4504.	\$36-\$66		
Total		Hybrid motor vehicle: \$136-\$166		
		Plug-in Hybrid: \$186-\$216		
		Battery electric: \$236-\$266		

² R.C. 4503.04. Different fees apply to other types of vehicles, such as a motorcycles or commercial motor vehicles.

³ R.C. 4503.10(C)(1). Additional fees apply to commercial motor vehicles.

⁴ See <u>Taxing District Code Book (PDF)</u> for a list of the permissive local taxes in each taxing district, which is available on the BMV website, <u>bmv.ohio.gov</u>. This amount can be higher if an additional tax has been approved for a transportation improvement district under R.C. 4504.21 or a regional transportation improvement project under R.C. 4504.22.

Table 3. Issuance of one standard license plate				
Fee description	Revised Code	Amount		
License plate fee for one license plate	R.C. 4503.19(A)(5)	\$6.50		
Reflectorizing fee for one license plate	R.C. 4503.10(C)(2)	\$0.25		
Annual county identification sticker fee (charged at time of registration)	R.C. 4503.10(C)(2)	\$0.25		
Deputy registrar fee	R.C. 4503.10(D) and 4503.038(A)	\$5.00		
Total ⁵		\$12.00		

Table 4. Issuance of two standard license plates				
Fee description	Revised Code	Amount		
License plate fee for two license plates	R.C. 4503.19(A)(5)	\$7.50		
Reflectorizing fee for two license plates	R.C. 4503.10(C)(2)	\$0.50		
Annual county identification sticker fee (charged at time of registration)	R.C. 4503.10(C)(2)	\$0.25		
Deputy registrar fee	R.C. 4503.10(D) and 4503.038(A)	\$5.00		
Total ⁶		\$13.25		

⁵ Additional fees apply if a person obtains a vanity license plate (see R.C. 4503.42), an initial reserve license plate (see R.C. 4503.40), or a special license plate (for example, the bald eagle license plate under R.C. 4503.572), or wants to reserve their current stock license plate number on a new plate (see R.C. 4503.192).

⁶ See footnote 5, above.