STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

General information (SBE)

The State Board of Education is responsible for ensuring that every one of Ohio’s over 1.6 million K-12 students interact every day with well-
qualified educators who display high levels of moral character and judgment and to elevate and enhance the teaching profession. The State
Board of Education oversees the licensing of over 360,000 individuals, reviews over 22,000 professional conduct referrals yearly, operates
Ohio’s Educator Evaluation system, approves certain territory transfer requests, and implements the Ohio Teacher of the Year program. The
State Board of Education has 58 full-time employees and 19 State Board of Education members. Eleven of those members are elected by the
citizens, one from each of the 11 districts composed of three contiguous Ohio Senate districts. Eight board members are appointed by the
Governor.

Membership (Current members, chairperson and other officers, and selection process.)

19 State Board of Education members. Eleven of those members are elected by the citizens, one from each of the 11 districts composed of
three contiguous Ohio Senate districts. Eight board members are appointed by the Governor. The current President of the SBOE is Paul LaRue
and the Vice President is Martha Manchester.
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Budget (Current budget, description of budgeting process, sources of funding, and expected increases or decreases in budget or funding in

future years.)

Our funding is based on teacher licensing fees and a small portion of our budget is through Title Il dollars. Our FY24 budget was $14,805,153
with an expected expenditure in FY 25 of $17,069,820.

Workload (Assess current, past, and anticipated workload. Has the workload increased or decreased significantly in the preceding six years?)

See “State Board of Education Workload Data,” below.

Staffing (How many staff are currently employed by the Board? What are their roles? Are staffing levels proportionate to the Board'’s current

and anticipated workload?)

The State Board of Education agency has 58 full time staff members. Our table of organization is submitted as an addendum to this
document.
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Administrative hearings and public complaints (Describe the Board'’s processes for administering discipline and addressing complaints. Assess

the efficiency of the processes.)

The State Board of Education conducts investigations under Ohio Revised Code section 3319.311 and administers discipline under section
3319.31. If an investigation provides information necessitating action against a license, the Board follows the process under Chapter 119 of
the Revised Code for adjudication hearings. The Board delegates conducting the hearing to an independent hearing officer who provides a
Report and Recommendation for the Board to consider in reaching a final determination. The law recognizes certain instances in which a
hearing is not necessary, such as when the individual has committed one of the crimes set-forth under division (C) of Ohio Revised Code
section 3319.31. Further, for efficiency, the Board delegates a Board Member (Advising Board Member) to review cases which have potential
to be settled before proceeding to hearing.

Adult educator
Survey response (SBE)

One-year and four-year adult education permits are available for candidates who meet qualifications and have been hired to serve in Ohio
schools and school districts. The employing school or district must initiate and sign all applications for adult education permits. Please note
that educators may work in any Ohio school district under their valid adult education permit (they are not limited to working only in the
district that approves their application for the permit).
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

Permit

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually

2331

Number renewed annually

1517

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

Education or training requirements

Ranges from no to bachelor’s degree required depending on teaching field they select.

Experience requirements

No
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

No

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

No

Initial fee

$25.00 (1-year) $100.00 (4-year)

Duration

1-year or 4-year

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)

Does the Board recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Are there any circumstances in which an no
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by

the Board?
Is the Board permitted to exercise Section 3319.65 of the Revised Code authorized the state board of education shall establish a
discretion in determining whether to credential review board. The credential review board shall carry out any functions assigned to it

register, certify, or license an individual? by the state board with respect to assessing individuals pursuing alternative routes to educator
licensure and out of state educators seeking licensure in Ohio.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct
and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,

negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework

for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid for in a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that

educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved
rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is
effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator
disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 23, 2024)

Under Ohio law, an individual who holds an adult education permit may provide instruction for an adult education program,
which includes career-technical education programs for out-of-school adults, frequently to improve occupational skills, and
community-based education programs for personal enrichment. To be granted an adult education permit, an individual must (1) have
a high school diploma, (2) be recommended and employed by a school district, and (3) pay either $25 for a one-year license or $100
for a four-year license.3°

West Virginia issues multiple similar licenses, including the adult certificate endorsed for adult education and the adult permit
endorsed for areas of career and technical education (CTE).3! For an initial adult certificate endorsed for adult education, an individual
must (1) have a bachelor of arts degree from an accredited institution of higher education with at least a 2.50 GPA, (2) verify enrollment
in an in-state approved education preparation program (EPP), (3) pass an examination required by the West Virginia Department of

30 R.C. 3319.229; 0.A.C. 3301-24-05; State Bd. of Education, Licensure Fees.
31 W. Va. Code R. 126-136-5.
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Education (WVDE), (4) meet general requirements for licensure under West Virginia law,3? (5) receive a recommendation from the
employing county superintendent, Multi-County CTE Administrator, or the West Virginia Schools of Diversion and Transition (WVSDT)
Superintendent or designee, and (6) pay a $35 application fee. An adult certificate endorsed for adult education is valid for five years
and expires on June 30 of the last year of its validity. To renew the license, an individual must (1) complete six semester hours of
college or university course work reflecting a 3.00 GPA related to the public school program or related to basic skills content or
WVLearns courses through the WVDE or has reached 60 years of age or older and (2) complete adult education professional learning
activities as prescribed in the West Virginia Adult Education Instructor Handbook on the WVDE website and approved by the WVDE.33

For an adult permit endorsed for areas of CTE, an individual must be at least 18 years of age and (1) have a minimum of a high
school diploma or a degree, if applicable, through an accredited institution of higher education, (2) fulfill content specific conditions
for issuance as identified in the West Virginia CTE Endorsement and Testing Manual maintained on the WVDE website (including
industry credentials and work experience, as applicable), (3) receive the recommendation of the employing county superintendent,
Multi-County CTE Administrator, or WVSDT Superintendent or designee, and (4) pay a $35 application fee. An adult permit endorsed
for CTE is valid for five years. To renew the license, an individual must (1) complete WVLearns courses or six semester hours of college
or university course work reflecting a 3.00 GPA related to the public school program, (2) obtain a valid industry-recognized credential
as identified in the CTE Endorsement and Testing Manual, if applicable, (3) receive the recommendation of the employing county
superintendent, Multi-County CTE Administrator, or WVSDT Superintendent or designee, and (4) pay a $35 application fee.3*

Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, and Pennsylvania do not offer a separate license for adult education.

32 \W. Va. Code R. 126-136-9.
3 W. Va. Code R. 126-136-11 and 126-136-8; W. Va. Dept. of Education, Form V15 Application Instructions.
3 W. Va. Code R. 126-136-11 and 126-136-9; W. Va. Dept. of Education, Form V17 Application Instructions.
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Alternative administrative specialist or alternative superintendent
Survey response (SBE)

The Alternative Administrative Specialist License is four-year nontraditional licensure pathway allows candidates to work in an Ohio school
district or community school as an administrative specialist while completing requirements for a professional administrative specialist license.

The Alternative Superintendent four-year nontraditional licensure pathway allows candidates to work in an Ohio school district or community
school or as a superintendent or assistant superintendent while completing requirements for a professional superintendent license.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 143

Number renewed annually 54
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

Education or training requirements

Alternative specialist requires a bachelor’s degree and a 2.5 GPA

Alternative superintendent requires a master’s degree and a 3.0 GPA

Experience requirements

5-years of work experience in teaching, administration, education or management.

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

The Ohio Assessment for Educators is administered by Evaluation Systems of Pearson. The exam
administrator was selected by the state board of education through the RFP process. The
assessment was recommended by the Educator Standards Board for approval by the state board
of education.

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Varies depending on the degree the candidate holds when obtaining the original license.

Initial fee

$80.00

Duration

2-year
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)

Does the Board recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any circumstances in which an
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Board?

No

Is the Board permitted to exercise
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Section 3319.65 of the Revised Code authorized the state board of education shall establish a
credential review board. The credential review board shall carry out any functions assigned to it
by the state board with respect to assessing individuals pursuing alternative routes to educator
licensure and out of state educators seeking licensure in Ohio.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct

and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,
negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework

for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid for in a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that
educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved
rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is

effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator
disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 19, 2024)

Ohio issues an alternative administrative specialist and alternative superintendent license. Generally, to receive the alternative
administrative specialist license an individual must have at least a bachelor’s degree and to receive the alternative superintendent
license an individual must have at least a master’s degree. An applicant must also have a minimum GPA of 3.0 and five or more years
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of documented experience in teaching, administration, education, or management. The alternative licenses are valid for two years and
may be renewed once.?® To be issued an alternative license an individual must pay a fee of $80 for the initial license and for the
renewal.3®

Michigan issues similar licenses called school administrator certificate-alternative pathways. There are multiple pathways an
individual can take to be issued this license. For alternative pathway category 1, an individual must have a master’s degree or higher
and complete a supervised internship. For alternative pathway category 2, an induvial must have a bachelor’s degree and complete a
supervised internship. For alternative pathway category 3, an individual must have a minimum of three years of successful experience
as a pre-K to 12 school administrator, central office school administrator, or management or leadership experience in a field other
than pre-K to 12 or central office administration. An examination is required to be issued this license.3” License holders must complete
continuing education of 150 hours of any combination of education-related professional learning hours.38 This license is valid for five
years.?® To be issued an alternative pathway license, an in-state applicant must pay $160 and an out-of-state applicant must pay $210
for the initial license and $160 for renewal.*°

Alternative military educator

The requirement to obtain a license as an alternative military educator was enacted in H.B. 33 of the 135™ General Assembly.
As this licensure requirement is currently in the early stages of the implementation process, there is not enough information to include
in the report.

% R.C.3319.27; 0.A.C. 3302-24-12.

36 R.C. 3319.51; State Bd. of Education, Licensure Fees.
37 Mich. Admin. Code R. 380.105.

3 Mich. Admin. Code R. 380.1009.

3% Mich. Admin. Code R. 380.107.
0 Mich. Comp. Laws 380.1538.
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Associate
Survey response (SBE)

Five-Year Associate licenses are available for applicants who meet qualifications in the following areas: Prekindergarten Associate

Educational Paraprofessional, Interpreter for the Hearing Impaired, Occupational Therapy Assistant, Physical Therapy Assistant

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 372

Number renewed annually 231
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

Education or training requirements

Applicants must complete an approved, traditional preparation program through an accredited
college or university that culminates in the college or university’s recommendation for licensure

Experience requirements

No

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

The Ohio Assessment for Educators is administered by Evaluation Systems of Pearson. The exam
administrator was selected by the state board of education through the RFP process. The
assessment was recommended by the Educator Standards Board for approval by the state board
of education.

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Initial fee

$200.00

Duration

5-year

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Does the Board recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any circumstances in which an
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Board?

No

Is the Board permitted to exercise
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Section 3319.65 of the Revised Code authorized the state board of education shall establish a
credential review board. The credential review board shall carry out any functions assigned to it
by the state board with respect to assessing individuals pursuing alternative routes to educator
licensure and out of state educators seeking licensure in Ohio.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct

and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,
negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework

for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid for in a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that
educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved
rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is

effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator
disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 27, 2024)

Associate

Type of regulation | License No clear License No clear Certification License
(Name of (Associate license) equivalent (Professional equivalent (Special education | (Early childhood
regulation) (0.A.C. 3302-24- Certificate for paraprofessionals | classroom
05) Interdisciplinary credential of assistant teacher
Early Childhood) competency) authorization
(16 Ky. Admin. (22 Pa. Code (ECCAT) -
Regs. 2:040) 14.105) temporary
(ECCAT 1),
permanent
(ECCAT Il),
permanent with
permanent
paraprofessional
certificate
(ECCAT Il1), and
permanent
paraprofessional
certificate)
(W. Va. Code R.
126-136-12)
Education or Associate’s N/A Either: N/A Complete one of For ECCAT I, high
training degree (1) bachelor’s the following: school diploma or
Either: degree in (1) two years of equivalent
approved postsecondary

(1) completion of
an approved
program of

preparation
program with a
specified GPA or

study, (2) an
associate’s degree

For ECCAT Il, the
above and
completion of
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Associate

(0],11] Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia

preparation in
prekindergarten
associate,
educational
paraprofessional
(denoted as ESEA
qualified), and
interpreter for the
hearing impaired
or (2) a current
license to practice
issued by the Ohio
Occupational
Therapy, Physical
Therapy, and
Athletic Trainers
Board as an
occupational
therapy assistant
or physical
therapy assistant

(0.A.C. 3301-24-
05)

(2) completion of
the specified
requirements to
transition from a
probationary
certificate to a
professional
certificate

(16 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 2:040 and
2:140)

or higher, or
(3) an assessment

(22 Pa. Code
14.105)

required course
work (under
continuing
education for
ECCATI)

For ECCAT lll, high
school diploma or
equivalent and
required,
approved course
work

For
paraprofessional,
high school
diploma or
equivalent and
either

(1) completion of
36 postsecondary
hours or
equivalent or (2) a
valid out-of-state
professional
teaching
certificate or valid
or expired West
Virginia
professional
teaching
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Associate

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

certificate or its
equivalent

(W. Va. Code R.
126-136-12 and
126-136-12.4)

Experience N/A

N/A

Completion of the
Kentucky Teacher
Internship
Program (KTIP)

(16 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 2:040 and
7:010)

N/A

N/A

For ECCAT I, N/A

For ECCAT Il and
ECCAT III,
recommendation
by employer or
recent employer

Option to hold
valid or expired
professional
teaching
certificate or
equivalent or
exam

For
paraprofessional,
not required but
classroom
experience may
be used as a
substitute for
some of the
required
postsecondary
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Associate

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

hours under
education
requirements

(W. Va. Code R.
126-136-12 and
126-136-12.4)

Exam N/A N/A Yes — Praxis N/A Optional For ECCAT |, yes
Interdisciplinary (22 Pa. Code For ECCAT Il and
Early Childhood 14.105) ECCAT Ill, option
Education
to take exam or
assessment hold a valid or
(16 Ky. Admin. expired
Regs. 6:010) professional
teaching
certificate or
equivalent
For
paraprofessional,
yes
(W. Va. Code R.
126-136-12 and
126-136-12.4)
Continuing Either six N/A For first renewal, N/A 20 hours of staff For ECCAT |, three
education semester hours of completion of 15 development semester hours of
course work or 18 hours of approved activities related approved course
continuing fifth-year work in preschool
education units graduate special education,
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Associate

(0],11] Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia

(180 contact
hours), which

must be related to

classroom
teaching and/or
the area of
licensure as
approved by the
local professional
development
committee of the
employing school
or school district

(0.A.C. 3301-24-
08)

preparation
program or
completion of
required
components of
continuing
education option
for initial
certificate
renewal

For second
renewal,
completion of
approved fifth-
year graduate
preparation
program or
successful
completion of
continuing
education option

For each
subsequent
renewal, three
years of
successful
teaching
experiences and
at least six
semester hours of

to assignment
each school year

(22 Pa. Code
14.105)

child
development, and
early childhood
language, literacy,
and numeracy or
completion of
semester hours
for the
Apprenticeship
for Child
Development
Program or
completion of
semester hours
for CDA credential
or completion
certificates of
approved CTE
course work

For
paraprofessional,
N/A

(W. Va. Code R.
126-136-12)
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Associate

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

credit or
equivalent in
professional
development

(16 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 2:040 and
2:010)

Initial licensure $200 N/A S85 N/A N/A Except for
fee (State Bd. of (16 Ky. Admin. gg;aprofessmnal,
Education, Regs. 4:040)
Licensure Fees) For
paraprofessional,
S50
(W. Va. Dept. of
Education,
Application
Forms
License duration Five years N/A Five years N/A N/A For temporary

(0.A.C. 3301-24-
08)

(16 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 4:060)

authorization, one
school year (may
be renewed
twice)

For permanent
authorization,
valid unless
surrendered,
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Associate

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia

suspended, or

revoked

(W. Va. Code R.

126-136-12)

Renewal fee $200 N/A S85 N/A N/A For temporary

(State Bd. of (16 Ky. Admin. authorization, 535
Education, Regs. 4:040) (W. Va. Dept. of
Licensure Fees) Education,

Application

Forms

Alternative principal and Bright New Leaders alternative principal

Survey response for alternative principal license (SBE)

This three-year nontraditional licensure pathway allows candidates to work in an Ohio school as a principal or assistant principal while
completing requirements for a professional license.

Applicants must have a principal or assistant principal position in an Ohio school or district and submit the following with their initial, online
application for the 1-Year Alternative Principal license.

e Candidates must submit a current board resolution from their employing school or district verifying the principal or assistant principal
position in which they will serve, including grade levels.
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 309

Number renewed annually 138

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding

six years?

Education or training requirements Candidates must submit all official transcripts from an accredited college or university verifying
their college coursework, degrees and cumulative undergraduate or graduate grade point
average (GPA) of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.

Experience requirements Candidates must meet one of the following work experience requirements:

Two years of successful teaching experience under a standard or alternative teaching license or
permanent non-tax certificate

Two years of experience under a professional pupil services license
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Five years of successful experience in administration, education or management

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

The Ohio Assessment for Educators is administered by Evaluation Systems of Pearson. The exam
administrator was selected by the state board of education through the RFP process. The
assessment was recommended by the Educator Standards Board for approval by the state board
of education.

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Initial fee

$40.00

Duration

1-year

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)

Does the Board recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any circumstances in which an
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Board?

No

Is the Board permitted to exercise
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Section 3319.65 of the Revised Code authorized the state board of education shall establish a
credential review board. The credential review board shall carry out any functions assigned to it
by the state board with respect to assessing individuals pursuing alternative routes to educator
licensure and out of state educators seeking licensure in Ohio.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct
and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,
negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework
for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct
and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming

to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework
for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid for in a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that
educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved
rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is

effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator
disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?
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Survey response for Bright New Leaders alternative principal license (SBE)

Description

This program is under the auspices of the Ohio State University. The State Board of Education does not maintain data for this program.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

The State board of Education does not maintain data for this program.

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually NA

Number renewed annually NA
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Have there been significant increases or NA
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding

six years?

Education or training requirements NA
Experience requirements NA
Examination requirements (Who NA

administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

Continuing education requirements NA
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Initial fee NA

Duration NA

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, NA
please explain why.)
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Does the Board recognize uniform NA
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Are there any similar national NA
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Are there any circumstances in which an NA
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Board?

Is the Board permitted to exercise NA
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Other information (Significant attributes NA
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?
How is that revenue used?

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?

NA
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 19, 2024)

Ohio issues an alternative principal license with a minimum requirement of a bachelor’s degree and a minimum GPA of 3.0.
Applicants are required to have two or more years of teaching experience or five years of documented work experience in education,
management, or administration.*! To be issued this license, an individual must pay a fee of $40 for the initial license and for renewal.*?
This license is valid for one year and may be renewed twice.

Ohio also issues the Bright New Leaders alternative principal license. Under the Bright New Leaders Program, participants may
earn a professional administrator license by completing a Master’s of Business Administration from the Ohio State University Fisher
College of Business and a one-year principal externship.® The initial license and renewal fee is $200.4* This license is valid for five
years, and participants must commit to serving a minimum of three years as an educational administrator and leader of an underserved
public school or school district in Ohio.

Pennsylvania also offers an alternative route for a principal certification. Under this alternative route, an individual may receive
certification with a bachelor’s degree and three years of experience in an educational setting related to the instruction process.
Individuals must have an offer of employment as a principal, vice principal, or assistant principal from a public school and within two
years of issuance pass an examination and either complete a graduate-level principal certification program or the Pennsylvania
Inspired Leadership Induction Program. Since the certificate must be converted to a regular principal certificate, it appears to be for
two years. It also appears to have the same fee of $200.%°

41R.C.3319.27; 0.A.C. 3302-24-11.

42 R.C. 3319.51; State Bd. of Education, Licensure Fees.

43 R.C.3319.272; 0.A.C. 3302-24-10.

44 R.C. 3319.51; State Bd. of Education, Licensure Fees.

4524 P.S.12-1207.1; 22 Pa. Code 49.121; Pa. Dept. of Education, Principal Certification Requirements.
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Career-technical workforce development educator
Survey response for career-technical workforce development educator license (initial) (SBE)

The 2-Year Provisional CTWD license may be issued at the request of an employing Ohio district or career-technical workforce
development center, provided the candidate has met all of the following requirements:

e Earned a high school diploma or equivalent.
e Has a minimum of five years of full-time work experience in the requested teaching field.

e Enrolled in an approved CTWD educator preparation program.

Career-technical workforce development (CTWD) licenses are available for applicants who meet qualifications and have been hired to teach in
Ohio schools or districts in grades 4-12. The 2-Year Provisional CTWD license may be issued at the request of an employing Ohio district or

career-technical workforce development center.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 386

Number renewed annually 122

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

Education or training requirements Earned a high school diploma or equivalent.
Has a minimum of five years of full-time work experience in the requested teaching field.

Enrolled in an approved CTWD educator preparation program.

Experience requirements

Examination requirements (Who None
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Initial fee

$80.00

Duration

2-year

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)

Does the Board recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any circumstances in which an
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Board?

No

Is the Board permitted to exercise
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Section 3319.65 of the Revised Code authorized the state board of education shall establish a
credential review board. The credential review board shall carry out any functions assigned to it
by the state board with respect to assessing individuals pursuing alternative routes to educator
licensure and out of state educators seeking licensure in Ohio.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct
and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,
negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework

for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid for in a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.
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Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that
educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved
rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is
effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator

disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.
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Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?

Surrounding state comparison for career-technical workforce development educator (initial)
(LSC) (as of August 23, 2024)

Career-Technical Workforce Development Educator (Initial)

Type of regulation | License License License No clear License License
(Name of (Initial career- (Workplace (Provisional equivalent (Career and (Initial CTE
regulation) technical specialist 1) certificate for technical certificate)
\évorklforce t (511 Ind. Admin. g_T_(I:Eupatlon-based msttr.]l:ctltonal I (W. Va. Bd. of
Ileve opmen Code 17-1-2; Ind. ) certificate) Education policy
icense) Dept. of (16 Ky. Admin. (24 P.S. 12- 5202, section
(R.C. 3319.229) Education, Regs. 2:010 and 1204.2; 22 Pa. 10.5)
Workplace 2:020) Code 49.142)
Specialist)
Education or High school High school High school N/A 18 credit hours in | High school
training diploma or diploma diploma with an approved CTE diploma or,
equivalent a‘nd (511 Ind. Admin. reqmr'ed work preparation dependent on
enrollmentina Code 17-1-2) experience and program, content area, a
career-technical assessments (see including at least | degree from an
workforce below) or an three credits or 90 | accredited
development associate’s degree hours, or an institution of
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Career-Technical Workforce Development Educator (Initial)

(0],11] Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia

educator
preparation
program that

(1) is approved by
the Chancellor of
Higher Education,
(2) provides
classroom support
to the candidate,
(3) includes at
least three
semesters of
course work of
the teaching of
reading in the
subject area, (4) is
aligned with
career-technical
education and
workforce
development
competencies
developed by the
Department of
Education and
Workforce,

(5) uses a
summative
performance-
based assessment

in the occupation
area in which the
teacher candidate
is seeking
certification

(16 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 2:020)

equivalent
combination,
regarding
accommodations
and adaptations
for diverse
learners in an
inclusive setting
and a bachelor’s
degree if the
individual has less
than 8,000 hours
of experience in
the occupational
area to be taught

(22 Pa. Code
49.142)

higher education
(IHE) and one of
the following:

= Completion of a
state approved
CTE
preparation
program with a
minimum 2.5
GPA and the
recommend-
ation of the
designated
official at the
IHE through
which the
program was
completed;

= Avalid West
Virginia
professional
teaching
certificate with
the years of
work
experience
required under
the CTE
Endorsements
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Career-Technical Workforce Development Educator (Initial)

Ohio

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

developed by the
program and
aligned to the
competencies to
evaluate the
candidate’s
knowledge and
skills, and

(6) consists of not
less than 24
semester hours of
course work

(R.C. 3319.229)

and Testing
Manual; or

= A valid out-of-
state CTE
certificate in
the
specialization
for which West
Virginia
licensure is
requested and
three years of
successful out-
of-state
experience as
an educator
within the
seven years
immediately
preceding the
date of
application

(W. Va. Code R.
126-136-10)

Experience

At least five years
of work
experience, or the
equivalent, in the
subject area in

Must be at least
21 years of age

Either 5,000 hours
of occupational

For those who do
not hold at least
an associate’s
degree in the
occupation area

N/A

A minimum of
8,000 hours
(equivalent to
four years full-
time) wage-

Dependent upon
the content area
for which the
certificate is being
sought, additional
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Career-Technical Workforce Development Educator (Initial)

Ohio

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

which the
applicant will
teach

(R.C. 3319.229)

experience in the
last five years or
4,000 hours of
occupational
experience in the
past ten years and
one of the
following

(1) completion of
an occupational
competency test,
(2) evidence of
occupational
licensure or
occupational
proficiency based
on approved
regional, state, or
national board
training and
evaluation,

(3) completion of
an accredited
two-year or
higher degree in
the specific
certification area,
or (4) completion
of an
apprenticeship or

in which the
candidate is
seeking
certification, at
least two years of
occupational
experience
completed within
the last five years

A maximum of
one year may be
satisfied by
completion of an
approved
occupation-based
educator
preparation
program for the
occupation to be
taught

(16 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 2:020)

earning
experience in the
occupational area
to be taught or
4,000 hours
(equivalent to two
years) wage-
earning
experience plus a
bachelor’s degree

(22 Pa. Code
49.142)

wage-earning
experience or
training, including
an industry
recognized
credential may be
required

(W. Va. Code R.
126-136-10; W.
Va. Dept. of
Education, CTE
Endorsement and

Testing Manual
PDF,
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Career-Technical Workforce Development Educator (Initial)

Indiana Kentucky Pennsylvania West Virginia
internship
program
(Ind. Dept. of
Education,
Workplace
Specialist)
Exam N/A Yes, if the Yes N/A Yes Yes
applicant has only | oy A i (22 Pa. Code (W. Va. Code R.
E‘;mp'eted 4000 | pegs. 6:020) 49.142; 22 Pa. 126-136-10; W.
urs of Code 49.18) Va. Dept. of
occup.atlona.\I Education, CTE
experience in the
Endorsement and
past ten years and Testing Manual
does not meet ESHng SANUA
. PDF,
other criteria (see
above)
(Ind. Dept. of
Education,
Workplace
Specialist)
Continuing Sufficient N/A For first renewal, | N/A Completion of the | Obtainment of
education progress in the (1) six semester approved the industry
career-technical hours of academic preparation recognized
workforce credit or its program leading credential
development equivalent in to the career and | required for
educator professional technical renewal and one
preparation learning from the of the following:
program New Teacher
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https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/workplace-specialist/#WSI
https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/workplace-specialist/#WSI
https://wvde.us/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/West-Virginia-CTE-Endorsement-and-Testing-Manual_20220713.pdf
https://wvde.us/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/West-Virginia-CTE-Endorsement-and-Testing-Manual_20220713.pdf
https://wvde.us/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/West-Virginia-CTE-Endorsement-and-Testing-Manual_20220713.pdf
https://wvde.us/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/West-Virginia-CTE-Endorsement-and-Testing-Manual_20220713.pdf

Ohio

described in the
“Education or
training” section,
as determined by
the supervisor of
the program

(R.C. 3319.229)

Indiana

Kentucky

Institute (NTI),
(2) completion of
the first year of
professional
learning through
the NTI, and (3) a
recommendation
for enrollment in
KTIP

For subsequent
renewal, six
semester hours of
college credit
from the degree
program and four
days of
professional
development

(16 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 6:020; Ky.
Rev. Stat. 156.095
and 158.070)

Career-Technical Workforce Development Educator (Initial)

Michigan

Pennsylvania

instructional Il
certificate

(22 Pa. Code
49.142)

West Virginia

= Six semester
hours of
appropriate
college or
university
course work
reflecting a
3.00 GPA;

= WVLearns
courses
through the
WVDE;

= Aminimum of a
master’s
degree and a
minimum of a
salary
classification
(professional or
CTE) of an
MA+30; or

= A minimum of
60 years of age

(W. Va. Code R.
126-136-10; W.
Va. Dept. of
Education, CTE
Endorsement and
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Career-Technical Workforce Development Educator (Initial)

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Testing Manual
PDF,
Initial licensure S80 $71.72 ($36.72 for | No charge, but N/A $200 S35
fee (State Bd. of g;ff; I:rcense and may be ble f (Pa. Dept. of (W. Va. Dept. of
Education, | o;.an :ESpon‘? fe or Education, Education, Form
Licensure Fees) evaluation) € C_OS do Application Fees) V7 Application
(511 Ind. Admin. required exams Instructions)
Code 16-1-2; Ind. | (16 Ky. Admin.
Dept. of Regs. 2:020; Div.
Education, of Educator
Licensing Fees) Licensure and
Quality,
Certification Fees)
License duration Two years Two years One year; limited | N/A Eight years Five years
(R.C. 3319.229) | (Ind. Dept. of to five, f”fe'year (22 Pa. Code (W. Va. Code R.
Education, renewalsfora 49.142) 126-136-10)
total validity of six
Workplace
Specialist) years
(16 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 2:020)
Renewal fee N/A $36.72 N/A N/A N/A S35
(511 Ind. Admin. (W. Va. Dept. of
Code 16-1-2) Education, Form
V7R Application
Instructions)
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https://wvde.us/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/West-Virginia-CTE-Endorsement-and-Testing-Manual_20220713.pdf
https://wvde.us/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/West-Virginia-CTE-Endorsement-and-Testing-Manual_20220713.pdf
https://sboe.ohio.gov/educator-licensure/information-and-resources/licensure-fees
https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/licensing-fees/
http://www.epsb.ky.gov/mod/page/view.php?id=124
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/FeesForms/Pages/Application-Fees.aspx
https://wvde.us/certification/certification-info/application-forms/form-v7-application-instructions/
https://wvde.us/certification/certification-info/application-forms/form-v7-application-instructions/
https://wvde.us/certification/certification-info/application-forms/form-v7-application-instructions/
https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/workplace-specialist/#WSI
https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/workplace-specialist/#WSI
https://wvde.us/certification/certification-info/application-forms/form-v7r-application-instructions/
https://wvde.us/certification/certification-info/application-forms/form-v7r-application-instructions/
https://wvde.us/certification/certification-info/application-forms/form-v7r-application-instructions/

Survey response for career-technical workforce development educator license (advanced)
(SBE)

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 189

Number renewed annually 1
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

Education or training requirements

While working these individuals complete a 24-hour approved program through a college or
university.

Experience requirements

This requirement is monitored by the Department of Education and Workforce.

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

None

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

No

Initial fee

$200.00

Duration

5-year

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Does the Board recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any circumstances in which an
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Board?

No

Is the Board permitted to exercise
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Section 3319.65 of the Revised Code authorized the state board of education shall establish a
credential review board. The credential review board shall carry out any functions assigned to it
by the state board with respect to assessing individuals pursuing alternative routes to educator
licensure and out of state educators seeking licensure in Ohio.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct

and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,
negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework

for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid for in a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that
educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved
rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is

effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator
disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?
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Surrounding state comparison for career-technical workforce development educator license
(advanced) (LSC) (as of August 23, 2024)

Career-Technical Workforce Development Educator (Advanced)

(0],11] GIERGE] Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Type of regulation | License License License License License License
(Name of (Advanced career- | (Workplace (Professional (CTE (Career and (Permanent CTE
regulation) technical specialist 1) certificate for endorsement) technical certificate)
\évorklforce ; (511 Ind. Admin. g%czup;tlor;.—based (Mich. Admin. ms'ir.]tcjlctl:)nal : (W. Va. Code R.
I_e"e opmen Code 17-1-2; Ind. education) Code R. 390.1161) | certificate) 126-136-10)
icense) Dept. of (16 Ky. Admin. (24 P.S. 12-
(R.C. 3319.229) Education, Regs. 2:010 and 1204.2; 22 Pa.
Workplace 2:020) Code 49.143)
Specialist)
Education or High school High school An occupation- A standard, In addition to A master’s degree
training diploma or diploma, based degree or professional, or education related to the
equivalent and completion of the | an approved advanced required for the public-school
completion of a workplace occupation-based | professional career and program
career-technical specialist | N educator' teac.h‘lng fcechmca.\l (W. Va. Code R.
workforce teacher training, preparation certificate, instructional | 126-136-10- W
development and a professional | degree complete a CTE certificate, 42 Va. Dept OJ’, ’
educato; development plan Two years of preparatl.onI y f:reldl(';‘hourtsI : Education, CTE
preparation (511 Ind. Admin. professional pr°$“f"m inc l:c |'ng ”_“: u |(;1% a elisso Endorsement and
progr.am . Code 17-1-2; Ind. learning through a minimum o _S'X sIX Credits or Testing Manual
described in semester credit hours, or an
“ . Dept. of the New Teacher . PDF,
Education or . . hours or equivalent
o Education, Institute (NTI) . o
training” under equivalent of CTE | combination,
“c Technical Workplace sponsored by the K di
areer-Technical | -~ ., Kentucky course wor regarding '
Workforce accommodations
Department of .
Development . and adaptations
Education
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https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/workplace-specialist/#WSI
https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/workplace-specialist/#WSI
https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/workplace-specialist/#WSI
https://wvde.us/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/West-Virginia-CTE-Endorsement-and-Testing-Manual_20220713.pdf
https://wvde.us/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/West-Virginia-CTE-Endorsement-and-Testing-Manual_20220713.pdf
https://wvde.us/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/West-Virginia-CTE-Endorsement-and-Testing-Manual_20220713.pdf
https://wvde.us/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/West-Virginia-CTE-Endorsement-and-Testing-Manual_20220713.pdf

Career-Technical Workforce Development Educator (Advanced)

Ohio

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Educator
(Initial),” above

(R.C. 3319.229)

(16 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 2:020)

(Mich. Admin.
Code R. 390.1161
and 390.1167)

for students with
disabilities in an
inclusive setting
and at least three
credits or 90
hours, or an
equivalent
combination, in
teaching English
language learners,
in an approved
program in the
appropriate field
of CTE

(22 Pa. Code
49.143)
Experience N/A N/A Completion of Two years of Three years of Hold or be eligible
KTIP recent and satisfactory for the CTE
(16 Ky. Admin. releva.nt teachingon a certl.flcate valid
Regs. 2:020) experience, as career and for five years, and
o defined by the technical one renewal of
superintendent of | instructional | the CTE certificate
public instruction, | certificate .
) Five years of
in the area of attested to by the .
) professional
endorsement chief school .
dministrator of educational
(Mich. Admin. '?h ministra odr ° experience
Code R. 390.1161) € z?pprove including two
public or s
. within the
nonpublic school e
specialization or
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Career-Technical Workforce Development Educator (Advanced)

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

entity in which
the applicant
most recently
taught

A two-year
induction
program
approved by the
Department of

specializations for
which the
permanent
certificate is
requested

(W. Va. Code R.
126-136-10; W.
Va. Dept. of

Education, CTE

Education Endorsement and
Testing Manual
(22 Pa. Code Ts; t;” Manual
49.143)
Exam Yes Yes, the Test of N/A N/A Yes N/A
égult ?‘aSIC(TABE) (22 Pa. Code
ucation 49.143; 22 Pa.
(511 Ind. Admin. Code 49.18)
Code 17-1-2; Ind.
Dept. of
Education,
Workplace
Specialist)
Continuing Work with a N/A Six semester N/A N/A N/A
education professional hours of course
development work or three
committee years of
successful
teaching
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https://wvde.us/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/West-Virginia-CTE-Endorsement-and-Testing-Manual_20220713.pdf
https://wvde.us/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/West-Virginia-CTE-Endorsement-and-Testing-Manual_20220713.pdf
https://wvde.us/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/West-Virginia-CTE-Endorsement-and-Testing-Manual_20220713.pdf
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https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/workplace-specialist/#WSI

Career-Technical Workforce Development Educator (Advanced)

(0],11] Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
(R.C. 3319.229 experience
and 3319.22) completed by
September 1 of
the year of the
expiration
(16 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 2:020 and
4:060)
Initial licensure $200 $71.72 ($36.72 for | $85 $50 $200 S35
fee (State Bd. of the license and (16 Ky. Admin. (Mich. Dept. of (Pa. Dept. of (W. Va. Dept. of
Education, 535 for.an Regs. 2:020; Div. Education, Education, Education, Form
Licensure Fees) evaluation) of Educator Certificate Application Fees) | V35 Application
(511 Ind. Admin. Licensure and Evaluation Fees) Instructions)
Code 16-1-2; Ind. | Quality,
Dept. of Certification Fees)
Education,
Licensing Fees)
License duration Five years Five years Five years N/A Permanent Permanent unless
(R.C.3319.229) | (511 Ind. Admin. | (16 Ky. Admin. (22 Pa. Code surrendered,
Code 17-1-2; Ind. | Regs. 2:020) 49.143) suspended, or
revoked
Dept. of
Education, (W. Va. Code R.
Workplace 126-136-10)
Specialist)
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https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/application-fees
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/FeesForms/Pages/Application-Fees.aspx
https://wvde.us/certification/certification-info/application-forms/form-v35-application-instructions/
https://wvde.us/certification/certification-info/application-forms/form-v35-application-instructions/
https://wvde.us/certification/certification-info/application-forms/form-v35-application-instructions/
https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/workplace-specialist/#WSI
https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/workplace-specialist/#WSI

Career-Technical Workforce Development Educator (Advanced)

(0],11] Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Renewal fee Not specified $36.72 S85 N/A N/A N/A
(511 Ind. Admin. (16 Ky. Admin.
Code 16-1-2) Regs. 2:020; Div.
of Educator
Licensure and
Quality,

Certification Fees)

Computer science teaching license for industry professionals

Survey response (SBE)

A renewable forty-hour temporary computer science teaching license shall be issued to industry professionals at the request of the
superintendent of a city, local, exempted village, joint vocational school district, educational service center, or the governing board of a

chartered non-public school or community school to an individual who:
(1) Is deemed to be of good moral character;

(2) Demonstrates, as verified by the employing school superintendent, five years of documented successful work experience or

the equivalent in the area of computer science; and

(3) Successfully completes the state board of education approved examination in the area of computer science.
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually This license is not yet available

Number renewed annually NA — This will be a new license

Have there been significant increases or NA
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding

six years?

Education or training requirements Demonstrates, as verified by the employing school superintendent, five years of documented
successful work experience or the equivalent in the area of computer science; and successfully
completes the state board of education approved examination in the area of computer science.

Experience requirements Demonstrates, as verified by the employing school superintendent, five years of documented

successful work experience or the equivalent in the area of computer science; and successfully
completes the state board of education approved examination in the area of computer science.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

The Ohio Assessment for Educators is administered by Evaluation Systems of Pearson. The exam
administrator was selected by the state board of education through the RFP process. The
assessment was recommended by the Educator Standards Board for approval by the state board
of education.

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Initial fee

Duration

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)

Does the Board recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Are there any circumstances in which an No
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by

the Board?
Is the Board permitted to exercise Section 3319.65 of the Revised Code authorized the state board of education shall establish a
discretion in determining whether to credential review board. The credential review board shall carry out any functions assigned to it

register, certify, or license an individual? by the state board with respect to assessing individuals pursuing alternative routes to educator
licensure and out of state educators seeking licensure in Ohio.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct
and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,

negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework

for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid for in a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that
educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved

rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is
effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator
disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?

Surrounding state comparison (LSC)

The requirement to obtain a license for computer science teaching for industry professionals was enacted in H.B. 33 of the
135™ General Assembly. As this licensure requirement is currently in the early stages of the implementation process, there is not
enough information to include in the report.
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Educational aide
Survey response (SBE)

These permits qualify an individual to perform educational assistant duties in a school, including the supervision of students and assistance
with instructional tasks (in accordance with Ohio law).

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

Permit

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 42764

Number renewed annually 28621
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

Education or training requirements

This permit may be issued to an individual who holds a high school diploma or the equivalent.

Experience requirements

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

None

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Initial fee

$25.00

Duration

Range from 1-year to 4-year

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Does the Board recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any circumstances in which an
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Board?

No

Is the Board permitted to exercise
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Section 3319.65 of the Revised Code authorized the state board of education shall establish a
credential review board. The credential review board shall carry out any functions assigned to it
by the state board with respect to assessing individuals pursuing alternative routes to educator
licensure and out of state educators seeking licensure in Ohio.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct

and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,
negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework

for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid for in a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that
educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved
rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is

effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator
disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 27, 2024)

Ohio issues a permit for educational assistant positions. West Virginia licenses special education and behavioral support
assistant teachers. In Kentucky, educational assistants are not licensed but there are state requirements to be employed in the
position. Indiana and Pennsylvania do not have licenses or general requirements for educational assistants, and in Michigan there is
no clear equivalent.

In Ohio, an individual may receive an educational aide permit if they hold a high school diploma or statement of equivalence
and pay either $25 for a one-year license or $100 for a four-year license.*

In West Virginia, an individual may qualify for a temporary or permanent authorization to be a special education assistant
teacher or a behavioral support assistant teacher. For a temporary authorization, an individual must hold a high school diploma or
equivalent, or a degree through an accredited higher education institution, as applicable, and must agree to take required course work
approved by the WVDE during the one-year authorization period. For a permanent authorization, an individual must have completed
the course work required under the temporary authorization. Each authorization has an initial licensure fee of $35. A temporary
authorization may be renewed one time with the recommendation of the individual’s employing county superintendent and payment
of a $35 renewal fee. A permanent authorization remains valid unless surrendered, suspended, or revoked.*’

In Kentucky, instructional and noninstructional teachers’ aides are not required to hold a license. However, Kentucky law does
require teachers’ aides to hold a high school diploma or an equivalent diploma. Additionally, school districts must give preference to
applicants who have regular or emergency teacher certification.*®

In Indiana, there is no licensure requirement for instructional or teacher assistants. Assistants working specifically in early
childhood education may seek a Child Development Associate (CDA) credential recognized by the Council for Professional Recognition.
To earn a CDA, a candidate must complete a high school diploma or equivalent, 120 hours of professional education, and 480 hours
of work experience.*

46 R.C. 3319.088; 0.A.C. 3301-25-01 to 3301-25-05.
47 W. Va. Code R. 126-136-12.6, 126-136-12.7, 126-136-12.8, and 126-136-12.9; see also W. Va. Dept. of Education, Application Forms.
48 Ky. Rev. Stat. 161.044.

4 Ind. Dept. of Workforce Development, Teacher Assistant flyer.
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There is no clear equivalent in Michigan. However, educational assistants who work in schools supported with Title |, Part A
funds must meet the federal requirements.>°

Under federal law, educational assistants and paraprofessionals working in Title | schools must meet certain requirements
(have earned a high school diploma or equivalent and completed one of the following: (1) two years of study at an accredited
institution of higher education, (2) an associate’s degree or higher, or (3) passed a formal state or local academic assessment.>! Indiana
has a waiver from the U.S. Department of Education and uses state-defined requirements. In Indiana, a paraprofessional can be
determined to be highly qualified if they have one of the following: (1) two years of college experience, (2) a two-year college degree,
(3) passed the ETS ParaPro Assessment within a year of employment, (4) one year or 1,000 hours of previous employment experience
in a school or working with children, (5) passed annual school-level evaluations, (6) completed 48 credit hours of college level classes,
(7) holds a Child Development Associate (CDA) credential, (8) completed school-required professional development modules or
training, or (9) completed other requirements as approved by the Indiana Department of Education.>?

While Pennsylvania does not require a paraprofessional license, it does require all paraprofessionals to meet the same
qualifications as required under federal law, as shown above. Pennsylvania also offers a voluntary credential of competency which
paraprofessionals may complete to show that they are properly qualified.>3

Educator license validation in financial literacy

Under Ohio law, each school district must require an individual to have an educator license validation in financial literacy to
provide financial literacy instruction. The licensure validation may be added to any valid educator license.>* Although the validation is
required to engage in the activity, it is not an “occupational regulation” and is beyond the scope of this report.

>0 Michigan Dept. of Education, Requirements for Instructional Paraprofessionals in Title | Schools.
51 Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965, 20 U.S.C. 6301, et seq.

>2 Indiana Dept. of Education, Paraprofessional Requirements.

>3 22 Pa. Code 14.105; see also the Pennsylvania Bureau of Special Education Entry Level Credential of Competency for Special Education
Paraprofessionals.

**R.C. 3319.238; 0.A.C. 3301-24-30.
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Forty-hour STEM or dropout recovery community school teaching permit
Survey response (SBE)

40-Hour Temporary teaching permits are available for non-licensed individuals who have a minimum of a bachelor’s degree from an
accredited university in OR significant work experience in the subject area to be taught and have been hired to teach in an Ohio school
district, STEM school or dropout prevention and recovery community school.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

Permit

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 62

Number renewed annually 25
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

Education or training requirements

Must have a minimum of a bachelor’s degree from an accredited university in OR significant
work experience in the subject area to be taught.

Experience requirements

Significant work experience in the subject area to be taught.

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

None

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Initial fee

$40.00

Duration

1-year

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)

Page |257

Occupational Regulation



If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Does the Board recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any circumstances in which an
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Board?

No

Is the Board permitted to exercise
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Section 3319.65 of the Revised Code authorized the state board of education shall establish a
credential review board. The credential review board shall carry out any functions assigned to it
by the state board with respect to assessing individuals pursuing alternative routes to educator
licensure and out of state educators seeking licensure in Ohio.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Page | 258

Occupational Regulation




Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct

and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,
negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework

for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid for in a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that

educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved
rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is
effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator
disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 23, 2024)

Under Ohio law, 40-hour temporary teaching permits are available for individuals without an educator license to teach in a
STEM (science, technology, engineering, mathematics) or dropout prevention and recovery community school. To be issued a 40-hour
STEM or dropout recovery community school temporary teaching permit, an individual must (1) have at least a bachelor’s degree or
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evidence of significant experience, as verified by the employing district, in the subject to be taught and (2) pay a $40 licensure fee. A
40-hour STEM or dropout recovery community school temporary teaching permit is valid for one year.>

Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia do not offer a comparable license.
Nonpublic school teacher or administrator certificate
Survey response (SBE)

Valid for teaching, administration and supervision in Ohio chartered nonpublic schools. Candidates must have a minimum of a bachelor’s
degree conferred from an accredited college or university.

Permanent Non-tax Certificates — Non-tax, Non-bachelor’s Degree. Valid only for teaching world languages, music, religion, computer
technology or fine arts in Ohio chartered non-public schools. The superintendent or chief administrative officer must verify candidates’
qualifications to teach in the available teaching fields. A bachelor’s degree is not required for this certificate.

Permanent Non-tax Certificates — Non-chartered, Non-tax Supported Schools valid only for teaching in a non-chartered, non-tax supported
school.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

Certificate

55R.C.3319.301; 0.A.C. 3301-23-41; State Bd. of Education, Licensure Fees.

Page |261 Occupational Regulation


https://sboe.ohio.gov/educator-licensure/information-and-resources/licensure-fees#:~:text=12%2DHour%20Teaching%20Permit%20(1,(4%2DYear)%20%7C%20%24100

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually

1362

Number renewed annually

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

Education or training requirements

Candidates must have a minimum of a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or

university or a diploma from a bible college or bible institute (except for non-tax, non-bachelor’s
degree certificates).

Experience requirements

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

No

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Initial fee

$200.00

Duration

permanent

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)

Does the Board recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any circumstances in which an
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Board?

No

Is the Board permitted to exercise
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Section 3319.65 of the Revised Code authorized the state board of education shall establish a
credential review board. The credential review board shall carry out any functions assigned to it
by the state board with respect to assessing individuals pursuing alternative routes to educator
licensure and out of state educators seeking licensure in Ohio.

Page |263

Occupational Regulation




If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct
and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,
negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework

for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid for in a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.
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Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that
educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved
rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is
effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator

disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.
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Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 6, 2024)

Ohio issues a permanent nontax certificate license to teach in either a chartered or nonchartered nonpublic school. Generally,
to teach in a chartered nonpublic school, an individual must have a minimum of a bachelor’s degree conferred from an accredited
college or university. However, to teach foreign language, music, religion, computer technology, or fine arts at a nonpublic school, an
applicant may have either (1) specialized knowledge, skills, or expertise that qualifies the individual to provide instruction, (2) at least
three years of teaching experience in a public or nonpublic school, or (3) completion of a teacher training program. For all other
teacher certificates, an applicant must have at least a bachelor’s degree from a college or university accredited by a national or regional
association in the U.S. or, at the discretion of the State Board of Education, an equivalent degree from a foreign college or university
of comparable standing. For teacher certificates for teaching at nonchartered, nontax-supported schools, an individual must have
either (1) a bachelor’s degree from a college or university accredited by a national or regional association in the U.S. or, at the discretion
of the State Board, an equivalent degree from a foreign college or university of comparable standing or (2) a diploma from a Bible
college or Bible institute.”® To be issued a nontax certificate, an individual must pay a $200 fee for the initial license and for a renewal.>’

Pennsylvania issues a similar license called a private academic teaching certificate. An applicant must (1) have a bachelor’s
degree, (2) submit, if applicable, documentary evidence of past teaching experience, and (3) pay a $175 license fee.>® This license does
not expire.

*R.C. 3301.071.

57 R.C. 3319.51; State Bd. of Education, Licensure Fees.
58 22 Pa. Code 51.34; Pa. Dept. of Education, Application Fees.
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Out-of-state educator license
Survey response (SBE)

Candidates who completed an out-of-state licensure program should review the information on this page regarding Ohio’s licensure
requirements and the online application process. Candidates must submit the online application and all required documentation in order to
begin the evaluation process and determine eligibility for an Ohio license.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 213

Number renewed annually 0
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

Education or training requirements

e Abachelor’s degree

e Completed an approved, traditional teacher preparation program through an
accredited college or university

e Hold avalid, standard out-of-state teaching license and need to complete the initial
reading or phonics coursework requirements for Ohio licensure

Experience requirements

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

No

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Initial fee

$40.00
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Duration

1-year

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)

Does the Board recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any circumstances in which an
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Board?

No

Is the Board permitted to exercise
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Section 3319.65 of the Revised Code authorized the state board of education shall establish a
credential review board. The credential review board shall carry out any functions assigned to it
by the state board with respect to assessing individuals pursuing alternative routes to educator
licensure and out of state educators seeking licensure in Ohio.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct

and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,
negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework

for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid for in a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that
educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved
rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is

effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator
disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 1, 2024)

Out-of-State Educator

Type of regulation | License License License License No clear No clear
(Name of (Out-of-state (Indiana (Temporary (Temporary equivalent equivalent
regulation) educator license) | reciprocal permit) | certificate) teaching
(R.C. 3319.22; (511 Ind. Admin. | (16 Ky. Admin. certificate)
0.A.C. 3302-24- Code 16-2-4; Ind. Regs. 2:010; Ky. (Mich. Comp.
05) Code 20-28-5-5) Rev. Stat. Laws 380.1531;
161.030) Mich. Dept. of
Education, Out-of-
State Applicants)
Education or Bachelor’s degree | A degree from an | Bachelor’s or A teaching N/A N/A

training

Approved teacher
preparation
program

For educators
requesting an
early childhood,
primary, middle
childhood,
intervention
specialist, early
childhood
intervention
specialist, or
primary
intervention
specialist license,

accredited
institution outside
Indiana and
documentation
that requirements
commensurate to
Indiana’s
requirements
have been met

A valid, unexpired
teaching license
or certificate of
eligibility issued
by another state,
but that does not
meet certain

master’s/
graduate degree

Completion of a
state approved
teacher
preparation
program at a
regionally
accredited
educator
preparation
institution or a
state-approved
alternative
training program

certificate from
another state and
meets the
requirements for
a Michigan
teaching
certificate, but
has not attained a
passing score on
appropriate
exams

(Mich. Comp.
Laws 380.1531;
Mich. Dept. of
Education, Out-of-
State Applicants)
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https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/becoming-a-teacher/out-of-state-applicants
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/becoming-a-teacher/out-of-state-applicants
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/becoming-a-teacher/out-of-state-applicants
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/becoming-a-teacher/out-of-state-applicants

Out-of-State Educator

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

at least six of the
required 12
semester hours of
course work in
the teaching of
reading (the
remaining course
work requirement
will be listed as a
limitation on the
license and must

technical
requirements for
an Indiana
teaching license

(511 Ind. Admin.
Code 16-2-4; Ind.
Code 20-28-5-5;
Ind. Dept. of
Education, Out-of-

A teaching
certificate from
another state

(16 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 2:010;
Educational
Professional
Standards Bd.,
Div. of Educator

State Preparatory

Licensure and

Program) Quality)
be completed
before the out-of-
state license
expiration date)
(O.A.C. 3302-24-
05)
Experience Valid out-of-state | N/A N/A No N/A N/A
standard teaching
license
(O.A.C. 3302-24-
05)
Exam N/A No For an individual No N/A N/A
(Ind. Dept. of with two years of
Education, Out-of- exper|(|e\ln/cAe or
State Preparatory more,
Program)
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https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/teacher/
https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/teacher/
https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/teacher/
http://www.epsb.ky.gov/mod/page/view.php?id=30
http://www.epsb.ky.gov/mod/page/view.php?id=30
http://www.epsb.ky.gov/mod/page/view.php?id=30
https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/teacher/
https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/teacher/
https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/teacher/

Out-of-State Educator

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

For an individual
with less than two
years of
experience, yes

(Ky. Rev. Stat.
161.030;
Educational
Professional
Standards Bd.,
Div. of Educator

Licensure and

Quality)
Continuing N/A Renewable based | N/A N/A N/A N/A
education on evidence of
annual progress
toward fulfillment
of deficiencies
(511 Ind. Admin.
Code 16-2-4)
Initial licensure S40 $71.72 ($36.72 for | No charge $210 N/A N/A
fee (R.C. 3319.51; g;es I;cense and (Educational (Mich. Dept. of
State Bd. of | o;'an Professional Education,
Education, evaluation) Standards Bd., Certificate
Licensure Fees) Additional fees Certification Fees) | Evaluation Fees

may be required

(511 Ind. Admin.
Code 16-1-2; Ind.

and Out-of-State
Applicants)
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http://www.epsb.ky.gov/mod/page/view.php?id=30
http://www.epsb.ky.gov/mod/page/view.php?id=30
http://www.epsb.ky.gov/mod/page/view.php?id=30
https://sboe.ohio.gov/educator-licensure/information-and-resources/licensure-fees
http://www.epsb.ky.gov/mod/page/view.php?id=124
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/application-fees
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/application-fees
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/becoming-a-teacher/out-of-state-applicants
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/becoming-a-teacher/out-of-state-applicants

Out-of-State Educator

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Dept. of Education,
Licensing Fees)

License duration One year, One year Up to six months, | One year, N/A N/A
nonrenewable (511 Ind. Admin not to exceed the | nonrenewable
(0.A.C. 3302-24- | Code 16-2-4) end °ftthe_ iy | (Mich. Comp.
05) :ﬁmes ﬁ;_'”t"" "N aws 380.1531;
. e czr ificate is Mich. Dept. of
Issue Education, Out-of-
(16 Ky. Admin. State Applicants)
Regs. 2:010)
Renewal fee N/A $36.72 N/A N/A N/A N/A
(511 Ind. Admin.
Code 16-1-2)
Pre-service teacher
Survey response (SBE)

classroom as part of that course are required to obtain the 3-Year Pre-Service Teacher Permit.

Students enrolled in a course that is part of an educator preparation program leading to an Ohio teaching license AND will be in an Ohio P-12
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https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/licensing-fees/
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/becoming-a-teacher/out-of-state-applicants
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/becoming-a-teacher/out-of-state-applicants

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

Permit

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually

10442 (2024-2025)

Number renewed annually

N/A

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

Significant Increase over the preceding six years due to new legislation.

Education or training requirements

Enrolled in an Ohio Educator Preparation Program

Experience requirements

NA
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Examination requirements (Who NA
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Initial fee $75.00

Duration 3-years

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)

Does the Board recognize uniform NA
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Are there any similar national NA
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Page |277 Occupational Regulation



If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Are there any circumstances in which an No
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Board?

Is the Board permitted to exercise No
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct
and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,
negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework

for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.
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https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3319.311
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3319.31
https://sboe.ohio.gov/professional-conduct/code-of-conduct/code-of-conduct

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid for in a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that
educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved
rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is
effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator
disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 14, 2024)

Pre-service Teacher

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Type of regulation

(Name of
regulation)

License

(Pre-service
teaching permit)

(R.C. 3319.0812)

No clear
equivalent

No clear
equivalent®

No clear
equivalent

License

(Substitute
teaching permit
for prospective
teachers)

License

(Clinical
experience
permit)

(W. Va. Bd. of
Education policy

59 |t appears as though a student teacher may qualify for an emergency substitute teaching certificate discussed above.

Page |280

Occupational Regulation


https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3319.311
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3319.31
https://sboe.ohio.gov/professional-conduct/disciplinary-search

Indiana

Pre-service Teacher

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

(24 P.S. 12- 5202, sections
1201.1) 4.23and 11.7)
Education or Enrollment in an N/A N/A N/A Enrollmentin a Enrollment and in
training educator teacher good standing in
preparation preparation an approved
program programina preparation
(R.C. 3319.0812; Pennsylvania program orin an
State Bd. of col.lege .or out-of—_state
Education, Pre- university fa\ccr.edl‘ted
. . institution of
service Teacher Completion of at higher ed .
Permit least 60 semester igher education
hours or the Satisfied the
equivalent of state-specific
courses program
(24 P.S. 12- requirem.ents for
1201.1) the ?re? .|n Wh.ICh
the individual is
seeking licensure
prior to clinical
placement
(W. Va. Bd. of
Education policy
5202, section 11.7)
Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
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https://sboe.ohio.gov/wps/wcm/connect/gov/2c64b7c3-90e4-460e-ac10-faa3d1e83d6e/Pre-Service-Teacher-Permit-FAQ.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&CONVERT_TO=url&CACHEID=ROOTWORKSPACE.Z18_79GCH8013HMOA06A2E16IV2082-2c64b7c3-90e4-460e-ac10-faa3d1e83d6e-o.uPGwc
https://sboe.ohio.gov/wps/wcm/connect/gov/2c64b7c3-90e4-460e-ac10-faa3d1e83d6e/Pre-Service-Teacher-Permit-FAQ.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&CONVERT_TO=url&CACHEID=ROOTWORKSPACE.Z18_79GCH8013HMOA06A2E16IV2082-2c64b7c3-90e4-460e-ac10-faa3d1e83d6e-o.uPGwc
https://sboe.ohio.gov/wps/wcm/connect/gov/2c64b7c3-90e4-460e-ac10-faa3d1e83d6e/Pre-Service-Teacher-Permit-FAQ.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&CONVERT_TO=url&CACHEID=ROOTWORKSPACE.Z18_79GCH8013HMOA06A2E16IV2082-2c64b7c3-90e4-460e-ac10-faa3d1e83d6e-o.uPGwc

Pre-service Teacher

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A Yes
(W. Va. Bd. of
Education policy
5202, section 11.7)
Continuing N/A N/A N/A N/A 15 credit hours or | N/A
education equivalent from a
Pennsylvania
college or
university
Continued
enrollmentin a
Pennsylvania
college or
university
(24 P.S. 12-
1201.1)
Initial licensure S75 N/A N/A N/A N/A S35
fee (R.C. 3319.51; (W. Va. Dept. of
State Bd. of Education, Initial
Education, Application;
Licensure Fees) W. Va. Bd. of

Education policy
5202, section 11.7)
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https://sboe.ohio.gov/educator-licensure/information-and-resources/licensure-fees
https://wvde.us/certification/certification-info/application-forms/form-24r-application-instructions/
https://wvde.us/certification/certification-info/application-forms/form-24r-application-instructions/

Pre-service Teacher

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

License duration

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Three years, may | N/A N/A N/A One year One school year
I:: e;:etndgd b:j/ (24 P.S. 12- (W. Va. Bd. of
e State boar 1201.1) Education policy
on E.l case-by-case 5202, section 11.7)
basis
(R.C. 3319.0812)
Renewal fee N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Professional administrator

Survey response (SBE)

The professional administrator license shall be issued to an individual who holds a master’s degree, who is deemed to be of good moral
character, who has successfully completed an approved program of preparation for the licensure area sought, and who has been
recommended by the dean or head of teacher education at an institution approved to prepare administrators, who has successfully
completed an examination prescribed by the state board of education,
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 5407

Number renewed annually 4164

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding

six years?
Education or training requirements A Master’s degree from an accredited university
Experience requirements Two years successful teaching experience under a professional teaching license or work

experience under a professional pupil services license.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

The Ohio Assessment for Educators is administered by Evaluation Systems of Pearson. The exam
administrator was selected by the state board of education through the RFP process. The
assessment was recommended by the Educator Standards Board for approval by the state board
of education.

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Six semester hours of coursework related to classroom teaching and/or the area of licensure as
approved by the local professional development committee or 18 CEUs or other equivalent
activities related to classroom teaching and/or the area of licensure as approved by the local
professional development committee

Initial fee

$200.00

Duration

5-year

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)

Does the Board recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Are there any circumstances in which an No
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by

the Board?
Is the Board permitted to exercise Section 3319.65 of the Revised Code authorized the state board of education shall establish a
discretion in determining whether to credential review board. The credential review board shall carry out any functions assigned to it

register, certify, or license an individual? by the state board with respect to assessing individuals pursuing alternative routes to educator
licensure and out of state educators seeking licensure in Ohio.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct
and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,

negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework

for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.
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https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3319.311
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid for in a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that
educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved
rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is
effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator
disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 19, 2024)

Administrators, Principals, and Superintendents

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Type of regulation

(Name of
regulation)

License

(Professional
administrator
license-
professional
principal,
administrative

License

(Building level
administrator and
district level
administrator:
superintendent)

License

(Professional
certificate for
advanced
education leader-
school principal
and school
superintendent)

License

(School
administrator
certificate-
traditional
pathway)

(Mich. Comp.

Laws 380.1536;

License

(Administrator
certificate and
letter of eligibility)

(24 P.S. 12-
1207.1; 22 Pa.
Code 49.121 and
49.172)

License

(Permanent
professional
administrative
certificate (can be
endorsed for
principal,
vocational
administrator,
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https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3319.311
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https://sboe.ohio.gov/professional-conduct/disciplinary-search

Administrators, Principals, and Superintendents

Ohio

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

specialist, and
superintendent)

(R.C. 3319.22;
0.A.C. 3302-24-
05)

(511 Ind. Admin.
Code 15-6-28 and
15-6-29)

(16 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 3:090)

Mich. Admin.
Code R. 380.104)

superintendent,
or supervisor of
instruction))

(W. Va. Code 18A-
2-9 and 18A-3-2a)

Education or Master’s degree For a building For a principal, Master’s degree For an Holds at least a
training Approved level master’s degree or higher administrator master’s degree
administrator, in subject field - certificate, from an
program of ) For a certificate . .
. master’s degree approved by the . completion of an | accredited
preparation for with a pre-K to 12 L
. and successful Educator approved institution of
the licensure area . . endorsement, . . .
completion of an Preparation completion of an Pennsylvania higher education
For an urban approved building | Standards Board program of .
. approved school Completion of an
principal level (EPSB), . graduate study or
. . . administrator approved
endorsement administration completion of . approved
. preparation program for
(which may be program Advanced alternate program L
added to a Education Leaders program at least administrative
professional For a district level Program at the master’s For a letter of certification and
o . administrator: ogra N degree level, with | eligibility for a education and
principal license), ) completion of the o .
. superintendent, o at least 18 district training in
extensive Kentucky Principal : : :
successful ' semester hours of | superintendent or | evaluation skills
structured . Internship o .
. . completion of graduate creditin | an assistant through the
internship on Program o
. (1) anEd.Sor pre-K to 12 school | district Center for
effective urban ] . . . .
leadership higher at an For a administration superintendent, Professional
. institution of superintendent, e completion of a Development, or
practices . . For a certificate . )
higher education level Il school with a central Pennsylvania- equivalent
(0.A.C. 3302-24- | and (2) an principal office approved education and
05) approved district | certification, graduate level training
o , endorsement,
administrator: master’s degree . program of . .
) . - completion of at ) Six credit hours of
in subject field educational
least 21 semester . . approved course
approved by the administrative
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Administrators, Principals, and Superintendents

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

superintendent
program

CPR certificate

EPSB, and
completion of an
accredited
superintendent

hours of credit at
the post-master’s
degree level in an
approved school

study for the
preparation of
chief school
administrators or

work in public
school
instructional
leadership and

and Suicide - .
Prevention preparation administrator through an out- management
Training program preparation of-state graduate- | technique at an
certificate (16 Ky. Admin. program ft;lfileIrgrgY:am ?ncsctritejtlitj: of
. Regs. 3:090 and Mich. Admin.
(511 Ind. Admin. g ( higher education
7:020; Ky. Rev. Code R. 380.104) | (22 Pa. Code
Code 15-6-28 and
15-6-29: Ind. Stat. 161.027) 49.121 and (W. Va. Code 18A-
Dept. of 49.172) 2-9 and 18A-3-2a)
Education,
Administrative
Licenses)
Experience For a professional | Holds an initial, For a principal, N/A For an For a professional
principal or standard, Kentucky teaching administrative administrative
administrative provisional, certificate and certificate, certificate, three

specialist license,
either two years
of teaching under
a professional,
standard teacher
license or two
years of work
experience under
a professional
pupil services
license (this
option is required

proficient, or
accomplished
practitioner
license

Minimum of two
years of
experience as a
teacher

(511 Ind. Admin.
Code 15-6-28 and
15-6-29; Ind.

three years of
teaching
experience

Fora
superintendent,
two years of
experience as a
school principal

(16 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 3:090 and

minimum of three
years of
instructional or
student support
experience
completed in a
public or private
pre-K to 12 school
or accredited
institution of
higher education

years of
management-
level experience

To convert an
initial professional
administrative
certificate into a
permanent
professional
administrative
certificate, five
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Administrators, Principals, and Superintendents

(0],11] Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
for a pupil Dept. of 7:020; Ky. Rev. For a letter of years of
services Education, Stat. 161.027) eligibility for a educational
administrative Administrative district experience, two
license) Licenses) superintendent, years of which
For 3 six years of must be in any
superintendent certified service in | specialization
license. three the basic K-12 reflected on the
years c;f schools, including | Professional
experience as a at least three Administrative
licensed years of Certificate, and
professional satisfactory one year of which
principal or certified service in | must be
administrative supervisory or completed in a
specialist administrative West Virginia
positions public school orin
€ rrocoe | Modies
49.121 and
49.172) (W. Va. Bd. of
Education policy
5202, section
10.2.c)
Exam Yes Yes Yes N/A For administrative | No

(O.A.C. 3302-24-
05; State Bd. of
Education,
Educator
Licensure Testing

(511 Ind. Admin.
Code 15-6-28, 15-
6-29, and 15-7-2;
Ind. Dept. of
Education,

(Ky. Rev. Stat.
161.027)

certificate, yes

For a letter of
eligibility, no

(22 Pa. Code
49.121 and 49.18)
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Administrators, Principals, and Superintendents

(0],11] Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Requirements Administrative
PDF, Licenses)
Continuing Six semester 90-point For a principal 150 hours of any Completion of N/A
education hours or 18 Professional and combination of one of the
continuing Growth Plan superintendent, education-related | following within a
education units (PGP), six hours of | initial licensure professional five-year period:
(180 contact college course. places |nd|Y|duaI learning hours s Six credits of
hours) work, or meeting | at Level [; first , . .
, ) (Mich. Admin. collegiate
(0.A.C. 3302-24- | National Boardof | renewal requires | -\ 0 305 109) | study:
08) Profe5.5|onal completion of a . ‘
Teaching Level Il program; = Six credits of
Standards thereafter, at continuing
certification least two years of professional
requirements experience in education
(511 Ind. Admin, advanc.ed courses;
Code 14-2-3; Ind. | educational = 180 hours of
Dept. of leader p05|t|9n continuing
Education, af‘d completion of professional
Current Indiana either three education
Educator to semester hours of programs,
Renew a License) approved activities, or
graduate program learning
credit or 42 hours experiences; or
of approved
trainings * Any
combination of
(Ky. Rev. Stat. collegiate
3:090) studies,
For a principal, continuing
the first renewal professional
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https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/current-indiana-educator-to-renew-a-license/
https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/current-indiana-educator-to-renew-a-license/

Administrators, Principals, and Superintendents

Indiana

Kentucky

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

requires
completion of
either 15
semester hours of
approved
graduate program
credit or
completion of the
continuing
education option
for rank change;
the second
renewal requires
completion of the
approved fifth-
year program of
preparation or
completion of the
continuing
education option
for rank change;
thereafter,
renewal requires
completion of
three years of
successful
teaching
experience or at
least six semester
hours of credit

education
courses, or
other
programs,
activities, or
learning
experiences
equivalent to
180 hours

(24 P.S. 12-
1205.2; 22 Pa.
Code 49.11)
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Administrators, Principals, and Superintendents

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

(16 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 2:010,
4:060, 8:020, and
8:030)

Initial licensure $200 $71.72 ($36.72 for | $85 $160 for in-state | $200 (if program | $35
fee (R.C. 3319.51; tsgi, ':fe”se and 16 ky. Admin. applicant 'Ff' c°mp|'ete_d N (W. Va. Dept. of
State Bd. of | o;.an Regs. 4:040) $210 for out-of- ennsylvania) Education,
Education, evaluation) state applicant $260 (if program Summary of
Licensure Fees) (511 Ind. Admin (Mich. Comp. is completed in AQQ/I.CGI’IOH
Code 16-1-2; Ind. Laws 380.1538) another state) Requirements)
Dept. Of (Pa. Dept. of
Education, Education
. . ) ) 7’
Licensing Fees, Application Fees)
License duration Five years Five years, but Five years Five years Five years Valid unless
(0.A.C. 3302-24- Ea” '”Creas‘?taoso (16 Ky. Admin. (Mich. Admin. (22 Pa. Code Su"e”‘:jerjd'
08) €n years wi Regs. 2:010) Code R. 380.107) | 49.11) suspended, or
additional hours revoked
of graduate (W. Va. Bd. of

course work and
two years of
administrative
experience in a
school

(511 Ind. Admin.
Code 14-1-1, 14-3-
1, and 14-4-1; Ind.
Dept. of

Education policy
5202, section
10.2.¢)
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https://wvde.us/certification/certification-info/application-forms/form-4a-application-instructions/
https://wvde.us/certification/certification-info/application-forms/form-4a-application-instructions/

Administrators, Principals, and Superintendents

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Education,
Educator
Licensing and
Renew and
Professionalize)
Renewal fee $200 $36.72 S85 $160 N/A N/A
(R.C. 3319.51; (511 Ind. Admin. (16 Ky. Admin. (Mich. Comp.
State Bd. of Code 16-1-2) Regs. 4:040) Laws 380.1538)
Education,
Licensure Fees)

Professional, senior professional, or lead professional educator

Survey response for professional educator license (SBE)

A professional teaching license, valid for five years, shall be issued to an individual who holds the appropriate resident educator license or
alternative resident educator license; who is deemed to be of good moral character; and who has successfully completed an approved
program of teacher preparation as approved by the chancellor of the Ohio department of higher education, the Ohio teacher residency
program as described in section 3319.223 of the Revised Code, and an examination prescribed by the state board of education.
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https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/application-instructions-step-by-step/
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https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/current-indiana-administrators/
https://sboe.ohio.gov/educator-licensure/information-and-resources/licensure-fees
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3319.223

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually

35646

Number renewed annually

26403

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

Education or training requirements

Hold at least a bachelor’s degree from an institution of higher education accredited by a regional
accrediting organization.

Experience requirements

Have successfully completed the teacher residency program established under section 3319.223
of the Revised Code, if the applicant’s current or most recently issued license is a resident
educator license issued under this section or an alternative resident educator license issued
under section 3319.26 of the Revised Code.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

NA

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Six semester hours of coursework related to classroom teaching and/or the area of licensure as
approved by the local professional development committee or 18 CEUs or other equivalent
activities related to classroom teaching and/or the area of licensure as approved by the local
professional development committee

Initial fee

$200.00

Duration

5-year

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)

Does the Board recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Are there any circumstances in which an No
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by

the Board?
Is the Board permitted to exercise Section 3319.65 of the Revised Code authorized the state board of education shall establish a
discretion in determining whether to credential review board. The credential review board shall carry out any functions assigned to it

register, certify, or license an individual? by the state board with respect to assessing individuals pursuing alternative routes to educator
licensure and out of state educators seeking licensure in Ohio.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct
and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,

negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework

for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid for in a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that

educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved
rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is
effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator
disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?

Survey response for senior professional educator license (SBE)

In 2009, Ohio restructured its teacher licensure system and established a career ladder for educators. The four-tiered system provides

opportunities for teachers to advance in their professional careers and serve as school improvement leaders, without leaving the teaching
profession. The Senior Professional Educator License is the next advanced step on the career ladder after a professional teaching license.

Page |300 Occupational Regulation


https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3319.311
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3319.31
https://sboe.ohio.gov/professional-conduct/disciplinary-search
https://sboe.ohio.gov/static/Educator-Licensure/Miscellaneous/Four-Tiered-teacher-licensure-structure.pdf
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually

165

Number renewed annually

141

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

Education or training requirements

Hold at least a master’s degree from an institution of higher education accredited by a regional

accrediting organization

Experience requirements

Have previously held a professional educator license issued under section 3319.22 or section
3319.222. Meet the criteria for the accomplished or distinguished level of performance, as
described in the standards for teachers adopted by the state board under section 3319.61 of the
Revised Code.

Page |301

Occupational Regulation



If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

NA

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Six semester hours of coursework related to classroom teaching and/or the area of licensure as
approved by the local professional development committee or 18 CEUs or other equivalent
activities related to classroom teaching and/or the area of licensure as approved by the local
professional development committee

Initial fee

$200.00

Duration

5-year

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)

Does the Board recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Are there any circumstances in which an No
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by

the Board?
Is the Board permitted to exercise Section 3319.65 of the Revised Code authorized the state board of education shall establish a
discretion in determining whether to credential review board. The credential review board shall carry out any functions assigned to it

register, certify, or license an individual? by the state board with respect to assessing individuals pursuing alternative routes to educator
licensure and out of state educators seeking licensure in Ohio.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct
and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,

negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework

for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid for in a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that
educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved

rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is
effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator
disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?

Survey response for lead professional educator license (SBE)

In 2009, Ohio restructured its teacher licensure system and established a career ladder for educators. The four-tiered system provides

opportunities for teachers to advance in their professional careers and serve as school improvement leaders, without leaving the teaching
profession. The Lead Professional Educator License is the next advanced step on the career ladder after a Senior Professional educator license.
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually

80

Number renewed annually

70

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

Across all categories, we define a significant increase or decrease to be a percent difference
from effective year to effective year that is larger than two standard deviations. In most cases,
these are statistical artifacts resulting from small denominators or increases as credentials and
programs ramp up from their initial year. 2020-2021 shows expected abnormalities due to
COVID. Other observed differences are infrequent, and would require further research.

Education or training requirements

Master’s degree from an institution of higher education accredited by a regional accrediting
organization

Experience requirements

Have previously held a professional educator license or a senior professional educator license.
Either hold a valid certificate issued by the national board for professional teaching standards or
meet the criteria for a master’s degree or other criteria for a lead teacher adopted by the
educator standards board.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

NA

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Six semester hours of coursework related to classroom teaching and/or the area of licensure as
approved by the local professional development committee or 18 CEUs or other equivalent
activities related to classroom teaching and/or the area of licensure as approved by the local
professional development committee

Initial fee

$200.00

Duration

5-year

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)

Does the Board recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Are there any circumstances in which an No
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by

the Board?
Is the Board permitted to exercise Section 3319.65 of the Revised Code authorized the state board of education shall establish a
discretion in determining whether to credential review board. The credential review board shall carry out any functions assigned to it

register, certify, or license an individual? by the state board with respect to assessing individuals pursuing alternative routes to educator
licensure and out of state educators seeking licensure in Ohio.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct
and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,

negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework

for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid for in a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that
educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved
rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is
effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator
disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 28, 2024)

Standard Professional Teacher

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Type of regulation

(Name of
regulation)

License

(Professional,
senior
professional, or
lead professional
educator license)

(R.C. 3319.22)

License

(Practitioner or
accomplished
practitioner
license)

(511 Ind. Admin.
Code 14-3-1 and
14-4-1)

License

(Professional
teaching
certificate)

(16 Ky. Admin.

Regs. 2:010)

License

(Professional
teaching
certificate or
advanced
professional)

(Mich. Comp.

Laws 380.1531;

License

(Instructional Il
certificate)

(22 Pa. Code
49.83)

License

(Professional five-
year or
permanent
professional
teaching
certificate)
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https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3319.311
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https://sboe.ohio.gov/professional-conduct/disciplinary-search

Standard Professional Teacher

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia

Mich. Admin.
Code R. 390.1123
and 390.1133)

(W. Va. Code 18A-
3C-3; W. Va. Bd.
of Education
Policy 5202,
sections 10.1.f
and 10.1.g)

Education or

For a professional

N/A

Traditional initial

For professional,

24 credit hours of

For a five-year

training educator, preparation six semester collegiate study or | professional
bachelor’s degree program that credit hours of its equivalent in teaching
from an resulted in a reading methods credits from the certificate,
institution of bachelor’s degree | course work for Department of completed a
higher education or higher with elementary Education, a Beginning
accredited by a either a 2.75 teachers and Pennsylvania Educator
regional overall GPA or a three semester intermediate unit, | Internship for
accrediting 3.0 GPA on the credit hours for or a combination | classroom
organization and last 30 hours of secondary of the two —the teachers (not
completion of the credit completed | certified teachers | college credit required if
Ohl? Teacher (16 Ky. Admin. !n Ilteraf:y must be earned at | applicant has flve
Residency Regs. 2:010) instruction a state-approved | years of teaching
Program o bachelor or experience while
Three semester . .
. graduate degree holding a valid
Must complete credit hours of S .
. . institution after professional
additional reading o o
. . . the individual certificate from
education or diagnostics and
. earned a another state or
course work remediation, , o
. L bachelor’s degree | was initially
depending on which includes a ; . )
e ) . and may include licensed in West
specific type of field experience . . T
. credits earned in Virginia before
license sought. .
Education-related | programs January 1, 1992
professional designed to
learning totaling
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Standard Professional Teacher

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

(R.C. 3319.22;
0.A.C. 3301-24-
16)

150 hours or an
education-related
master’s or higher
degree earned at
any time

(Mich. Comp.
Laws 380.1531;
Mich. Admin.
Code R. 390.1133)

prepare for
professional fields
when relevant to
the area of
certification

(22 Pa. Code
49.83)

For a permanent
professional
teaching
certificate, a
master’s degree
related to public
school
programming

One option
includes a
combination of
experience and six
semester hours of
renewal credit (or
two WVDE
courses if seeking
renewal) with a
minimum 3.0 GPA

(W. Va. Code 18A-
3C-3; W. Va. Bd.
of Education
Policy 5202,
sections 10.1.f
and 10.1.g)

Experience

For a professional
educator, hold a
resident educator
or alternative

For practitioner,
an initial
practitioner
license and a
minimum of two

For initial four-
year certificate,
KTIP

Must be at least
18 years of age

For a professional,
three years of

Three years of
satisfactory
teaching while
holding an

For five-year
professional
teaching license,
two years of full-
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Ohio

resident educator
license

For a senior
professional
educator, nine
years of
successful
teaching
experience under
a professional
educator license,
and a professional
educator license
in the same field
for which the
senior
professional
educator license
is requested or
satisfies the
criteria for the
accomplished or
distinguished
level of
performance
described in the
standards for

Standard Professional Teacher

Indiana

years of
experience as a
teacher, and a
professional
growth plan or a
beginning teacher
residency
program

For an
accomplished
practitioner, a
practitioner
license and two
years of teaching
and National
Board
Certification®

(511 Ind. Admin.
Code 14-3-1 and
14-4-1)

Kentucky

For subsequent
five-year
certificates, three
years of teaching
experience

(16 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 2:010 and
4:060)

Michigan

successful
teaching within
the content area
and grade level of
the standard
teaching
certificate,
successfully
complete certain
teaching
requirements
regarding
teaching
experience and
positive
evaluations

For an advanced
professional,
individual holds a
professional
teaching
certificate or a
life, continuing, or
permanent
certificate and
(1) either holds a
National Board
certificate or

Pennsylvania

instructional |
certificate

Completion of a
Department-
approved
induction
program

(22 Pa. Code
49.83)

West Virginia

time teaching
experience

For permanent
professional
teaching license,
one of the
following: (1) hold
or be eligible for
the five-year
professional
teaching
certificate and
have five years of
educational
experience, at
least two of which
are within the
specialization for
which the
permanent
certificate |
requested in a
West Virginia
school, (2) hold a
five-year
professional
teaching
certificate that

€ An individual may earn an accomplished practitioner license by completing a master’s degree or National Board Certification.
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Standard Professional Teacher

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

teachers adopted
by SBE

For a lead
professional
educator, nine
years of
successful
teaching
experience under
a professional
educator license
or senior
professional
educator license,
and previously
held a
professional
educator license
or senior
professional
educator license
in the same field
for which the
senior
professional
educator license
is requested and
satisfies the
criteria for the
distinguished

completed a
teacher leader
training or

(2) received
specified ratings
on annual
evaluations

(Mich. Comp.
Laws 380.1533;
Mich. Admin.
Code R. 390.1133
and 390.1137;
Mich. Dept. of
Education,
Professional
Teaching
Certificate)

has been renewed
one time for the
full five-year
period and
complete the
education
requirement
listed above or
hold a minimum
MA+30 salary
classification, or
be at least 60
years of age, or
obtain
certification
through the
National Board for
Professional
Teaching
Standards, or

(3) hold a valid
out-of-state
certificate that
reflects
permanent status
by the issuing
state in the
endorsed
specialization
area in a public
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https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/teacher-recertification/progress-to-professional
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/teacher-recertification/progress-to-professional
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/teacher-recertification/progress-to-professional

level of
performance
described in the
standards for
teachers adopted
by SBE by either
(1) holding a valid
certificate issued
by the National
Board for
Professional
Teaching
Standards or

(2) holding a
teacher leader
endorsement
earned through
completion of an
approved
program of
preparation and
having been
designated as a
master teacher in
accordance with
the definition and
criteria adopted
by SBE

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

Standard Professional Teacher

West Virginia

school setting and
a
recommendation
from the
employing
superintendent

(W. Va. Bd. of
Education Policy
5202, sections
10.1.fand 10.1.g)
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Standard Professional Teacher

Ohio

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

(R.C. 3319.22;

0.A.C. 3301-24-
17)
Exam For a professional | N/A N/A N/A Yes For a five-year
educator, yes (22 Pa. Code frof(:ismnal
For a senior and 49.83) eac. .|ng
. certificate, yes
lead professional
educator, N/A For a permanent
(0.A.C. 3301-24- professional
05) teaching
certificate, N/A
(W. Va. Code 18A-
3C-3; W. Va. Bd.
of Education
Policy 5202,
sections 10.1.f
and 10.1.g)
Continuing For a professional | Certification by Six semester For a professional, | Completion of For professional
education educator, either the National hours of credit complete 150 one of the five-year teaching
six semester Board for . hours of following within a | certificate, six
. Completion of the . ) .
hours of course Professional Fifth-Year education-related | five-year period: semester hours or
work or 18 Teaching Program or professional (1) six credits of WVDE WVLearns
continuing Standards, completion of the learning hours collegiate study, courses related to
education units meeting ) (2) six credits of public school
. , required For an advanced o
(180 contact practitioner’s . continuing programs, not
) ; components for professional, i . i
hours), which professional . professional required if the
rank change Individual ) T .
must be related growth plan of at education individual is at the

to classroom

least 90

through

completes 150

courses, (3) 180

MA+30 salary

Page |316

Occupational Regulation



Standard Professional Teacher

Ohio

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

teaching or the
area of licensure
as approved by
the local
professional
development
committee of the
employing school
or school district

For a senior
professional
educator,
completion of the
requirements for
the professional
educator license
above and
demonstration of
meeting the
criteria for the
accomplished or
distinguished
level of
performance
described in the
standards for
teachers adopted
by SBE

For a lead
professional

professional
growth
experience points,
or completion of
six semester
hours of college
or university
course work

(511 Ind. Admin.
Code 14-2-3)

continuing
education

(16 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 2:010,
4:060, 8:020, and
8:030)

hours of
education-related
professional
learning hours
and receives
specified ratings
on annual
evaluations

(Mich. Admin.
Code R. 390.1133,
390.1135, and
390.1138)

hours of
continuing
professional
education
programs,
activities, or
learning
experiences, or
(4) any
combination of
collegiate studies,
continuing
professional
education
courses, or other
programs,
activities, or
learning
experiences
equivalent to 180
hours

(24 P.S. 12-1205.2;

22 Pa. Code 49.11)

level or 60 years
of age or older

For permanent
professional
teaching
certificate, N/A

(W. Va. Code 18A-
3C-3; W. Va. Bd.
of Education
Policy 5202,
section 10.4)

Page |317

Occupational Regulation



Standard Professional Teacher

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia

educator,
completion of the
requirements for
the professional
educator license
and meeting the
criteria for the
accomplished or
distinguished
level of
performance
described in the
standards for
teachers adopted
by SBE by either
(1) holding a valid
certificate issued
by the National
Board for
Professional
Teaching
Standards or

(2) holding a
teacher leader
endorsement
earned through
completion of an
approved
program of
preparation and
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Standard Professional Teacher

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

maintaining
current
designation as a
master teacher in
accordance with
the definition and
criteria adopted
by SBE and the
master teacher
designation
renewal process

(O.A.C. 3301-24-
25, 3301-24-26,
and 3301-24-08)

Initial licensure
fee

$200

(R.C. 3319.51;
State Bd. of
Education,

Licensure Fees)

$36.72

(511 Ind. Admin.
Code 16-1-2, Ind.
Dept. of
Education,

Licensing Fees)

$85

(15 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 4:040)

$160 for in-state
applicant

$210 for out-of-
state applicant

(Mich. Comp.
Laws 380.1538;
Mich. Dept. of
Education,
Professional

Teaching
Certificate

$200 (if teacher
preparation
program is
completed in
Pennsylvania)

$260 (if teacher
preparation
program is
completed in
another state)

(Pa. Dept. of
Education,
Application Fees)

$35

(W. Va. Dept. of
Education,
Professional
Teaching
Certificate,
Summary of
Application
Requirements)
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https://sboe.ohio.gov/educator-licensure/information-and-resources/licensure-fees
https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/licensing-fees/
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/teacher-recertification/progress-to-professional
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/teacher-recertification/progress-to-professional
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/teacher-recertification/progress-to-professional
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/FeesForms/Pages/Application-Fees.aspx
https://wvde.us/certification/certification-info/application-forms/form-4t-application-instructions/
https://wvde.us/certification/certification-info/application-forms/form-4t-application-instructions/
https://wvde.us/certification/certification-info/application-forms/form-4t-application-instructions/

Standard Professional Teacher

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
License duration Five years For a practitioner, | Five years Five years Five years, but For professional
(R.C. 3319.22) five years (16 Ky. Admin. (Mich. Admin. based ‘}“ actual f"’et',}’.ea; teT‘f_Ch'”g
For an Regs. 2:010) Code R. 390.1135; yeafrs o | certilicate, five
accomplished Mich. Dept. of pro §SS|ona years
e . service, not
practitioner, ten Education, For permanent
) calendar years .
years Professional professional
. Teachin (24 P.S. 12- teaching
511 Ind. Admin. LOanng
(Co de 14-3-1 and Certificate) 1205.2; Pa. Dept. certificate, valid
of Education, unless suspended,
14-4-1)
Level Il surrendered, or
Certification) revoked
(W. Va. Bd. of
Education Policy
5202, sections
10.1.fand 10.1.g)
Renewal fee $200 $36.72 S85 $160 N/A For professional
(R.C. 3319.51; (511 Ind. Admin. | (15 Ky. Admin. (Mich. Comp. f"’et',}’.ea; teg;zmg
State Bd. of Code 16-1-2; Ind. | Regs. 4:040) Laws 380.1538) certificate,
Education, Dept. of For permanent
Licensure Fees) Education, professional

Licensing Fees)

teaching
certificate, N/A

(W. Va. Dept. of
Education,
Professional
Teaching
Certificate,
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https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/teacher-recertification/progress-to-professional
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/teacher-recertification/progress-to-professional
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/teacher-recertification/progress-to-professional
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/CertFAQs/Pages/LevelII.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/CertFAQs/Pages/LevelII.aspx
https://sboe.ohio.gov/educator-licensure/information-and-resources/licensure-fees
https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/licensing-fees/

Standard Professional Teacher

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia

Summary of
Application
Requirements)

Professional pupil services license
Survey response (SBE)

The professional pupil services license, shall be issued in, but is not limited to, the areas listed in paragraphs (C)(1) and (C)(2) of this
rule and shall be valid for working with learners at all levels. The license shall be issued to an individual deemed to be of good moral character
who has successfully completed the requirements specified in paragraph (C)(1) or (C)(2) of this rule:

(1) An approved program of preparation; recommendation by the dean or head of teacher education; successful completion of
an examination prescribed by the state board of education; and evidence of the education and experience requirements specified for
whichever of the following licensure areas is applicable:

(2) The pupil services registration is an option for pupil services providers who have not completed a school licensure program.
Candidates must hold a valid, professional Ohio Board license for the requested area. These are only available to Occupational
Therapists/Occupational Therapist Assistant, Physical Therapist/Physical Therapist Assistant, Audiologist, Registered Nurse, Social
Worker, Speech-Language Pathologist.
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https://wvde.us/certification/certification-info/application-forms/form-4t-application-instructions/
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https://wvde.us/certification/certification-info/application-forms/form-4t-application-instructions/

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 3615

Number renewed annually 2329

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding

six years?
Education or training requirements Approved preparation program
Experience requirements No
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

The Ohio Assessment for Educators is administered by Evaluation Systems of Pearson. The exam
administrator was selected by the state board of education through the RFP process. The
assessment was recommended by the Educator Standards Board for approval by the state board
of education.

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Initial fee

$200.00

Duration

5-year

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)

Does the Board recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Are there any circumstances in which an No
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by

the Board?
Is the Board permitted to exercise Section 3319.65 of the Revised Code authorized the state board of education shall establish a
discretion in determining whether to credential review board. The credential review board shall carry out any functions assigned to it

register, certify, or license an individual? by the state board with respect to assessing individuals pursuing alternative routes to educator
licensure and out of state educators seeking licensure in Ohio.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct
and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,

negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework

for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.
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https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3319.311
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3319.31
https://sboe.ohio.gov/professional-conduct/code-of-conduct/code-of-conduct

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid for in a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that
educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved
rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is
effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator
disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 6, 2024)

Professional Pupil Services

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Type of regulation | License No clear No clear No clear License License
(Name of (Professional equivalent equivalent equivalent (Educational (Professional
regulation) pupil services Specialist I and Il student support
license) certificates) certificate —
(R.C. 3319.22; (22 Pa. Code pro‘”s't‘;]”a' (one-
0.A.C. 3301-24- 49.102 and }’,ear)' ree'éear'
05) 49.103) ve-year, an
permanent)
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https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3319.311
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3319.31
https://sboe.ohio.gov/professional-conduct/disciplinary-search

Professional Pupil Services

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

(W. Va. Code R.
126-136-5 and
126-136-6}

Education or

For a license for a

N/A

N/A

N/A

For Educational

Covers school

training school Specialist | nurses, school
audiologist, a certificate, psychologists,
master’s degree, completion of an school counselors,
an approved approved and speech
program of educational language
preparation, and specialist pathologists
a current license preparation .
; " For provisional
o practice rogram or
p_ ) P g and three-year
audiology issued equivalent and -
. . certificate,
by the Ohio recommendation .
L applicants must
Speech and for certification .
. hold either a
Hearing from a college or ,
> i S bachelor’s or
Professionals university if )
) master’s degree
Board completing an
dependent upon
. approved ——
For a license for a , the specialization
educational .
school counselor, o for which the
) specialist . L
a master’s degree, . license is being
preparation
an approved sought
rogram of program
Prog . . Additional
preparation For Educational .
o education
. Specialist Il .
For a license for a " requirements
certificate,
school . dependent upon
. completion of an
psychologist, a endorsement
, approved
master’s degree, . .
induction
an approved
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Ohio

program of
preparation

For a license for a
school social
worker, a
master’s degree,
an approved
program of
preparation, and
a current license
to practice social
work issued by
the Ohio
Counselor, Social
Worker, and
Marriage and
Family Therapist
Board

For a license for a
school speech-
language
pathologist, a
master’s degree,
an approved
program of
preparation, and
a current license
to practice as a
speech
pathologist issued

Indiana

Professional Pupil Services

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

program and 24
hours of collegiate
study or its
equivalent in
approved credits,
credits from an
intermediate unit,
or any
combination of
those

(22 Pa. Code
49.102 and
49.103)

West Virginia

For five-year
certificate, the
above and an
additional six
semester hours of
appropriate
course work at a
college/university
or WVDE e-
Learning course
work reflecting a
3.0 GPA (unless
the applicant has
an MA+30 salary
classification)

For permanent
certificate, hold a
master’s degree
relevant to public
school
programming

(W. Va. Code R.
126-136-10.3)
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Professional Pupil Services

Ohio

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia

by the Ohio
Speech and
Hearing
Professionals
Board

For a license for a
school nurse, a
bachelor’s degree,
an approved
program of
preparation, and
a current license
to practice as a
registered nurse
issued by the Ohio
Board of Nursing

For a license for
an orientation
and mobility
specialist, an
approved
program of
preparation

For a license for
an occupational
therapist, a
bachelor’s degree
and a current
license issued by
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Professional Pupil Services

(0],11] Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia

the Ohio
Occupational
Therapy, Physical
Therapy, and
Athletic Trainer’s
Board for
occupational
therapists

For a license for a
physical therapist,
a bachelor’s
degree and a
current license
issued by the Ohio
Occupational
Therapy, Physical
Therapy, and
Athletic Trainer’s

Board for physical
therapists

(O.A.C. 3301-24-
05)

Experience For a license fora | N/A N/A N/A For an For provisional
school counselor, Educational and three-year
successful Specialist | certificate, N/A
completion of an certificate, N/A .

) i For five-year
mter.ns.hlp For an certificate, at
consisting of 600 Educational least two years of
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Ohio

contact hoursin a
school setting

For a license for a
school
psychologist,
successful
completion of a
nine-month, full-
time internship in
an approved
school setting as
described in the
Ohio internship in
school psychology
guidelines

(0.A.C. 3301-24-
05)

Indiana

Professional Pupil Services

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

Specialist Il
certificate, three
years of
satisfactory
service on an
Educational
Specialist |
certificate

(22 Pa. Code
49.103)

West Virginia

experience, at
least one of which
was completed in
a West Virginia
public school

For permanent
certificate, hold or
be eligible for the
five-year
certificate and
complete five
years of
educational
experience,
including two
within the
applicant’s
specialization and
at least one
completed in a
West Virginia
public school or
hold a five-year
certificate and
renew it once
based on
continuing
education
requirements
described under
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Professional Pupil Services

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

the five-year
certificate

(W. Va. Code R.
126-136-10.3)

Exam

Yes

(0.A.C. 3301-24-
05)

N/A

N/A

N/A

For an
Educational
Specialist |
certificate, yes

For an
Educational
Specialist Il
certificate, N/A

(22 Pa. Code
49.102 and
49.103)

N/A

Continuing
education

For a license for a
school counselor
or school
psychologist, if
the license holder
does not have a
license from the
appropriate state
licensing board,
six semester
hours or 18
continuing

N/A

N/A

N/A

Completion of
one of the
following within a
five-year period:

= Six credits of
collegiate
study;

= Six credits of
continuing
professional

For provisional
certificate, N/A

For three- or five-
year certificate
renewal, applicant
must complete six
semester hours at
a college or
university of
course work
relevant to public
school
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Ohio

education units
(180 contact
hours)

For all other
license holders, if
an individual
holds a
professional pupil
services license
and has a license
from the
appropriate state
licensing board,
the individual’s
professional pupil
services license is
renewed upon
evidence of a
currently valid
license issued by
the licensing
board

(0.A.C. 3301-24-
08)

Indiana

Professional Pupil Services

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

education
courses;

= 180 hours of
continuing
professional
education
programs,
activities, or
learning
experiences; or

= Any
combination of
collegiate
studies,
continuing
professional
education
courses, or
other
programs,
activities, or
learning
experiences
equivalent to
180 hours

(22 Pa. Code
49.11)

West Virginia

programming, but
applicants who
possess an MA+30
salary
classification or
has reached 60
years of age do
not have to
complete the six
semester hours

For permanent
certificate, N/A

(W. Va. Code R.
126-136-10.4)
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Professional Pupil Services

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Initial licensure $200 N/A N/A N/A $200 (if teacher S35 for in-state
fee (State Bd. of preparatlpn certificates
Education, progr?ntﬂ '; . $100 for out-of-
Licensure Fees) compiete !n state certificates
Pennsylvania)
. (W. Va. Dept. of
ot i,
Application
program is ABpIcdtion
. Forms
completed in
another state)
(Pa. Dept. of
Education,
Application Fees)
License duration Five years N/A N/A N/A Six years Provisional
(0.A.C. 3301-24- (22 Pa. Code certificate, one
05) 49.102) year

Professional
certificate, three
or five years

Permanent
professional
certificate, valid
unless suspended,
surrendered, or
revoked
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https://sboe.ohio.gov/educator-licensure/information-and-resources/licensure-fees
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https://wvde.us/certification/certification-info/application-forms

Professional Pupil Services

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia

(W. Va. Code 18A-
3-2a; W. Va. Code
R. 126-136-10.3)

Renewal fee $200 N/A N/A N/A Not specified S35
(State Bd. of (W. Va. Code 18A-
Education, 3-7; W. Va. Dept.
Licensure Fees) of Education,
Application
Forms

Consolidated pupil services license

Under Ohio law, a pupil services license covers orientation and mobility specialists, school audiologists, school counselors,
school nurses, school psychologists, school social workers, and school speech-language pathologists. Certain providers may apply for
a professional pupil services registration as an alternative to a pupil services license for that position. Providers that may opt for the
registration include speech-language pathologists, audiologists, registered nurses, physical therapists, occupational therapists,
physical therapy assistants, occupational therapy assistants, and social workers. To register, an individual must hold a currently valid
license in their profession issued by the profession’s respective board and pay a registration fee of $150. The registration is valid for
five years.?* While Pennsylvania and West Virginia offer consolidated licenses similar to Ohio’s pupil services license, they do not offer
a registration as an alternative to those licenses.

Indiana, Kentucky, and Michigan do not have consolidated licenses for pupil services providers in the same manner as Ohio.
They do, however, have separate licenses for these professions that are issued by the boards regulating those professions in the state.

61 R.C. 3319.221.
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Professional school business manager and school treasurer

Survey response for professional school business manager license (SBE)

The professional school business manager or, valid for five years, shall be issued to an individual who holds a baccalaureate degree, who is
deemed to be of good moral character, who has successfully completed an approved preparation program as approved by the chancellor of
the Ohio department of higher education or the equivalent as determined by the Ohio department of education, and who has successfully
completed an examination prescribed by the state board of education.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 77

Number renewed annually 54
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

Education or training requirements

A baccalaureate degree in business or A baccalaureate degree in a nonbusiness area with 15
semester hours selected from at least four (4) of the following areas:

Accounting

Collective bargaining and labor relations
Computer applications

Food service management
Office administration
Personnel management
Purchasing

School finance

School law

Risk management
Transportation management

School plant management and operations

Experience requirements

300-hour internship in a school business manager’s office, under the direct supervision of a
licensed school business manager or two years of experience as a business manager or as a
supervisor or director of business services in an organizational setting.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Examination requirements (Who NA
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

Continuing education requirements RENEWAL COURSEWORK - Six (6) semester hours of coursework related to the area of licensure
(Including a description of the curriculum through an accredited college or university, OR

D e Ol i S LOCAL PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEES (LPDC) APPROVED PROFESSIONAL

DEVELOPMENT - Eighteen continuing education units (180 contact hours) or other equivalent
activity related to the area of licensure as approved by the local professional development
committee of the employing school or school district.

Initial fee $200.00

Duration 5-year

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)

Does the Board recognize uniform Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
licensure requirements or allow for requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
reciprocity? the State Board to recognize.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any circumstances in which an
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Board?

No

Is the Board permitted to exercise
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Section 3319.65 of the Revised Code authorized the state board of education shall establish a
credential review board. The credential review board shall carry out any functions assigned to it
by the state board with respect to assessing individuals pursuing alternative routes to educator
licensure and out of state educators seeking licensure in Ohio.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct
and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,
negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework
for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid for in a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that
educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved

rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is
effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator
disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?

Survey response for professional school treasurer license (SBE)

The professional school treasurer license, valid for five years, shall be issued to an individual who holds a baccalaureate degree, who is
deemed to be of good moral character, who has successfully completed an approved preparation program as approved by the chancellor of
the Ohio department of higher education or the equivalent as determined by the Ohio department of education, and who has successfully
completed an examination prescribed by the state board of education.
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 274

Number renewed annually 172

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

Education or training requirements A baccalaureate degree in business, plus a three-semester hour course in school law and a
three-semester hour course in school finance, OR

A baccalaureate degree in a non-business area, plus
Three semester hours in accounting, and

Six additional semester hours in accounting, business or finance-related coursework (such as
economics, statistics, information systems and operations management), and

A three-semester hour course in school law and a three-semester hour course in school finance.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Experience requirements Option 1 -300-hour internship in a school treasurer’s office, under the direct supervision of a
licensed school treasurer or

Option 2- Two years of significant, full-time global fiscal officer responsibility in an organizational
setting

Option 3- Complete the approved Ohio Association of School Business Officials (OASBO)

pathway.
Examination requirements (Who The Ohio Assessment for Educators is administered by Evaluation Systems of Pearson. The exam
administers the exam? How is the exam administrator was selected by the state board of education through the RFP process. The

and administrator selected? What fees are | assessment was recommended by the Educator Standards Board for approval by the state board
charged? Does the Board receive any of education.

proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

Continuing education requirements Currently Employed
(Including a description of the curriculum

The professional license is valid for five years and may be renewed by individuals currently
and the process of setting it.)

employed in a school or school district upon verification that the following requirements have
been completed since the last issue date of the license to be renewed:

RENEWAL COURSEWORK - Six (6) semester hours of coursework related to the area of licensure
through an accredited college or university, OR

LOCAL PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEES (LPDC) APPROVED PROFESSIONAL
DEVELOPMENT - Eighteen continuing education units (180 contact hours) or other equivalent
activity related to the area of licensure as approved by the local professional development
committee of the employing school or school district.

Not Currently Employed
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

School treasurer license holders may renew their currently expiring professional license with one
of the following:

RENEWAL COURSEWORK - Six (6) semester hours of coursework related to the area of licensure
through an accredited college or university, OR

OHIO ASSOCIATION OF SCHOOL BUSINESS OFFICIALS (OASBO) LPDC APPROVED PROFESSIONAL
DEVELOPMENT — see the OASBO LPDC webpage for information and requirements.

Initial fee

$200.00

Duration

5-year

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)

Does the Board recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any circumstances in which an
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Board?

No
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Is the Board permitted to exercise Section 3319.65 of the Revised Code authorized the state board of education shall establish a
discretion in determining whether to credential review board. The credential review board shall carry out any functions assigned to it
register, certify, or license an individual? by the state board with respect to assessing individuals pursuing alternative routes to educator
licensure and out of state educators seeking licensure in Ohio.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct

and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,
negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework
for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid forin a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.
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Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that
educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved
rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is
effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator

disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.
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Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 19, 2024)

Business Manager and Treasurer

Type of regulation | License No clear License No clear No clear License
. 62 . .
(Name of (School business equivalent (Provisional equivalent equivalent (Professional
regulation) manager and school finance business official
school treasurer officer certificate and
license) certification and professional
(R.C. 3301.074; S(;?OOI finance accountant)
0.A.C. 3301-24- ° 'tc_?,r tion) (W. Va. Code R.
05) certimcation 126-136-10; W.
(Ky. Rev. Stat. Va. Bd. of
160.431; 702 Ky. Education policy
Admin. Regs. 5202, section
3:320) 10.6)
Education or Bachelor’s degree | N/A For provisional N/A N/A Minimum of a

training

school finance
officer

bachelor’s degree
from an

2 The role of treasurer is filled by the superintendent or principal, clerk, or faculty member of a school (Ind. Code 20-41-1-5).
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Business Manager and Treasurer

(0],11] Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia

Approved
program of
preparation for
the licensure area

(0.A.C. 3301-24-
05)

certification,
bachelor’s degree
with 12 credit
hours in
accounting course
work

For school finance
officer
certification,
completion of the
Kentucky Finance
Officer Internship
Program,15 hours
of finance officer
training from an
approved
provider, and 12
hours of training
in state-approved
school district
financial software
package

(702 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 3:320)

accredited
institution of
higher education
with a minimum
2.5 GPA, including
at least 24
semester hours of
course work in
accounting

(W. Va. Code R.
126-136-10; W.
Va. Bd. of
Education policy
5202, section
10.6)

Experience

For a school
treasurer, a 300-
hour internship in
a school
treasurer’s office,

N/A

For provisional
school finance
officer
certification, at
least four years of

N/A

N/A

N/A
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Ohio

Kentucky

Business Manager and Treasurer

Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia

two years of
significant, full-
time global fiscal
officer
responsibility in
an organizational
setting, or the
Ohio Association
of School Business
Officials pathway
program

For a school
business
manager, a 300-
hour internship in
a school business
manager’s office
or two years of
experience as a
business manager
or as a supervisor
or director of
business services
inan
organizational
setting

(State Bd. of
Education, School
Treasurer Licenses
and School

work experience
primarily in
accounting or
finance or at least
two years of
experience in
finance at a local
school district

For school finance
officer
certification, a
provisional school
finance officer
certification

(702 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 3:320)
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Business Manager and Treasurer

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Business Manager

License)

Exam Yes N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
(O.A.C. 3301-24-
05)
Continuing Six semester N/A For provisional N/A N/A For professional
education hours or 18 school finance business official,
continuing officer 15 hours annually

education units
(180 contact
hours)

(0.A.C. 3301-24-
08)

certification,
completion of
requirements for
full certification

For school finance
officer
certification,
Kentucky Revised
Statutes require
42 hours of
continuing
education every
two years but the
Kentucky
Administrative
Regulations
require that at
least 12 hours of
continuing
education be

of professional
learning activities
of in-service
credit

For professional
accountant, six
hours annually of
professional
learning activities
of in-service
credit

(W. Va. Code R.
126-136-10; W.
Va. Bd. of
Education policy
5202, section
10.6)
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Business Manager and Treasurer

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia

completed by
June 30 of each
fiscal year

(Ky. Rev. Stat.
160.431; 702 Ky.

Admin. Regs.
3:320)
Initial licensure $200 N/A S85 N/A N/A Not specified, all
fee (R.C. 3319.51, (16 Ky. Admin. app?ll'ctgnltls‘ seeking
State Bd. of Regs. 4:040) an initial licensure
. or certificate are
Education, ‘
. responsible for
Licensure Fees)

paying fees
associated with
state and federal
criminal history
background
checks and other
fees for
application
processing

(W. Va. Dept. of
Education,
Application
Forms; W. Va. Bd.
of Education
policy 5202,
section 9.6)
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Business Manager and Treasurer

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
License duration Five years N/A For provisional N/A N/A Three years
(0.A.C. 3301-24- 5‘;?_°°' finance (W. Va. Code R.
05 and 3301-24- ;r'tci‘;rcation il 126-136-10; W.
08 ! Va. Bd. o
) the individual . f .
) Education policy
obtains a full

5202, section

certificate, the 10.6)

individual fails to
provide proof of
progress toward
full certification,
or five years

For school finance
officer
certification,
renews
automatically
unless the finance
officer fails to
meet the biennial
continuing
education
requirements

(702 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 3:320)
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Business Manager and Treasurer

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Renewal fee N/A N/A S85 N/A N/A N/A
(16 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 4:040)

Provisional licenses

Survey response (SBE)

Temporary Military Educator licenses are available for educators who are currently active-duty service members in Ohio or spouses of active-
duty service members in Ohio and hold a valid (active) out-of-state license in the requested subject area. Candidates must be in good standing
in the issuing state or jurisdiction of licensure or certification and may teach only the grade levels and subject area(s) listed on the Ohio
temporary license.

The Alternative Resident Educator license is an accelerated pathway to classroom teaching. This pathway allows students, schools and
communities to benefit from the candidates’ content-related knowledge, life experience and successful career experience. Ohio students can
benefit from the rich knowledge base and successful career and life experiences of content experts in a variety of teaching fields. As Ohio
focuses on assuring a high-quality teacher in every classroom, it is important that a wide range of professionals are invited to bring their
talents and expertise into our schools.

The Alternative Resident Educator - Montessori license is an accelerated pathway to classroom teaching for educators employed in an Ohio
school that operates a program using the Montessori method endorsed by the American Montessori Society, the Montessori Accreditation
Council for Teacher Education, or the Association Montessori International as its primary method of instruction. This two-year licensure
pathway allows candidates to work in an Ohio school while completing requirements for a professional educator license.

Four-Year Early College High School teaching licenses are available for applicants who meet qualifications and have been hired to teach grades
7-12 at an Early College High School.
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Two-Year Provisional Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) licenses (grades 6-12) are available for applicants who meet
qualifications and have been hired by a designated Ohio STEM school.

There are two types of Resident Educator licenses available for beginning teachers. Standard Resident Educator licenses are issued to
beginning teachers who have completed an approved, traditional teacher preparation program through an accredited college or university.
Alternative Resident Educator licenses are issued to candidates completing the Ohio Alternative Resident Educator licensure pathway.
Educators teaching under a standard or Alternative Resident Educator license will complete Ohio’s Resident Educator Program to advance to a
professional teaching license.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually

Note: all credential data in this document are from the 2023-2024 effective year, with the
exception of credentials that were available to be issued for the first time in 2024-2025. When

this is the case, it is noted.

Temporary Military Educator: 1 (2024-2025)

Alternative Resident Educator: 490 (2023-2024)
Alternative Resident Educator - Montessori: 6 (2023-2024)
Early College High School: 2 (2023-2024)

Provisional STEM: 1 (2023-2024)

Resident Educator: 5917 (2023-2024)

Number renewed annually

Temporary Military Educator: N/A

Alternative Resident Educator: 13 (2023-2024)

Alternative Resident Educator - Montessori: 1 (2023-2024)
Early College High School: 0 (2023-2024)

Provisional STEM: 0 (2023-2024)

Resident Educator: 114 (2023-2024)

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Education or training requirements

Early College High School - Candidates must have a minimum of a graduate degree in a field
related to the subject area they will teach from an accredited college or university.

Alternative Resident Educator — Montessori the state board shall issue an alternative
resident educator license under division (C) of section 3319.26 of the Revised Code to each
applicant who meets the following conditions:

(1) Holds a bachelor’s degree from an accredited institution of higher education;

(2) Has successfully completed a teacher education program offered by one of the
following entities:

(a) The American Montessori society;
(b) The association Montessori Internationale;

(c) An institution accredited by the Montessori accreditation council for teacher
education.

Alternative Resident Educator - the rules adopted under this section shall require
applicants for the alternative resident educator license to satisfy the following conditions prior
to issuance of the license, but they shall not require applicants to have completed a major or
coursework in the subject area for which application is being made:

(1) Hold a minimum of a baccalaureate degree;

(2) Successfully complete the pedagogical training institute described in division (B) of
this section or the preservice training provided to participants of a teacher preparation program
that has been approved by the chancellor. The chancellor may approve any such program that
requires participants to hold a bachelor’s degree; have either a cumulative undergraduate grade
point average of at least 2.5 out of 4.0, or its equivalent or a cumulative graduate school grade
point average of at least 3.0 out of 4.0; and successfully complete the program’s preservice
training.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

(3) Pass an examination in the subject area for which application is being made.

Provisional License for teaching in a STEM School - the state board shall issue a two-year
provisional educator license for teaching science, technology, engineering, or mathematics in
grades six through twelve in a STEM school to any applicant who meets the following conditions:

(1) Holds a bachelor’s degree from an accredited institution of higher education in a field
related to the subject area to be taught;

(2) Has passed an examination prescribed by the state board in the subject area to be
taught.

Experience requirements

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

The Ohio Assessment for Educators is administered by Evaluation Systems of Pearson. The exam
administrator was selected by the state board of education through the RFP process. The
assessment was recommended by the Educator Standards Board for approval by the state board
of education.

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Six semester hours of coursework related to classroom teaching and/or the area of licensure as
approved by the local professional development committee or 18 CEUs or other equivalent
activities related to classroom teaching and/or the area of licensure as approved by the local
professional development committee

Initial fee Range from $0.00 (military) to $160.00
Duration Range from 1-year to 4-year
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)

Does the Board recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any circumstances in which an
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Board?

No

Is the Board permitted to exercise
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Section 3319.65 of the Revised Code authorized the state board of education shall establish a
credential review board. The credential review board shall carry out any functions assigned to it
by the state board with respect to assessing individuals pursuing alternative routes to educator
licensure and out of state educators seeking licensure in Ohio.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct

and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,
negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework

for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid for in a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that
educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved
rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is

effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator
disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?
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Surrounding state comparison for alternative resident educator license (LSC) (as of August 29,
2024)

Alternative Resident Educator

Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Type of regulation | License License License No clear License License
(Name of (Alternative (Transition to (Temporary equivalent (Residency (Alternative
regulation) resident educator | teaching license) provisional certificate) Program Teacher
license) (Ind. Code 20-28- teatc.:.mgt (24 PS. 12- Certificate)

(R.C. 3319.26) 4-1t0 20-28-4-5, | certificate) 1207.1) (W. Va. Code 18A-
20-28-4-11, and (Ky. Rev. Stat. 3-1a and 18A-3-
20-28-4-12) 161.068; Ky. 1f)

Education
Professional
Standards Bd.,
University-Based
Alternative Route
for Teaching)
Education or Bachelor’s degree | Bachelor’s degree | Bachelor’s or N/A A doctoral, Minimum of a

training

Successful
completion of
either (1) the
pedagogical
training institute
jointly developed
by the
Superintendent of
Public Instruction
and the
Chancellor of

with (1) at least a
3.0 GPAin subject
area to be taught
or (2) at least a
2.5 GPA in subject
area to be taught
with five years of
professional
experience, or a
bachelor’s degree
and passage of a

graduate degree
with at least a
cumulative 2.75
GPA or 3.0 GPA
on the last 30
hours of credit
completed

(Ky. Education
Professional
Standards Bd.,
University-Based

master’s, or
bachelor’s degree
from an
accredited college
or university in
the subject area
of shortage

Continual
enrollmentin a
state-approved

bachelor’s degree

Participationin a
WVDE-approved
alternative
education
program

(W. Va. Code 18A-
3-1a and 18A-3-

1f)

Page |361

Occupational Regulation


http://www.epsb.ky.gov/mod/page/view.php?id=38
http://www.epsb.ky.gov/mod/page/view.php?id=38
http://www.epsb.ky.gov/mod/page/view.php?id=38
http://www.epsb.ky.gov/mod/page/view.php?id=38

Alternative Resident Educator

Ohio

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Higher Education | state-approved Alternative Route residency
or (2) the content area for Teaching) program
preservice exam or a (24 P.S. 12-
training provided | graduate degree 1207'1')
to participants of (Ind. Code 20-28-
a teacher

) 4-5)
preparation
program that has
been approved by
the Chancellor
(R.C. 3319.26;
0.A.C. 3301-24-
19)

Experience N/A Five years of N/A N/A If the individual Must be at least
professional does not have a 18 years of age
experlen.ce |r'1 a doctor::ul or (W. Va. Code 18A-
related field if an master’s degree, 3-1f)
individual uses at least three |
the bachelor’s years of work
degree with 2.5 experience in the
GPA option subject area or
(Ind. Code 20-28- related field
4-5) (24 P.S. 12-

1207.1)
Exam Yes A state-approved | N/A N/A Yes Yes
(R.C. 3319.26) °°”ter,‘ft area (24 P.S. 12- (W. Va. Code 18A-
exam itan 1207.1) 3-1f)

individual uses
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Alternative Resident Educator

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

the bachelor’s
and passing the
test admission
option otherwise,
no

(Ind. Code 20-28-
4-5 and 20-28-4-
12)

Continuing
education

Satisfactory
progress in taking
and successfully
completing
professional
development
provided by an
approved teacher
preparation
program and
three semester
hours of course
work related to
classroom
teaching and area
of licensure

(R.C. 3319.26;
0.A.C. 3301-24-
19; State Bd. of
Education,
Resident Educator

N/A

Participation in
postbaccalaureate
teacher
preparation
program

(Ky. Rev. Stat.
161.068; Ky.
Education
Professional
Standards Bd.,
University-Based
Alternative Route

for Teaching)

N/A

N/A

Satisfactory
progress in the
applicable
alternative
education
program

(W. Va. Code 18A-
3-1.f)
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Alternative Resident Educator

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Licenses - Extend,

Renew, and
Advance)
Initial licensure $160 (for four $36.72 N/A N/A N/A S35
fee Zsars) alndt$50 for (511 Ind. Admin. (W. Va. Dept. of
€ evaluation Code 16-1-2; Ind. Education,
(R.C. 3319.51; Dept. of Professional
State Bd. of Education, Teaching
Education, Licensing Fees) Certificate,
Licensure Fees) Summary of
Application
Requirements)
License duration Two years Three years, not One year, N/A Three years, not One year

(R.C. 3319.26)

renewable

(Ind. Code 20-28-
4-11)

renewable four
times

(Ky. Rev. Stat.
161.068; Ky.
Education
Professional
Standards Bd.,
University-Based
Alternative Route

for Teaching)

renewable

(24 P.S. 12-
1207.1)

(W. Va. Code 18A-
3-1.f)
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Alternative Resident Educator

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia

Renewal fee $160 (for four N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
years)

(R.C. 3319.51;
State Bd. of
Education,

Licensure Fees)

Surrounding state comparison for alternative resident educator license (Montessori) (LSC) (as
of August 29, 2024)

Ohio issues a separate alternative resident educator license for teaching in a Montessori setting to individuals who hold a
bachelor’s degree and successfully complete a teacher education program offered by the American Montessori Society, the
Association Montessori Internationale, or an institution accredited by the Montessori Accreditation Council for Teacher Education. An
applicant for this license must be employed in a school that operates a program that uses the Montessori method as its primary
method of instruction.®® If a Montessori license-holder wishes to obtain a professional educator license, the individual must complete
the same pathway as an alternative resident educator to obtain that license.

While Indiana has a pathway for licensed teachers to obtain a Montessori endorsement,®4 it does not appear that any surveyed
state has an educator license similar to Ohio’s. No other state seems to have a clear equivalent.

Surrounding state comparison for early college high school educator license (LSC) (as of
August 27, 2024)

Ohio issues a nonrenewable four-year initial early college high school educator license for teaching in grades seven through 12
at an early college high school. An applicant for this license must (1) have a graduate or terminal degree from an accredited institution
of higher education in a field related to the subject area to be taught, as determined by the State Board of Education, (2) obtain a
passing score on a subject matter examination prescribed by the State Board, (3) have experience teaching students at any grade level,

83 R.C.3319.261.
64 See MACTE Accredited Program, which is available at the Indiana Department of Education’s website: in.gov/doe.
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and (4) be employed by an early college high school. After four years of teaching under that license, the individual may receive a
renewable five-year professional educator license in the same subject area named in the initial license. The State Board must issue
the professional educator license if the applicant has passed an assessment of professional knowledge.®> The fee for the four-year
license is $160.5°

It appears that the surrounding states do not offer an equivalent license.

Surrounding state comparison for provisional educator license for teaching in a STEM school
(LSC) (as of August 27, 2024)

Ohio issues a two-year provisional educator license for teaching science, technology, engineering, or mathematics (STEM) in
grades six through 12 in a STEM school to an applicant that (1) holds a bachelor’s degree in a field related to the subject area to be
taught and (2) passes an examination prescribed by the State Board in the subject area to be taught. The license holder must complete
a structured apprenticeship program provided by an educational service center or teacher preparation program, in partnership with
the employing STEM school. The apprenticeship program must include mentoring and regularly scheduled seminars or meetings that
address an array of specified topics. After two years of teaching under the license and completion of the apprenticeship program, an
individual who receives a positive recommendation indicating effectiveness as a teacher may apply for a five-year professional
educator license in the same subject area named in the initial license.®” The fee for the two-year license is $80.68

It appears that the surrounding states do not offer an equivalent license.

65R.C. 3319.262.
%6 State Bd. of Education, Licensure Fees.
67 R.C. 3319.28.

%8 State Bd. of Education, Licensure Fees.
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Surrounding state comparison for resident educator license (LSC) (as of August 29, 2024)

Provisional Licenses: Resident Educator

License

Type of regulation

(Name of
regulation)

License

(Resident
educator license)

(R.C. 3319.22)

License

(Initial
Practitioner
License (beginning
teacher
residency))

(Ind. Code 20-28-
4-6; 515 Ind.
Admin. Code 1-5-
3)

License

(Provisional
internship
certificate)

(Ky. Rev. Stat.
161.028; 16 Ky.
Admin. Regs.
2:010)

License

(Standard
teaching
certificate-
pathway 1)

(Mich. Admin.
Code 390.1101)

License
(Instructional |
certificate)

(22 Pa. Code
49.82)

(Initial
Professional
Teaching
Certificate)

(W. Va. Code R.
126-136-9, 126-
136-10; W. Va.
Bd. of Education
Policy 5202,
section 10.1.e)

Education or
training

Bachelor’s degree
from an
accredited
teacher
preparation
program

12 semester
hours in teaching
of reading and
three semester
hours on the
teaching of
reading in the
content area

Bachelor’s degree

Participation in
the Beginning
Teacher
Residency
Program

(Ind. Code 20-28-
4-6)

Bachelor’s degree

Completion of a
traditional
educator
preparation
program

(Ky. Rev. Stat.
161.028; 16 Ky.
Admin. Regs.
2:010)

Bachelor’s degree

Completion of a
state approved
educator
preparation
program that
meets the state’s
requirements

(Mich. Comp.
Laws 380.1531;
Mich. Admin.
Code R. 390.1101
and 390.1123)

Bachelor’s degree

Successful
completion of a
Pennsylvania
teacher
preparation
program
approved by the
Department of
Education

(22 Pa. Code
49.82)

Minimum of a
bachelor’s degree
or master’s
degree with a
minimum 2.5 GPA
from an
accredited
institution of
higher education
or hold a valid
certificate from
the National
Board of
Professional
Teaching

Page |367

Occupational Regulation



Provisional Licenses: Resident Educator

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Participation in
the Ohio Teacher
Residency
Program

For an individual
participating in
the Teach for
America program,
a bachelor’s
degree and
completion of a
summer training
institute operated
by Teach for
America

(R.C. 3319.22,
3319.223, and
3319.227; O.A.C.

Standards in a
specialization

(W. Va. Code R.
126-136-9, 126-
136-10; W. Va.
Bd. of Education
Policy 5202,
section 10.1.e)

3301-24-18)

Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Exam Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes, except for
(R.C. 3319.22 and | (Ind. Code 20-28- | (16 Ky. Admin. (Mich. Comp. (22 Pa. Code Epp"ca”ts ‘:’h‘,’
3319.227: 0.A.C. | 4-6) Regs. 6:010) Laws 380.1531) | 49.82) ave amasters or

3301-24-18)

doctorate degree
(W. Va. Code R.

126-136-10; W.
Va. Bd. of
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Provisional Licenses: Resident Educator

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Education Policy
5202, section
10.1.e)

Continuing
education

Completion of the
Ohio Resident
Educator Program
or three semester
hours of course
work related to
classroom
teaching and area
of licensure

(O.A.C. 3301-24-
23)

Completion of the
Beginning Teacher
Residency
Program or a
professional
growth plan
including a
minimum of 40
professional
growth
experience points,
including in-
service
workshops,
professional
workshops and
conferences,
mentoring of
beginning
teacher,
cooperating
teacher for any
college field
experience

(511 Ind. Admin.
Code 14-2-3)

Completion of
KTIP during the
certification
period

(16 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 2:010)

150 hours of
education-related
professional
learning hours

(Mich. Admin.
Code R.
390.1129b)

N/A

To be eligible for
renewal of a
three-year
certificate,
applicant must
show evidence of
completing six
semester hours at
a college/
university or
WVDE e-Learning
related to public
school
programming
with a minimum
3.0 GPA

Applicants
seeking renewal
for only one year
must complete
three semester
hours in the
manner described
above

Applicants who
have a minimum
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Provisional Licenses: Resident Educator

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

of a MA+30 salary
classification or
has reached 60
years of age are
not required to
engage in
continuing
education

(W. Va. Code R.
126-136-10; W.
Va. Bd. of
Education Policy
5202, section

10.1.e)
Initial licensure $80 $71.72 ($36.72 $85 $160 $200 (if teacher $35
fee (R.C. 3319.51; p'“SI $3t.'_5 '”'ft'a') (16 Ky. Admin. (Mich. Dept. of | Preparation (W. Va. Dept. of
State Bd. of evaluation fee Regs. 4:040) Education, progr?T '; . Education,
Education, (511 Ind. Admin. Certificate (I;omp el € !n) Professional
Licensure Fees) Code 16-1-2; Ind. Evaluation Fees) ennsylvania Teaching
Dept. of $260 (if teacher Certificate,
Education, preparation Summary of
Licensing Fees) program is Application

completed in
another state)

(Pa. Dept. of
Education,
Application Fees)

Requirements)
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Provisional Licenses: Resident Educator

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

License duration Two years, Two years One year Five years Six years, not Initial Professional
re”e"k‘;ab'e °”ba | (511 Ind. Admin. | (16 Ky. Admin. (Mich. Admin. renewable (T:eatc_?.'”gt i
Case-by-Case basls | code 14-1-1) Regs. 2:010) Code 390.1129b) | (22 Pa. Code fert'h'ca & \r:a 'l
(R.C. 3319.22; 49.82) or three schoo
0.A.C. 3301-24-18 years, expires on
and 3301-24-23) June 30.ofth? I.ast
year of its validity
(W. Va. Code R.
126-136-10; W.
Va. Bd. of
Education Policy
5202, section
10.1.e)
Renewal fee S80 $36.72 N/A $100 N/A N/A
(R.C. 3319.51; (511 Ind. Admin. (Mich. Dept. of
State Bd. of Code 16-1-2; Ind. Education,
Education, Dept. of Certificate
Licensure Fees) Education, Evaluation Fees)
Licensing Fees)
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Pupil-activity program permit
Survey response (SBE)

Pupil-activity (coaching) permits are required for individuals who will direct, supervise or coach a student activity program that involves
athletics, routine or regular physical activity or activities with health and safety considerations. School districts determine which staff

members need to have a permit

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

Permit

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 21074

Number renewed annually 8479
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

Education or training requirements

As required by statute

Experience requirements

None

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

None

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Pupil-Activity Program Permit holders must comply with statutory requirements for training.

Initial fee

$45.00 (1-year) $60.00 (4-year) $75.00 (5-year)

Duration

1-year, 4-year, 5-year

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Does the Board recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any circumstances in which an No
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by

the Board?

Is the Board permitted to exercise No

discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct

and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,
negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework

for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid for in a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that

educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved
rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is
effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator
disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 20, 2024)

Ohio requires an individual who does not have a valid educator’s license, certificate, or permit to have a pupil-activity program
permit to direct, supervise, or coach a student activity program. However, anyone may apply for a pupil-activity program permit for
the purpose of coaching, supervising, or directing a pupil-activity program. Generally, to receive this license an individual must show
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evidence of substantive knowledge of the activity and its rules and regulations and of the licensure code of professional conduct for
Ohio educators and complete training on all of the following (1) the National Federation of State High School Associations’
fundamentals of coaching course, (2) CPR, (3) brain trauma injury management, (4) symptoms of concussions and head injuries,
(5) sudden cardiac arrest, (6) first aid training, and (7) student mental health training. The fees for this permit depend on the length of
the permit: $45 for a three-year permit, $60 for a four-year permit, or $75 for a five-year permit. Applicants select the length of their
pupil-activity program permit based on if they have another educator credential. If the individual does not have another license, the
pupil-activity program permit is good for three years. Otherwise, it is for the same duration as the individual’s educator license — four
years for a four-year Resident Educator or Alternative Resident Educator license or five years for a Professional license.®®

West Virginia issues a similar permit, called a coaching authorization. An individual assigned as an athletic coach must hold a
valid coaching authorization, a professional certificate, or a substitute permit. To be issued a coaching authorization, an applicant must
(1) submit to a criminal background check and pay any fees associated with the state and federal criminal history background checks
and other fees for application processing, (2) hold a minimum of a high school diploma or approved high school equivalency
examination, (3) be employed under contract with a board of education to serve as a coach or be authorized to be a volunteer coach,
(4) complete the approved trainings, determined by either the local board of education or the West Virginia Secondary School Activities
Commission, as well as CPR and AED training, (5) receive the recommendation of the county superintendent, and (6) pay a fee of $35.
The authorization is valid for one school year. West Virginia requires the same requirements for the renewal as for the initial license.”®

Substitute teaching license
Survey response (SBE)

The 1-Year Multi-Age (P-12) Temporary Non-Bachelor’s Substitute Teaching License is available for candidates who do not hold a post-
secondary degree but meet the employing school or district’s set of educational requirements to serve in the role of a substitute teacher.
This license may be issued only at the request of the employing Ohio school or district. It is valid for teaching in any assigned class of any
subject area and grade level.

69 R.C. 3319.303 and 3319.51; 0.A.C. 3301-27-01; State Bd. of Education, Licensure Fees and Pupil-Activity (Coaching) Permits.
70W. Va. Bd. of Education policy 5202; W. Va. Dept. of Education, Application Forms.
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Standard 1-Year and 5-Year Multi-Age (P-12) substitute teaching licenses are available for applicants who meet qualifications and have
been hired to serve in Ohio schools or districts.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 32758

Number renewed annually 9929

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Education or training requirements Temporary Non-Bachelor substitute license - You must meet your employing Ohio school or
district’s education requirements for this license.

Standard substitute license - You must have a minimum of a bachelor’s degree from an
accredited college or university (official transcripts required).

Experience requirements NA

Examination requirements (Who NA
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

Continuing education requirements NA
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Initial fee $25.00 (1-year) $125.00 (5-year)

Duration 1-year or 5-year

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Does the Board recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any circumstances in which an No
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by

the Board?

Is the Board permitted to exercise No

discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct

and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,
negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework

for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid for in a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that
educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved
rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is

effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator
disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?
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Surrounding state comparison for substitute teaching licenses (LSC) (as of August 14, 2024)

Substitute Teacher

Type of regulation | License License License License License License
(Name of (Substitute (Substitute (Certificate for (Full-year and (Day-to-day (Long-term and
regulation) teaching license) teacher permit) substitute daily substitute substitute permit) | short-term
(R.C.3319.226; | (511 Ind. Admin. | t3ching) permits) (22 Pa. Code S“bSt!:“)te
0.A.C. 3302-23- | Code 16-4-5) (16 Ky. Admin. (Mich. Comp. 49.31) permits
44) Regs. 2:010 and Laws 380.1233) (W. Va. Bd. of
2:030) Education policy
5202, section 11.9;
W. Va. Dept. of
Education,
Certification Info)
Education or Postsecondary A high school For a five-year Completion of at Pennsylvania For a short-term

training

degree, but not
required for a
substitute for
career-technical
education classes
if the individual
holds a career-
technical
workforce
development
license

(R.C. 3319.229;
0.A.C. 3302-23-
44)

diploma or high
school
equivalency
certificate

(511 Ind. Admin.
Code 16-4-5; Ind.
Dept. of
Education,
Substitute

Permits)

certificate, a
bachelor’s degree
from a regionally
or accredited
postsecondary
institution

For a ten-year
certificate, a valid
statement of
eligibility for a
Kentucky teaching
certificate

(16 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 2:030; Ky.

least 60 semester
hours of college
credit or an
associate’s degree

For a full-year
permit, a major or
minor in the
discipline area in
which the
individual will
teach and 20
semester credits
in that area

public educator or
professional-level
out-of-state
educator
certificate

(22 Pa. Code
49.31; Pa. Dept. of
Education,
Substitute

Teaching)

permit, a
bachelor’s degree,
2.0GPA, and a
county-authorized
initial substitute
teacher training

For a long-term
permit, a
bachelor’s degree,
2.0 GPA, 18
semester hours in
a content area, a
county-authorized
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Substitute Teacher

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Education
Professional
Standards Bd.,
Substitute
Teacher

Certificate)

(Mich. Comp.
Laws 380.1233;
Mich. Admin.
Code R. 390.1143)

initial substitute
teacher training

(W. Va. Bd. of
Education policy
5202, section 11.9)

Experience N/A Must be at least N/A N/A N/A N/A
18 years of age
(511 Ind. Admin.
Code 16-4-5; Ind.
Dept. of
Education,
Substitute
Permits)
Exam N/A N/A N/A Yes, for a full-year | N/A N/A
permit
(Mich. Admin.
Code R. 390.1143)
Continuing N/A N/A N/A For a full-year N/A 12 clock hours of
education permit first in-service training
renewal, must be from county
enrolled in an board of WVDE
approved teacher that includes
preparation classroom
program that management,
leads to an initial teaching
teaching strategies. and
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Michigan

certificate or an
additional
endorsement on
an existing
teaching
certificate and
develop and
implement an
individualized
development plan

For a full-year
permit each
subsequent
renewal,
demonstrate
progress toward
completion of an
educator
preparation
program and
develop and
implement an
individualized
development plan

Daily substitute
permit is not
renewable

Pennsylvania

Substitute Teacher

West Virginia

trauma-informed
best practices,
with no more
than three hours
of classroom
observation; or

Six semester
hours of course
work from an
accredited
institution of
higher education
related to public
school
programming

(W. Va. Bd. of
Education policy
5202, section 11.9)
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Substitute Teacher

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
(Mich. Admin.
Code R. 390.1142
and 390.1143)
Initial licensure $25 (for a one- $16.32 (per $15 $45 Not specified Not specified
fee ;/i:;;h]ccensef).or Admin. Code) (16 Ky. Admin. (Mich. Comp. (W. Va. Dept. of
,( orative- $15.70 (per Regs. 4:040) Laws 380.1538) Education,
year license) . . )
website) Application Forms;
g’:ct 3;;9'51’ (511 Ind. Admin. ?2‘ V“% bd. of p
ate d. of Code 16-1-2; Ind. ucation po icy
Education, 5202, section 9.6)
Y E Dept. of
Licensure Fees) ’
icensure Fees Education,
Licensing Fees)
License duration One year or five Three years (per Five years or ten For a daily permit, | N/A Three years

years

(0.A.C. 3302-23-
44)

Admin. Code)

Nonrenewable
(per website)

(511 Ind. Admin.

Code 16-4-3; Ind.

Dept. of
Education,
Substitute

Permits)

years

(Ky. Admin. Regs.

2:030; Ky.
Education
Professional
Standards Bd.,
Substitute
Teacher

Certificate)

90 consecutive
days (extendable
once for another
90 days, and for
another
emergency 90
days)

For a full-year
permit, until the
end of the school
year for which the
permit is issued

(W. Va. Bd. of
Education policy
5202, section
11.9; W. Va. Dept.
of Education,
Certification Info)
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Substitute Teacher

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
(Mich. Admin.
Code R. 390.1141
and 390.1142)
Renewal fee Not specified, $16.32 S15 For a full-year N/A N/A

license g‘ay l‘t’ﬁ (511 Ind. Admin. | (16 Ky. Admin. permit, 545

re”ew‘i 02 € | Code 16-1-2) Regs. 4:040) (Mich. Comp.

requestan Laws 380.1538)

recommendation
of an employing
superintendent or
governing
authority

(0.A.C. 3302-23-
44)

Surrounding state comparison for substitute teaching licenses (temporary) (LSC) (as of
August 14, 2024)

Substitute Teacher — Temporary

Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Type of regulation | License No clear License No clear License License
(Name of (Temporary equivalent (Emergency equivalent (Emergency day- | (Restricted short-
regulation) substitute substitute to-day substitute | term substitute)
teaching license) teatc.::'mgt ) sermlt abn(t:l.lo:g- (W. Va. Bd. of
(R.C. 3319.102) certificate erm St‘)‘ SUtULE 1 Fducation policy
perm 5202, section 11.9)
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Substitute Teacher — Temporary

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

(Ky. Rev. Stat. (22 Pa. Code
161.100; 16 Ky. 49.31; Pa. Dept. of
Admin. Regs. Education,
2:030 and 2:120) Emergency
Permits)
Education or Determined by N/A A high school N/A Bachelor’s degree | An associate’s
training the s.chool or diplf)ma or (22 Pa. Code degree or 60
district equivalent 49.31; Pa. Dept. of semester or 90
(R.C. 3319.102; An 18 clock-hour Education, quarter hours, 2.0
State Bd. of orientation Emergency GPA, and a .
Education, program including Permits) f:o'u‘nty—autf‘lorlzed
. . initial substitute
Substitute emphasis on o
Licenses) student safety, teacher training
district policies, (W. Va. Bd. of
and procedures Education policy
(16 Ky. Admin, 5202, section 11.9;
Regs. 2:030) W. Va. Dept. of
Education,
Certification Info)
Experience Determined by N/A Must be at least N/A Determined by Must be at least

the school or
district

(R.C. 3319.102;

State Bd. of
Education,
Substitute

Licenses)

25 years of age
unless enrolled in
an approved
teacher education
program

the school or
district

(22 Pa. Code
49.31; Pa. Dept. of
Education,
Emergency
Permits)

21 years of age
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Substitute Teacher — Temporary

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Continuing N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 12 clock hours of
education in-service training

from county
board of WVDE
that includes
classroom
management,
teaching
strategies, and
trauma-informed
best practices,
with no more
than three hours
of classroom
observation; or

Six semester
hours of course
work from an
accredited
institution of
higher education
related to public
school
programming

(W. Va. Bd. of
Education policy
5202, section 11.9)
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Substitute Teacher — Temporary

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Initial licensure S25 N/A S85 N/A For a long-term N/A
fee (R.C. 3319.51; (16 Ky. Admin. ;igsg't“te permit,
State Bd. of Regs. 4:040)
Education, For a day-to-day
Licensure Fees) substitute permit,
$5
(Pa. Dept. of
Education,
Application Fees)
License duration One year N/A One year N/A One year for a One year
(R.C. 3319.102) (16 Ky. Admin. day-to-day | v B of
substitute permit; . .
Regs. 2:030) ; fied f Education policy
nOt spectledtor | 5502, section 11.9)
long-term
substitute permit
(Pa. Dept. of
Education,
Substitute
Teaching)
Renewal fee N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
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Supplemental teaching license
Survey response (SBE)

Teachers who hold an active, standard Ohio teaching license and need an additional licensure area for employment in an Ohio school or
district should consider the Ohio Supplemental Licensure pathway. Teachers working under a supplemental teaching license are properly
certified in the supplemental licensure area while completing this pathway. Additionally, educators are permitted to teach in a supplemental
licensure area for up to 60 days while completing content area exam requirements for the initial supplemental license. Teachers must have an
active, standard Ohio teaching license and a pending application for the supplemental license to be eligible for this conditional employment.
Please use the links below to access additional information for each supplemental licensure area, including checklists to guide applicants
through the licensure process.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 1775

Number renewed annually 836
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

Education or training requirements

Experience requirements

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

The Ohio Assessment for Educators is administered by Evaluation Systems of Pearson. The exam
administrator was selected by the state board of education through the RFP process. The
assessment was recommended by the Educator Standards Board for approval by the state board
of education.

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Initial fee

$40.00

Duration

1-year

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Does the Board recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any circumstances in which an No
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by

the Board?

Is the Board permitted to exercise No

discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct
and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,

negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework

for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?
How is that revenue used?

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that
educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved

rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is
effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator
disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 27, 2024)

Ohio offers a supplemental teaching license to educators who already hold a valid standard teaching certificate or license, at
the request of an employing district, while the educator is in the process of obtaining standard licensure to teach in a different area.
In Ohio, an individual with a valid standard teaching certificate or license may be issued a supplemental teaching license to teach in a
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different licensure area or teaching field from the individual’s certificate or license. The license is renewable twice and must be issued
at the request of the employing school district. The individual must be employed in a supplemental licensure area or teaching field
and pass an examination in that field. As a condition of the license, the individual also must complete additional course work in the
area or field and have a mentor who teaches in that area. After teaching under the supplemental teaching license for two years and
completing the course work, the individual may advance to a standard license in that area.”! The fee for the one-year license is $40.72

It appears that the surrounding states do not offer an equivalent license.

Temporary teaching license for military science

Survey response (SBE)

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

’1R.C. 3319.361; 0.A.C. 3301-24-14.

72 State Bd. of Education, Licensure Fees.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 123

Number renewed annually 89

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

Education or training requirements

Experience requirements

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Initial fee

Page |397 Occupational Regulation



If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Duration

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)

Does the Board recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Are there any circumstances in which an No
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Board?

Is the Board permitted to exercise
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct
and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,

negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework

for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid forin a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 23, 2024)

Temporary Teaching License for Military Science

Type of regulation | License No clear License No clear License License

(Name of (Temporary equivalent (Certificate for equivalent (Military science (Authorization for

regulation) teaching license junior and senior certificate) JROTC Program)
for military 3;5(;‘2“0“5' (24 P.S. 12- (W. Va. Code R.
science) ) 1207.2) 126-136-11)
(O.A.C. 3301-23- (16 Ky. Admin.
44) Regs. 2:100)

Education or Necessary skills, N/A All the following: N/A Valid military Bachelor’s degree

training

as determined by

science certificate

from an

= High school
the hiring disloma for a or endorsement accredited
authority junior issued by a branch | institution of

(0.A.C. 3301-23-
44)

certificate and
a bachelor’s
degree for
senior
certificate;

= Recommend-

of the U.S. Armed
Forces authorizing
the person to
teach military
science and the
JROTC

higher education,
JROTC Instructor
certification
awarded by a
branch of the U.S.
military, and the
recommendation

. 24 P.S. 12-
tion b ( i
ation y. 1207.2) of the employing
appropriate county
military service superintendent
branch;
(W. Va. Code R.
= Contract for 126-136-11)

employment by
a local school
district;
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Temporary Teaching License for Military Science

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia

= Recommend-
ation for
certification by
local school
district
superintendent

(16 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 2:100)

Experience N/A N/A DD214 N/A N/A N/A
documenting
honorable service

(16 Ky. Admin.

Regs. 2:100)
Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Continuing N/A N/A For a junior N/A N/A N/A
education certificate, six

semester hours
selected from an
associate degree
program or 24
clock hours of
district-approved
professional
development,
annually
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Temporary Teaching License for Military Science

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia

For a senior
certificate two
years of
experience
teaching JROTC
over the duration
of the previously
held license

(16 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 2:100)

Initial licensure N/A N/A $85 N/A N/A N/A

fee (Ky. Education

Professional
Standards Bd.,
Certification Fees)

License duration One year N/A Two years for the | N/A Permanent Two years
junior certificate

(State Bd. of d first i (Pa. Dept. of (W. Va. Code R.
Education, andmirstissuance Education, CSPG | 126-136-11)
of the senior e
Temporary o 67 — Military
. . certificate and ;
Military Science fi Science Programs)
Licenses) ive years upon

renewal of the
senior certificate

(16 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 2:100)
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https://sboe.ohio.gov/educator-licensure/apply-for-a-new-license/temporary-military-science-licenses#:~:text=Temporary%20military%20science%20teaching%20licenses,employing%20Ohio%20school%20or%20district.
https://sboe.ohio.gov/educator-licensure/apply-for-a-new-license/temporary-military-science-licenses#:~:text=Temporary%20military%20science%20teaching%20licenses,employing%20Ohio%20school%20or%20district.
https://sboe.ohio.gov/educator-licensure/apply-for-a-new-license/temporary-military-science-licenses#:~:text=Temporary%20military%20science%20teaching%20licenses,employing%20Ohio%20school%20or%20district.
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/Staffing%20Guidelines/Pages/CSPG67.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/Staffing%20Guidelines/Pages/CSPG67.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/Staffing%20Guidelines/Pages/CSPG67.aspx

Temporary Teaching License for Military Science

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia

Renewal fee N/A N/A Not specified for N/A N/A N/A
junior certificate

S85 for senior
certificate

(Ky. Education
Professional
Standards Bd.,
Certification Fees)

Twelve-hour teaching permit
Survey response (SBE)

Educators are limited to teaching 12 hours a week in the subject area(s) listed on the permit. The one-year permit is valid only in the
requesting Ohio school district.
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

Permit

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually

99

Number renewed annually

75

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

Education or training requirements

Candidates must have a minimum of a bachelor’s degree from an accredited university in OR
significant work experience in the subject area to be taught.

Experience requirements

No
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

No

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Initial fee

$40.00

Duration

1-year

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)

Does the Board recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Are there any circumstances in which an No
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by

the Board?
Is the Board permitted to exercise Section 3319.65 of the Revised Code authorized the state board of education shall establish a
discretion in determining whether to credential review board. The credential review board shall carry out any functions assigned to it

register, certify, or license an individual? by the state board with respect to assessing individuals pursuing alternative routes to educator
licensure and out of state educators seeking licensure in Ohio.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct
and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,

negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework

for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid for in a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that
educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved
rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is
effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator
disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 23, 2024)

Twelve-Hour Temporary Teacher

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Type of regulation | License No clear License No clear License No clear
(Name of (12-hour teaching equivalent (Adjunct equivalent (Resource equivalent
regulation) permit) Instructor) Specialist Permit,
(R.C. 3319.301) (Ky. Rev. Stat. OE‘P']V for arts I‘:”d
161.046) other specialty

areas)

(22 Pa. Code

49.62)
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Twelve-Hour Temporary Teacher

Kentucky

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Education or
training

Bachelor’s degree
or higher, or
evidence of
significant
experience, as
verified by the
employing
district, in the
subject to be
taught

(0.A.C. 3301-23-
41)

N/A

Expertisein a
specific area and
the applicable of
the following:

= For elementary
certification, a
bachelor’s
degree with an
overall 2.75
GPA;

= For middle or
secondary
certification, a
bachelor’s
degree with an
overall 2.75
GPA and in the
major, minor,
or area of
concentration
in the subject
to be taught;

= For vocational
education
certification, a
high school
diploma

N/A

Professional
knowledge, skill,
and license (if
required) in an
area for
supplemental
instruction in a
course of study
directed by a
certified teacher

(22 Pa. Code
49.62; Pa. Dept. of
Education, CSPG
100 — Temporary

Permits for

Resource
Specialists and
Resource
Specialist Permit

Request Form
PDF,

N/A
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https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/Staffing%20Guidelines/Pages/CSPG100.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/Staffing%20Guidelines/Pages/CSPG100.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/Staffing%20Guidelines/Pages/CSPG100.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/Staffing%20Guidelines/Pages/CSPG100.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/Staffing%20Guidelines/Pages/CSPG100.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Documents/Teachers-Administrators/Certifications/Fees%20and%20Forms/Resource%20Specialist%20Permit%20Request.pdf
https://www.education.pa.gov/Documents/Teachers-Administrators/Certifications/Fees%20and%20Forms/Resource%20Specialist%20Permit%20Request.pdf
https://www.education.pa.gov/Documents/Teachers-Administrators/Certifications/Fees%20and%20Forms/Resource%20Specialist%20Permit%20Request.pdf
https://www.education.pa.gov/Documents/Teachers-Administrators/Certifications/Fees%20and%20Forms/Resource%20Specialist%20Permit%20Request.pdf

Twelve-Hour Temporary Teacher

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania West Virginia

(Ky. Rev. Stat.
161.046;
Education
Professional
Standards Bd.,
Option 4: Adjunct
Instructor for

Teaching Grades

P-12)

Experience

Yes, if no college
degree (see
“Education or
training,” above)

(0.A.C. 3301-23-
41)

N/A

For vocational
education, four
years of
appropriate
occupational
experience

(Ky. Rev. Stat.
161.046;
Education
Professional
Standards Bd.,
Option 4: Adjunct
Instructor for

Teaching Grades

P-12)

N/A

N/A N/A

Exam

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A N/A

Continuing
education

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A N/A
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http://www.epsb.ky.gov/mod/page/view.php?id=36
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http://www.epsb.ky.gov/mod/page/view.php?id=36
http://www.epsb.ky.gov/mod/page/view.php?id=36
http://www.epsb.ky.gov/mod/page/view.php?id=36
http://www.epsb.ky.gov/mod/page/view.php?id=36
http://www.epsb.ky.gov/mod/page/view.php?id=36
http://www.epsb.ky.gov/mod/page/view.php?id=36

Twelve-Hour Temporary Teacher

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Initial licensure S40 N/A N/A N/A $100 N/A
fee (State Bd. of (Pa. Dept. of
Education, Education,
Licensure Fees) Application Fees)
License duration One year N/A One year N/A Three years N/A
(O.A.C. 3301-23- (Ky. Rev. Stat. (Pa. Dept. of
41) 161.046) Education, CSPG
100 — Temporary
Permits for
Resource
Specialists)
Renewal fee N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Visiting international teacher license

Survey response (SBE)

district and only for the grade levels and subject areas listed on the license.

Three-year visiting international teacher licenses are available for applicants who meet qualifications and have been hired to teach in Ohio
schools or districts via an exchange program or other recruitment effort. The license is issued at the request of an employing Ohio school or
district for a visiting teacher who is a citizen of another country. The non-renewable license will be valid only in the employing school or
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https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/FeesForms/Pages/Application-Fees.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/Staffing%20Guidelines/Pages/CSPG100.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/Staffing%20Guidelines/Pages/CSPG100.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/Staffing%20Guidelines/Pages/CSPG100.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/Staffing%20Guidelines/Pages/CSPG100.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/Staffing%20Guidelines/Pages/CSPG100.aspx

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 39

Number renewed annually N/A

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

Education or training requirements Candidates must have completed both of the following:
The US equivalent of a bachelor’s degree; and

A traditional educator preparation program. Note that candidates may be hired to teach either
of the following:

The grade levels and subject areas of the educator preparation program they completed, or

Their native language.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Experience requirements

Teacher Program candidates must have prior teaching experience, per federal and state teacher

exchange program requirements.

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Board receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

No

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Initial fee

$120.00

Duration

3-year

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)

Does the Board recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for

the State Board to recognize.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Licensure of educators is currently handled on the state level. Each state sets its own
requirements for licensure and there is currently no national uniform licensure requirement for
the State Board to recognize.

Are there any circumstances in which an
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Board?

No

Is the Board permitted to exercise
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Section 3319.65 of the Revised Code authorized the state board of education shall establish a
credential review board. The credential review board shall carry out any functions assigned to it
by the state board with respect to assessing individuals pursuing alternative routes to educator
licensure and out of state educators seeking licensure in Ohio.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The State Board of Education has the legal authority under Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 to investigate educator misconduct
and take disciplinary action against educational license holders and applicants who engage in criminal conduct, immoral acts, incompetence,
negligence, conduct that is unbecoming to the teaching profession, or other violations of law as set forth in 3319.31(B). Conduct unbecoming
to the teaching profession is further defined by the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators which provides the framework
for professional conduct for all licensed Ohio educators.
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)?

How is that revenue used?

The State Board of Education of Ohio allows for bundling discounts for educators being issued more than one credential simultaneously (for
example, someone with a principal license maintaining their teaching licensure). Because of this, and the fact that credentials are paid for in a
single transaction, it is not possible to disaggregate fees paid by credential type. All funds generated from obtaining a credential through the
State Board of Education are deposited into the Teacher Licensure fund 4L20.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires teachers and
paraprofessionals working in a program receiving federal funds to meet applicable State certification and licensure requirements, including
any requirements for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification. Further, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and accompanying regulations require teachers providing special education to obtain full State certification as a special education
teacher.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The State Board of Education is responsible for administering the ethical standards for licensed Ohio educators with the goal of ensuring that
all Ohio students receive instruction from educators who are committed to providing a safe, supportive, and healthy school environment
while also safeguarding the integrity of the profession. Acts of misconduct can cause direct harm to students whom, due to age, experience,
and/or imbalance of power, may be particularly vulnerable to harm.
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The role of Revised Code sections 3319.311 and 3319.31 is primarily to respond to misconduct that has already occurred and to ensure that
educators who pose a risk to profession or the safety of students are removed from the profession either until they have achieved
rehabilitation and can become relicensed or permanently depending on the nature of the offense. The educator disciplinary process is
effective at mitigating risk in this manner. Less restrictive means would be unlikely to prevent or mitigate potential harm. The educator
disciplinary process can also have a deterrence effect on future misconduct as all disciplinary actions are posted and viewable on our website.

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 1, 2024)

Visiting International Teacher

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Type of regulation

(Name of
regulation)

License
(Visiting
international
teacher license)

(O.A.C. 3302-24-
05)

License

(Visiting teacher
license)

(Ind. Code 20-28-
5-28)

License

(Certification for
foreign teachers
serving under the
International
Teacher Program)

(16 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 4:070)

License

(Temporary
teaching
certificate)

(Mich. Comp.

Laws 380.1531;

Mich. Dept. of

No clear
equivalent

License

(Non-United
States citizen
permit)

(W. Va. Code 18A-
3-2a; W. Va. Bd.
of Education,
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https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3319.311
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3319.31
https://sboe.ohio.gov/professional-conduct/disciplinary-search

Visiting International Teacher

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Education, Out-of- Policy 5202,
State Applicants) Section 17)
Education or The U.S. Equivalent of a Credentials or Teacher N/A Verification from
training equivalent of a bachelor’s degree | other legal preparation the partnering
bachelor’s degree | from aregionally | authorization for | program organization that
Teacher écctr.tedtlfced te:;chmg in ’f[helr (Mich. Comp. the applicant has:
preparation 'dnstl u |.on,da; native country. Laws 380.1531; = Completed an
program their((air:a:rr]ti/ ya (16 Ky. Admin. Mich. Dept. of equivalent of
. . ) Regs. 4:070 Education, Out-of- an approved
Academic major | comparability 9 ) Out-of: PRI
. . Country educational
in the area to be evaluation :
taught, or, in the Applicants and personnel
P Completion of Out-of-State preparation
case of world - )
languages one of the Applicants) program in the
. ’ curriculum US.andina
evidence of ) e
- . requirements for specialization
proficiency in the )
a grade level offered in West

target language as
determined by
the employing
school district or
the Department
of Education and
Workforce

English language
proficiency as
determined by
the employing
school district or
the Department

(Ind. Code 20-28-
5-28; Ind. Dept. of
Education, Visiting
Teacher Permits)

Virginia; and

= Completed a
degree
equivalent to
the required
degree level in
the U.S. and
has earned an
overall GPA
equivalent to a
2.50in the U.S.
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https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/becoming-a-teacher/out-of-state-applicants
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/becoming-a-teacher/out-of-state-applicants
https://apps.sos.wv.gov/adlaw/csr/readfile.aspx?DocId=56258&Format=PDF#page=74
https://apps.sos.wv.gov/adlaw/csr/readfile.aspx?DocId=56258&Format=PDF#page=74
https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/visiting-teacher-permits/#:~:text=The%20applicant%20must%20hold%20the,Secondary%20Education
https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/visiting-teacher-permits/#:~:text=The%20applicant%20must%20hold%20the,Secondary%20Education
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/becoming-a-teacher/out-of-country-applicants
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/becoming-a-teacher/out-of-country-applicants
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/becoming-a-teacher/out-of-country-applicants
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/becoming-a-teacher/out-of-state-applicants
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/becoming-a-teacher/out-of-state-applicants

Visiting International Teacher

Ohio

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania West Virginia

(0.A.C. 3302-24- (W. Va. Code R.
05; State Bd. of 126-136-17)
Education, Visiting
International
Teacher Licenses)
Experience Prior teaching Teaching or At least one year | N/A N/A N/A
experience, per related of teaching
federal and state | professional experience
teacher exchange | experience (16 Ky. Admin.
program (Ind. Code 20-28- | Regs. 4:070)
requirements 5-28; Ind. Dept. of
(O0.A.C. 3302-24- Education, Visiting
05; State Bd. of Teacher Permits)
Education, Visiting
International
Teacher Licenses)
Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Continuing N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A To be eligible for
education renewal, applicant
must
(a) successfully
complete six
semester hours of
eligible college/
university course
work or WVDE
WVLearns courses
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https://sboe.ohio.gov/educator-licensure/apply-for-a-new-license/visiting-international-teacher-licenses
https://sboe.ohio.gov/educator-licensure/apply-for-a-new-license/visiting-international-teacher-licenses
https://sboe.ohio.gov/educator-licensure/apply-for-a-new-license/visiting-international-teacher-licenses
https://sboe.ohio.gov/educator-licensure/apply-for-a-new-license/visiting-international-teacher-licenses
https://sboe.ohio.gov/educator-licensure/apply-for-a-new-license/visiting-international-teacher-licenses
https://sboe.ohio.gov/educator-licensure/apply-for-a-new-license/visiting-international-teacher-licenses
https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/visiting-teacher-permits/#:~:text=The%20applicant%20must%20hold%20the,Secondary%20Education
https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/visiting-teacher-permits/#:~:text=The%20applicant%20must%20hold%20the,Secondary%20Education

Visiting International Teacher

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

related to the
public school
program, or

(b) hold a
minimum of an
MA+30 salary
classification, or
(c) is age 60 or
older

(W. Va. Code R.

126-136-17 and
126-136-10.4)

Initial licensure $120 $71.72 ($36.72 for | N/A $210 N/A Not specified plus
fee (0.A.C. 3302-24- ';l;esl]lccense and (Mich. Dept. of $47t.i5 fee for the
05; State Bd. of | o;‘an) Education, :::.OS or. ting f
Education, €valuation Certificate I.lngerprm ing for
Licensure Fees) (511 Ind. Admin. Evaluation Fees icensure
Code 16-1-2; Ind. and Out-of- (W. Va. Dept. of
Dept. of Education, Country Education, First
Licensing Fees) Applicants) Time Application)
License duration Three years Five years, One year One year, N/A One year, may be

(0.A.C. 3302-24-
05)

nonrenewable

(Ind. Code 20-28-
5-28; Ind. Dept. of
Education, Visiting
Teacher Permits)

(16 Ky. Admin.

Regs. 4:070)

nonrenewable

(Mich. Comp.
Laws 380.1531;
Mich. Dept. of
Education, Out-of-
State Applicants)

renewed once

(W. Va. Code R.
126-136-17)
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https://sboe.ohio.gov/educator-licensure/information-and-resources/licensure-fees#:~:text=Temporary%20Pupil%20Services%20License%20(1,(3%2DYear)%20%7C%20%24120
https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/licensing-fees/
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/application-fees
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/application-fees
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/becoming-a-teacher/out-of-country-applicants
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/becoming-a-teacher/out-of-country-applicants
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/becoming-a-teacher/out-of-country-applicants
https://wvde.us/certification/certification-info/application-forms/first-time-application/
https://wvde.us/certification/certification-info/application-forms/first-time-application/
https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/visiting-teacher-permits/#:~:text=The%20applicant%20must%20hold%20the,Secondary%20Education
https://www.in.gov/doe/educators/educator-licensing/visiting-teacher-permits/#:~:text=The%20applicant%20must%20hold%20the,Secondary%20Education
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/becoming-a-teacher/out-of-state-applicants
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/services/ed-serv/ed-cert/cert-guidance/becoming-a-teacher/out-of-state-applicants

Visiting International Teacher

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia

Renewal fee N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A S35
(W. Va. Dept. of

Education, Form

4NT Application
Instructions)

State Board of Education Workload Data

Data notes

Licensure data are from CORE, conduct data are from ECM, and Evaluation and Resident Educator data are provided by the
Office of Educator Licensure and Effectiveness. All CORE and ECM data pulled by Chris Worth (chris.worth@sboe.ohio.gov) between
7/12/2024 and 7/15/2024.

Questions and Data

1. How many active licenses (permits or registrations) does you board or commission have right now?
The number of credentials in Issued status is 360776.

2. What is the average number of new licenses (permits or registrations) authorized yearly?

When counted by year of issue year, over a period of ten years: 133956.7. Note that this number may include credentials that
were subsequently voided or revoked.

3. How many active investigations (disciplinary or appeal cases) does your board or commission have right now?

The number of cases in Open status is 6646. Note that this number does include cases that have been referred, but have not yet
been determined to require full investigation, i.e., they are still in intake.

4. What is the average number of new investigations (disciplinary or appeal cases) received/reviewed yearly?

Since the first full year of ECM data was 2020, these averages were computer over a period of 4 years (2020 — 2024):
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https://wvde.us/certification/certification-info/application-forms/form-4nt-application-instructions/
https://wvde.us/certification/certification-info/application-forms/form-4nt-application-instructions/
https://wvde.us/certification/certification-info/application-forms/form-4nt-application-instructions/
mailto:chris.worth@sboe.ohio.gov

= Average number of referrals: 18311

= Average number of investigations opened: 1156

= Average number of investigations completed: 864.25
= Average number of dispositions: 982

= Average number of appeals: 8.25

5. The Office of Educator Licensure and Effectiveness also oversees the Resident Educator Program, including the following
categories of related personnel:

= 11,773 registered resident educators
= 6,336 resident educator mentors
= 1995 program coordinators

6. The Office of Educator Licensure and Effectiveness also oversees the Ohio Evaluation Systems, including the following categories
of educators:

= 111,883 teachers enrolled in the Ohio Teacher Evaluation System
= 5,884 principals enrolled in the Ohio Principal Evaluation System
= 3,945 school counselors enrolled in the Ohio Counselor Evaluation System

7. The Office of Educator Licensure and Effectiveness also provides Evaluations for Alternative Resident Educators credentials,
Alternative Administrative credentials, and Supplemental credentials. The total number of those evaluations for the 2023-2024
fiscal year is 6139.

State Board of Education Data Notes

Credential data and counts were sourced from CORE (Connected Ohio Records for Educators) on October 10, 2024. Except where
specifically noted, all credential counts are from the 2023-2024 effective year. The assignment of credentials to various survey items
was done in coordination with the Office of Educator Licensure and Effectiveness. A number of credential descriptions issued by the
State Board of Education were not able to be assigned to a particular survey item. Those credentials were coded with the category
99: Other. The summary list of unassigned credentials is as follows:

e 1 Year Coordinating Service Center Tutor Registration
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e 1 Year Instructional Assistant Instructional Assistant Permit
e 1 Year Temporary Interim License
e 2 Year Alternative Educator License
e 1 Year Temporary Alternative License
e 1 Year Temporary License
e 1 Year Interim License
e 3 Year Temporary Military Duty License
State Board of Education: Survey Item to Credential Assignment

Survey Iltem Credential Description

1a: Alternative Military Resident Educator 2 Year Alternative Military Resident Educator Intervention Specialist (PreK-12) License
1a: Alternative Military Resident Educator 2 Year Alternative Military Resident Educator Designated Subjects (PreK-12) License
1a: Alternative Military Resident Educator 2 Year Alternative Military Resident Educator Montessori (PK-12) License

1a: Alternative Military Resident Educator 2 Year Alternative Military Resident Educator Multi Age (P-12) License

1b: Alternative Resident Educator 4 Year Alternative Resident Educator Career Technical (4-12) License

1b: Alternative Resident Educator 4 Year Alternative Resident Educator Designated Subject (4-12) License

1b: Alternative Resident Educator 4 Year Alternative Resident Educator Multi Age (P-12) License

1b: Alternative Resident Educator 4 Year Alternative Resident Educator Intervention Specialist (K-12) License

1b: Alternative Resident Educator 4 Year Alternative Resident Educator Career Technical Workforce Development License
1b: Alternative Resident Educator 4 Year Alternative Resident Educator Designated Subject (Grades K-12) License

1b: Alternative Resident Educator 2 Year Alternative Resident Educator Designated Subjects (PreK-12) License

1b: Alternative Resident Educator 2 Year Alternative Resident Educator Multi Age (P-12) License

1b: Alternative Resident Educator 2 Year Alternative Resident Educator Intervention Specialist (PreK-12) License

1c: Alternative Resident Educator - 4 Year Alternative Resident Educator Alternative Resident Educator- Montessori (PK-12)
Montessori License

1c: Alternative Resident Educator -

Montessori 4 Year Alternative Resident Educator Montessori (PK-12) License
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1c: Alternative Resident Educator -
Montessori

2 Year Alternative Resident Educator Montessori (PK-12) License

1d: Early College High School

4 Year Early College High School (7-12) License

le: Provisional STEM

2 Year Provisional STEM (6-12) License

1f: Resident Educator

4 Year Resident Educator Adolescence to Young Adult (7-12) License

1f: Resident Educator

4 Year Resident Educator Career Technical (4-12) License

1f: Resident Educator

4 Year Resident Educator Early Childhood (P-3) License

1f: Resident Educator

4 Year Resident Educator Early Childhood Intervention Specialist (P-3) License

1f: Resident Educator

4 Year Resident Educator Intervention Specialist (K-12) License

1f: Resident Educator

4 Year Resident Educator Middle Childhood (4-9) License

1f: Resident Educator

4 Year Resident Educator Multi Age (P-12) License

1f: Resident Educator

4 Year Resident Educator Adolescence to Young Adult (Grades 7-12) License

1f: Resident Educator

4 Year Resident Educator Early Childhood (Grades P-3) License

1f: Resident Educator

4 Year Resident Educator Primary (PreK-5) License

1f: Resident Educator

4 Year Resident Educator Primary Intervention Specialist (PreK-5) License

1f: Resident Educator

2 Year Resident Educator Adolescence to Young Adult (7-12) License

1f: Resident Educator

2 Year Resident Educator Career Technical (4-12) License

1f: Resident Educator

2 Year Resident Educator Early Childhood (P-3) License

1f: Resident Educator

2 Year Resident Educator Early Childhood Intervention Specialist (P-3) License

1f: Resident Educator

2 Year Resident Educator Intervention Specialist (K-12) License

1f: Resident Educator

2 Year Resident Educator Middle Childhood (4-9) License

1f: Resident Educator

2 Year Resident Educator Multi Age (P-12) License

1f: Resident Educator

2 Year Resident Educator Primary (PreK-5) License

1f: Resident Educator

2 Year Resident Educator Primary Intervention Specialist (PreK-5) License

1f: Resident Educator

2 Year Resident Educator Early Childhood (Grades P-3) License

1f: Resident Educator

2 Year Resident Educator Adolescence to Young Adult (Grades 7-12) License

1f: Resident Educator

2 Year Resident Educator Intervention Specialist 4-9 License

1f: Resident Educator

2 Year Resident Educator Intervention Specialist 7-12 License

1g: Two Year Provisional

2 Year Provisional Adolescence to Young Adult (7-12) License
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1g: Two Year Provisional 2 Year Provisional Career Technical (4-12) License

1g: Two Year Provisional 2 Year Provisional Early Childhood (P-3) License

1g: Two Year Provisional 2 Year Provisional Early Childhood Intervention Specialist (P-3) License
1g: Two Year Provisional 2 Year Provisional Intervention Specialist (K-12) License

1g: Two Year Provisional 2 Year Provisional Middle Childhood (4-9) License

1g: Two Year Provisional 2 Year Provisional Multi Age (P-12) License

1g: Two Year Provisional 2 Year Provisional Associate License

1g: Two Year Provisional 2 Year Provisional High School (7-12) License

1g: Two Year Provisional 2 Year Provisional Kindergarten-Primary (K-3) License

1g: Two Year Provisional 2 Year Provisional Prekindergarten Associate License

1g: Two Year Provisional 2 Year Provisional Special All Grades (K-12) License

1g: Two Year Provisional 2 Year Provisional Vocational Education License

1g: Two Year Provisional 2 Year Provisional Early Childhood (Grades P-3) License

1g: Two Year Provisional 2 Year Provisional Adolescence to Young Adult (Grades 7-12) License

: Lead Professional Educator

5 Year Lead Professional Educator Adolescence to Young Adult (7-12) License

: Lead Professional Educator

5 Year Lead Professional Educator Career Technical (4-12) License

: Lead Professional Educator

5 Year Lead Professional Educator Comprehensive High School (7-12) License

: Lead Professional Educator

5 Year Lead Professional Educator Early Childhood (P-3) License

: Lead Professional Educator

5 Year Lead Professional Educator Early Childhood Intervention Specialist (P-3) License

: Lead Professional Educator

5 Year Lead Professional Educator Education of the Handicapped (K-12) License

: Lead Professional Educator

5 Year Lead Professional Educator Elementary (1-8) License

: Lead Professional Educator

5 Year Lead Professional Educator High School (7-12) License

: Lead Professional Educator

5 Year Lead Professional Educator Intervention Specialist (K-12) License

: Lead Professional Educator

5 Year Lead Professional Educator Kindergarten-Elementary (K-8) License

: Lead Professional Educator

5 Year Lead Professional Educator Kindergarten-Primary (K-3) License

: Lead Professional Educator

5 Year Lead Professional Educator Middle Childhood (4-9) License

: Lead Professional Educator

5 Year Lead Professional Educator Middle School (4-9) License

: Lead Professional Educator

5 Year Lead Professional Educator Multi Age (P-12) License

NINININININININININININININDN

: Lead Professional Educator

5 Year Lead Professional Educator Prekindergarten License
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: Lead Professional Educator

5 Year Lead Professional Educator Special All Grades (K-12) License

: Lead Professional Educator

5 Year Lead Professional Educator Vocational Education License

: Lead Professional Educator

5 Year Lead Professional Educator Early Childhood (Grades P-3) License

: Lead Professional Educator

5 Year Lead Professional Educator Adolescence to Young Adult (Grades 7-12) License

: Lead Professional Educator

5 Year Lead Professional Educator Out of State Educator License

: Lead Professional Educator

5 Year Lead Professional Educator Primary (PreK-5) License

: Lead Professional Educator

5 Year Lead Professional Educator Primary Intervention Specialist (PreK-5) License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional Adolescence to Young Adult (7-12) License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional Career Technical (4-12) License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional Comprehensive High School (7-12) License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional Early Childhood (P-3) License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional Early Childhood Intervention Specialist (P-3) License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional Education of the Handicapped (K-12) License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional Elementary (1-8) License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional High School (7-12) License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional Intervention Specialist (K-12) License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional Kindergarten-Elementary (K-8) License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional Kindergarten-Primary (K-3) License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional Middle Childhood (4-9) License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional Middle School (4-9) License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional Multi Age (P-12) License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional Prekindergarten License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional Special All Grades (K-12) License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional Vocational Education License

: Professional Educator

Permanent Permanent Comprehensive High School (7-12) Certificate

: Professional Educator

Permanent Permanent Education of the Handicapped (K-12) Certificate

: Professional Educator

Permanent Permanent Elementary (1-8) Certificate

: Professional Educator

Permanent Permanent High School (7-12) Certificate
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: Professional Educator

Permanent Permanent Kindergarten-Elementary (K-8) Certificate
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: Professional Educator

Permanent Permanent Kindergarten-Primary (K-3) Certificate

: Professional Educator

Permanent Permanent Middle School (4-9) Certificate

: Professional Educator

Permanent Permanent Prekindergarten Certificate

: Professional Educator

Permanent Permanent Prekindergarten Associate Certificate

: Professional Educator

Permanent Permanent Special All Grades (K-12) Certificate

: Professional Educator

Permanent Permanent Vocational Education Certificate

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional General Education License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional Prekindergarten Associate License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional Adolescence to Young Adult (Grades 7-12) License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional Early Childhood (Grades P-3) License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional Designated Subject (4-12) License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional Designated Subject (Grades K-12) License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional Montessori (PK-12) License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional Primary (PreK-5) License

: Professional Educator

5 Year Professional Primary Intervention Specialist (PreK-5) License

: Professional Educator

1 Year Reinstatement Adolescence to Young Adult (7-12) License

: Professional Educator

1 Year Reinstatement Career Technical (4-12) License

: Professional Educator

1 Year Reinstatement Designated Subject (4-12) License

: Professional Educator

1 Year Reinstatement Designated Subject (Grades K-12) License

: Professional Educator

1 Year Reinstatement Early Childhood (P-3) License

: Professional Educator

1 Year Reinstatement Early Childhood Intervention Specialist (P-3) License

: Professional Educator

1 Year Reinstatement Intervention Specialist (K-12) License

: Professional Educator

1 Year Reinstatement Middle Childhood (4-9) License

: Professional Educator

1 Year Reinstatement Multi Age (P-12) License

: Professional Educator

1 Year Reinstatement Prekindergarten Associate License

: Professional Educator

1 Year Reinstatement Primary (PreK-5) License

: Professional Educator

1 Year Reinstatement Primary Intervention Specialist (PreK-5) License

: Professional Educator

1 Year Reinstatement Education of the Handicapped (K-12) License
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: Professional Educator

1 Year Reinstatement Comprehensive High School (7-12) License

Page |427

Occupational Regulation




: Professional Educator

1 Year Reinstatement Prekindergarten License

: Professional Educator

1 Year Reinstatement Kindergarten-Primary (K-3) License

: Professional Educator

1 Year Reinstatement Kindergarten-Elementary (K-8) License

: Professional Educator

1 Year Reinstatement Elementary (1-8) License

: Professional Educator

1 Year Reinstatement Special All Grades (K-12) License

: Professional Educator

1 Year Reinstatement Vocational Education License

: Professional Educator

1 Year Reinstatement Middle School (4-9) License

: Professional Educator

1 Year Reinstatement High School (7-12) License

: Professional Educator

2 Year Reinstatement Adolescence to Young Adult (7-12) License

: Professional Educator

2 Year Reinstatement Career Technical (4-12) License

: Professional Educator

2 Year Reinstatement Comprehensive High School (7-12) License

: Professional Educator

2 Year Reinstatement Designated Subject (4-12) License

: Professional Educator

2 Year Reinstatement Designated Subject (Grades K-12) License

: Professional Educator

2 Year Reinstatement Early Childhood (P-3) License

: Professional Educator

2 Year Reinstatement Elementary (1-8) License

: Professional Educator

2 Year Reinstatement High School (7-12) License

: Professional Educator

2 Year Reinstatement Kindergarten-Elementary (K-8) License

: Professional Educator

2 Year Reinstatement Kindergarten-Primary (K-3) License

: Professional Educator

2 Year Reinstatement Middle Childhood (4-9) License

: Professional Educator

2 Year Reinstatement Middle School (4-9) License

: Professional Educator

2 Year Reinstatement Multi Age (P-12) License

: Professional Educator

2 Year Reinstatement Prekindergarten License

: Professional Educator

2 Year Reinstatement Prekindergarten Associate License

: Professional Educator

2 Year Reinstatement Primary (PreK-5) License

: Professional Educator

2 Year Reinstatement Special All Grades (K-12) License

: Professional Educator

2 Year Reinstatement Vocational Education License

: Senior Professional Educator

5 Year Senior Professional Educator Adolescence to Young Adult (7-12) License

: Senior Professional Educator

5 Year Senior Professional Educator Career Technical (4-12) License
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: Senior Professional Educator

5 Year Senior Professional Educator Comprehensive High School (7-12) License
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4: Senior Professional Educator 5 Year Senior Professional Educator Early Childhood (P-3) License

4: Senior Professional Educator 5 Year Senior Professional Educator Early Childhood Intervention Specialist (P-3) License
4: Senior Professional Educator 5 Year Senior Professional Educator Education of the Handicapped (K-12) License

4: Senior Professional Educator 5 Year Senior Professional Educator Elementary (1-8) License

4: Senior Professional Educator 5 Year Senior Professional Educator High School (7-12) License

4: Senior Professional Educator 5 Year Senior Professional Educator Intervention Specialist (K-12) License

4: Senior Professional Educator 5 Year Senior Professional Educator Kindergarten-Elementary (K-8) License

4: Senior Professional Educator 5 Year Senior Professional Educator Kindergarten-Primary (K-3) License

4: Senior Professional Educator 5 Year Senior Professional Educator Middle Childhood (4-9) License

4: Senior Professional Educator 5 Year Senior Professional Educator Middle School (4-9) License

4: Senior Professional Educator 5 Year Senior Professional Educator Multi Age (P-12) License

4: Senior Professional Educator 5 Year Senior Professional Educator Prekindergarten License

4: Senior Professional Educator 5 Year Senior Professional Educator Special All Grades (K-12) License

4: Senior Professional Educator 5 Year Senior Professional Educator Vocational Education License

4: Senior Professional Educator 5 Year Senior Professional Educator Early Childhood (Grades P-3) License

4: Senior Professional Educator 5 Year Senior Professional Educator Adolescence to Young Adult (Grades 7-12) License
4: Senior Professional Educator 5 Year Senior Professional Educator Designated Subject (4-12) License

4: Senior Professional Educator 5 Year Senior Professional Educator Designated Subject (Grades K-12) License

4: Senior Professional Educator 5 Year Senior Professional Educator Primary (PreK-5) License

4: Senior Professional Educator 5 Year Senior Professional Educator Primary Intervention Specialist (PreK-5) License
5: Adult Education 1 Year Adult Education Adult Education Permit

5: Adult Education 1 Year Temporary Adult Education License

5: Adult Education 4 Year Adult Education Adult Education Permit

6: Career-Tech Workforce Development 5 Year Professional Career Technical Workforce Development License

6: Career-Tech Workforce Development 5 Year Advanced Career Technical Workforce Development License

7: Initial Career-Tech 2 Year Provisional Career Technical Workforce Development License

8: Alternative Administrative 1 Year Alternative Administrative Administrative Specialist License

8: Alternative Administrative 1 Year Alternative Administrative Superintendent License

8: Alternative Administrative 2 Year Alternative Administrative Superintendent License
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8: Alternative Administrative

2 Year Alternative Administrative Administrative Specialist License

9: Alternative Principal

1 Year Alternative Administrative Principal License

11: Administrator

2 Year Provisional Administrative Specialist License

11: Administrator

2 Year Provisional EAS - Education of Exceptional Pupils License

11: Administrator

2 Year Provisional EAS - Educational Personnel License

11: Administrator

2 Year Provisional EAS - Educational Research License

11: Administrator

2 Year Provisional EAS - Educational Staff Personnel Administration License

11: Administrator

2 Year Provisional EAS - Instructional Services License

11: Administrator

2 Year Provisional Principal License

11: Administrator

2 Year Provisional EAS - Pupil Personnel Administration License

11: Administrator

2 Year Provisional EAS - School-Community Relations License

11: Administrator

2 Year Provisional EAS - Vocational Director License

11: Administrator

5 Year Professional Administrative Specialist License

11: Administrator

5 Year Professional Assistant Superintendent License

11: Administrator

5 Year Professional EAS - Vocational Supervisor License

11: Administrator

5 Year Professional EAS - Educational Personnel License

11: Administrator

5 Year Professional Elementary Principal (K-8) License

11: Administrator

5 Year Professional High School Principal (7-12) License

11: Administrator

5 Year Professional Local Superintendent License

11: Administrator

5 Year Professional MRDD Principal License

11: Administrator

5 Year Professional MRDD Supervisor License

11: Administrator

5 Year Professional Middle School Principal (4-9) License

11: Administrator

5 Year Professional Principal License

11: Administrator

5 Year Professional Reading Supervisor License

11: Administrator

5 Year Professional Superintendent License

11: Administrator

5 Year Professional Supervisor License

11: Administrator

1 Year Temporary Administrative Specialist License

11: Administrator

1 Year Temporary Principal License

11: Administrator

1 Year Temporary Superintendent License
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11:

Administrator

5 Year Professional EAS - Education of Exceptional Pupils License

11:

Administrator

5 Year Professional EAS - Educational Research License

11:

Administrator

5 Year Professional EAS - Educational Staff Personnel Administration License

11:

Administrator

5 Year Professional EAS - Instructional Services License

11:

Administrator

5 Year Professional EAS - School-Community Relations License

11:

Administrator

5 Year Professional EAS - Vocational Director License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Provisional Elementary Principal (K-8) License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Provisional Superintendent License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Provisional Supervisor License

11:

Administrator

Permanent Permanent Administrative Specialist Certificate

11:

Administrator

Permanent Permanent Assistant Superintendent Certificate

11:

Administrator

Permanent Permanent EAS - Educational Research Certificate

11:

Administrator

Permanent Permanent EAS - Educational Staff Personnel Administration Certificate

11:

Administrator

Permanent Permanent Elementary Principal (K-8) Certificate

11:

Administrator

Permanent Permanent EAS - Exceptional Pupil Certificate

11:

Administrator

Permanent Permanent High School Principal (7-12) Certificate

11:

Administrator

Permanent Permanent EAS - Instructional Services Certificate

11:

Administrator

Permanent Permanent Local Superintendent Certificate

11:

Administrator

Permanent Permanent MRDD Principal Certificate

11:

Administrator

Permanent Permanent Middle School Principal (4-9) Certificate

11:

Administrator

Permanent Permanent Personnel Administration Certificate

11:

Administrator

Permanent Permanent EAS - Pupil Personnel Administration Certificate

11:

Administrator

Permanent Permanent Reading Supervisor Certificate

11:

Administrator

Permanent Permanent EAS - School-Community Relations Certificate

11:

Administrator

Permanent Permanent Superintendent Certificate

11:

Administrator

Permanent Permanent Supervisor Certificate

11:

Administrator

Permanent Permanent EAS - Vocational Director Certificate

11:

Administrator

Permanent Permanent Vocational Supervisor Certificate

11:

Administrator

5 Year Professional EAS - Business Management License
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11:

Administrator

5 Year Professional EAS - Exceptional Pupil License

11:

Administrator

5 Year Professional Personnel Administration License

11:

Administrator

5 Year Professional EAS - Pupil Personnel Administration License

11:

Administrator

5 Year Professional Vocational Supervisor License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Temporary Elementary Principal (K-8) License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Temporary EAS - Exceptional Pupil License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Temporary EAS - Instructional Services License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Temporary MRDD Supervisor License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Temporary EAS - Pupil Personnel Administration License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Temporary Supervisor License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Reinstatement Administrative Specialist License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Reinstatement Principal License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Reinstatement Superintendent License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Reinstatement School Business Manager License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Reinstatement EAS - Educational Research License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Reinstatement EAS - Educational Staff Personnel Administration License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Reinstatement EAS - Instructional Services License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Reinstatement EAS - Pupil Personnel Administration License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Reinstatement EAS - School-Community Relations License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Reinstatement EAS - Vocational Director License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Reinstatement Supervisor License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Reinstatement Vocational Supervisor License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Reinstatement Elementary Principal (K-8) License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Reinstatement Middle School Principal (4-9) License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Reinstatement High School Principal (7-12) License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Reinstatement Assistant Superintendent License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Reinstatement Local Superintendent License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Reinstatement Reading Supervisor License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Reinstatement MRDD Supervisor License
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11:

Administrator

1 Year Reinstatement MRDD Principal License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Reinstatement EAS - Educational Personnel License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Reinstatement EAS - Exceptional Pupil License

11:

Administrator

1 Year Reinstatement Personnel Administration License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Reinstatement Administrative Specialist License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Reinstatement Assistant Superintendent License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Reinstatement EAS - Educational Personnel License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Reinstatement EAS - Educational Research License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Reinstatement EAS - Educational Staff Personnel Administration License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Reinstatement EAS - Exceptional Pupil License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Reinstatement EAS - Instructional Services License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Reinstatement EAS - Pupil Personnel Administration License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Reinstatement EAS - School-Community Relations License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Reinstatement EAS - Vocational Director License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Reinstatement Elementary Principal (K-8) License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Reinstatement High School Principal (7-12) License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Reinstatement Local Superintendent License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Reinstatement Middle School Principal (4-9) License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Reinstatement MRDD Principal License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Reinstatement MRDD Supervisor License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Reinstatement Personnel Administration License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Reinstatement Principal License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Reinstatement Reading Supervisor License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Reinstatement Superintendent License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Reinstatement Supervisor License

11:

Administrator

2 Year Reinstatement Vocational Supervisor License

12:

School Business Manager

5 Year School Business Manager School Business Manager License

12:

School Business Manager

1 Year Temporary EAS - Business Management License

12:

School Business Manager

1 Year Temporary School Business Manager License
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12: School Business Manager 2 Year Reinstatement School Business Manager License
13: School Treasurer 5 Year School Treasurer School Treasurer License
13: School Treasurer 1 Year Reinstatement School Treasurer License
13: School Treasurer 2 Year Reinstatement School Treasurer License
14: Associate 5 Year Associate N/A License

14: Associate 5 Year Associate Prekindergarten License

14: Associate 1 Year Temporary Associate License

14: Associate 5 Year Professional Associate License

14: Associate 5 Year Associate Associate License

14: Associate 1 Year Reinstatement Associate License

14: Associate 2 Year Reinstatement Associate License

15: Educational Aide 1 Year Educational Aide Student Monitor Permit

15:

Educational Aide

1 Year Educational Aide Educational Aide Permit

15:

Educational Aide

4 Year Educational Aide Educational Aide Permit

15:

Educational Aide

4 Year Educational Aide Technologist Permit

15:

Educational Aide

4 Year Educational Aide Student Monitor Permit

15:

Educational Aide

1 Year Student Monitor Aide Student Monitor Permit

17:

Pupil Services

2 Year Provisional Pupil Services License*

17

: Pupil Services

5 Year Professional Pupil Services License*

17:

Pupil Services

1 Year Temporary Pupil Services License*

17:

Pupil Services

Permanent Permanent Occupational Therapist Certificate

17:

Pupil Services

Permanent Permanent Physical Therapist Certificate

17:

Pupil Services

Permanent Permanent School Audiologist Certificate

17:

Pupil Services

Permanent Permanent School Counselor Certificate

17:

Pupil Services

Permanent Permanent School Nurse Certificate

17:

Pupil Services

Permanent Permanent School Psychologist Certificate

17:

Pupil Services

Permanent Permanent School Social Worker Certificate

17:

Pupil Services

Permanent Permanent Visiting Teacher Certificate

17:

Pupil Services

5 Year Professional Occupational Therapist License
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17:

Pupil Services

5 Year Professional Physical Therapist License

17:

Pupil Services

5 Year Professional School Audiologist License

17:

Pupil Services

5 Year Professional School Counselor License

17:

Pupil Services

5 Year Professional School Nurse License

17:

Pupil Services

5 Year Professional School Psychologist License

17:

Pupil Services

5 Year Professional School Social Worker License

17:

Pupil Services

1 Year Temporary Occupational Therapist License

17:

Pupil Services

1 Year Temporary School Audiologist License

17:

Pupil Services

1 Year Temporary School Counselor License

17:

Pupil Services

1 Year Temporary School Nurse License

17:

Pupil Services

1 Year Temporary School Psychologist License

17:

Pupil Services

5 Year Pupil Services Occupational Therapist Registration

17:

Pupil Services

5 Year Pupil Services Physical Therapist Registration

17:

Pupil Services

5 Year Pupil Services Audiologist Registration

17:

Pupil Services

5 Year Pupil Services Nurse Registration

17:

Pupil Services

5 Year Pupil Services Social Worker Registration

17:

Pupil Services

5 Year Pupil Services Occupational Therapy Assistant Registration

17:

Pupil Services

5 Year Pupil Services Physical Therapy Assistant Registration

17:

Pupil Services

1 Year Reinstatement Pupil Services License*

17:

Pupil Services

1 Year Reinstatement School Counselor License

17:

Pupil Services

1 Year Reinstatement School Psychologist License

17:

Pupil Services

2 Year Reinstatement Pupil Services License*

17:

Pupil Services

2 Year Reinstatement School Counselor License

17:

Pupil Services

2 Year Reinstatement School Psychologist License

18:

Speech-Language Pathologist

Permanent Permanent School Speech-Language Pathologist Certificate

18:

Speech-Language Pathologist

1 Year Substitute School Speech-Language Pathologist Certificate

18:

Speech-Language Pathologist

5 Year Professional School Speech-Language Pathologist License

18:

Speech-Language Pathologist

1 Year Temporary School Speech-Language Pathologist License

18:

Speech-Language Pathologist

5 Year Pupil Services Speech Language Pathologist Registration
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18:

Speech-Language Pathologist

2 Year Provisional Pupil Services License**

18:

Speech-Language Pathologist

5 Year Professional Pupil Services License**

18:

Speech-Language Pathologist

1 Year Temporary Pupil Services License**

18:

Speech-Language Pathologist

1 Year Reinstatement Pupil Services License**

18:

Speech-Language Pathologist

2 Year Reinstatement Pupil Services License**

20:

40 Hour STEM

1 Year 40 Hour STEM School Teaching Multi Age (P-12) Permit

20:

40 Hour STEM

1 Year 40 Hour STEM School Teaching Adolescence to Young Adult (7-12) Permit

20:

40 Hour STEM

1 Year 40 Hour STEM School Teaching Middle Childhood (4-9) Permit

20:

40 Hour STEM

1 Year 40 Hour Industry-Recognized Credential Career Technical Workforce Development
Permit

21:

Temporary Military Science

1 Year Temporary Military Science License

22:

12 Hour Teaching

1 Year 12 Hour Teaching Adolescence to Young Adult (7-12) Permit

22:

12 Hour Teaching

1 Year 12 Hour Teaching Middle Childhood (4-9) Permit

22:

12 Hour Teaching

1 Year 12 Hour Teaching Multi Age (P-12) Permit

22:

12 Hour Teaching

1 Year 12 Hour Teaching Adult Education Permit

22:

12 Hour Teaching

1 Year 12 Hour Teaching Career Technical (4-12) Permit

22:

12 Hour Teaching

1 Year 12 Hour Teaching Early Childhood (P-3) Permit

22:

12 Hour Teaching

1 Year 12 Hour Teaching Education of the Handicapped (K-12) Permit

22:

12 Hour Teaching

1 Year 12 Hour Teaching Elementary (1-8) Permit

22:

12 Hour Teaching

1 Year 12 Hour Teaching High School (7-12) Permit

22:

12 Hour Teaching

1 Year 12 Hour Teaching Intervention Specialist (K-12) Permit

22:

12 Hour Teaching

1 Year 12 Hour Teaching Kindergarten-Elementary (K-8) Permit

22:

12 Hour Teaching

1 Year 12 Hour Teaching Kindergarten-Primary (K-3) Permit

22:

12 Hour Teaching

1 Year 12 Hour Teaching Middle School (4-9) Permit

22:

12 Hour Teaching

1 Year 12 Hour Teaching Occupational Therapist Permit

22:

12 Hour Teaching

1 Year 12 Hour Teaching Pupil Services Permit

22:

12 Hour Teaching

1 Year 12 Hour Teaching Special All Grades (K-12) Permit

22:

12 Hour Teaching

1 Year 12 Hour Teaching Vocational Education Permit

23:

Out of State Educator

1 Year Out of State Educator High School (7-12) License
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23:

Out of State Educator

1 Year Out of State Educator Early Childhood (P-3) License

23:

Out of State Educator

1 Year Out of State Educator Early Childhood Intervention Specialist (P-3) License

23:

Out of State Educator

1 Year Out of State Educator Intervention Specialist (K-12) License

23:

Out of State Educator

1 Year Out of State Educator Middle Childhood (4-9) License

23:

Out of State Educator

1 Year Out of State Educator Multi Age (P-12) License

23:

Out of State Educator

1 Year Out of State Educator Career Technical (4-12) License

23:

Out of State Educator

1 Year Out of State Educator Adolescence to Young Adult (7-12) License

23:

Out of State Educator

1 Year Out of State Educator Adolescence to Young Adult (Grades 7-12) License

23:

Out of State Educator

1 Year Out of State Educator Primary (PreK-5) License

23:

Out of State Educator

1 Year Out of State Educator Primary Intervention Specialist (PreK-5) License

24

Visiting International

3 Year Visiting International Teacher Adolescence to Young Adult (7-12) License

24:

Visiting International

3 Year Visiting International Teacher Career Technical (4-12) License

24

Visiting International

3 Year Visiting International Teacher Early Childhood (P-3) License

24:

Visiting International

3 Year Visiting International Teacher Early Childhood Intervention Specialist (P-3) License

24

Visiting International

3 Year Visiting International Teacher High School (7-12) License

24:

Visiting International

3 Year Visiting International Teacher Intervention Specialist (K-12) License

24:

Visiting International

3 Year Visiting International Teacher Middle Childhood (4-9) License

24:

Visiting International

3 Year Visiting International Teacher Multi Age (P-12) License

24:

Visiting International

3 Year Visiting International Teacher Primary (PreK-5) License

24:

Visiting International

3 Year Visiting International Teacher Primary Intervention Specialist (PreK-5) License

25:

Pre-Service Teacher

1 Year Pre-Service Teacher Permit

25: Pre-Service Teacher 3 Year Pre-Service Teacher Permit

26: Substitute 1 Year Short Term Substitute N/A License

26: Substitute 5 Year Short Term Substitute N/A License

26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute Adolescence to Young Adult (7-12) License
26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute Associate License

26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute Career Technical (4-12) License

26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute Early Childhood (P-3) License

26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute Elementary (1-8) License
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26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute High School (7-12) License

26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute Intervention Specialist (K-12) License

26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute Kindergarten-Elementary (K-8) License

26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute Kindergarten-Primary (K-3) License

26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute Middle Childhood (4-9) License

26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute Multi Age (P-12) License

26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute Prekindergarten License

26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute Pupil Services License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute Adolescence to Young Adult (7-12) License
26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute Associate License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute Career Technical (4-12) License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute Early Childhood (P-3) License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute Elementary (1-8) License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute High School (7-12) License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute Intervention Specialist (K-12) License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute Kindergarten-Elementary (K-8) License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute Kindergarten-Primary (K-3) License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute Middle Childhood (4-9) License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute Multi Age (P-12) License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute Prekindergarten License

26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute EAS - Business Management License

26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute Comprehensive High School (7-12) License
26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute Early Childhood Intervention Specialist (P-3) License
26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute Education of the Handicapped (K-12) License
26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute Elementary Principal (K-8) License

26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute General Education License

26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute MRDD Principal License

26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute Middle School (4-9) License

26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute Occupational Therapist License
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26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute Physical Therapist License

26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute Reading Supervisor License

26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute School Counselor License

26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute School Nurse License

26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute Special All Grades (K-12) License

26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute Superintendent License

26: Substitute 1 Year Long Term Substitute Vocational Education License

26: Substitute 1 Year Short Term Substitute Adolescence to Young Adult (7-12) License
26: Substitute 1 Year Short Term Substitute General Education License

26: Substitute 1 Year Short Term Substitute EAS - Instructional Services License
26: Substitute 1 Year Short Term Substitute Intervention Specialist (K-12) License
26: Substitute 1 Year Short Term Substitute Personnel Administration License
26: Substitute 1 Year Substitute Adolescence to Young Adult (7-12) Certificate
26: Substitute 1 Year Substitute Adult Education Certificate

26: Substitute 1 Year Substitute EAS - Business Management Certificate

26: Substitute 1 Year Substitute Comprehensive High School (7-12) Certificate
26: Substitute 1 Year Substitute Education of the Handicapped (K-12) Certificate
26: Substitute 1 Year Substitute Elementary (1-8) Certificate

26: Substitute 1 Year Substitute High School (7-12) Certificate

26: Substitute 1 Year Substitute Intervention Specialist (K-12) Certificate

26: Substitute 1 Year Substitute Kindergarten-Elementary (K-8) Certificate

26: Substitute 1 Year Substitute Kindergarten-Primary (K-3) Certificate

26: Substitute 1 Year Substitute Middle School (4-9) Certificate

26: Substitute 1 Year Substitute Multi Age (P-12) Certificate

26: Substitute 1 Year Substitute Prekindergarten Certificate

26: Substitute 1 Year Substitute Pupil Services Certificate

26: Substitute 1 Year Substitute School Counselor Certificate

26: Substitute 1 Year Substitute School Nurse Certificate

26: Substitute 1 Year Substitute Special All Grades (K-12) Certificate
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26: Substitute 1 Year Substitute Tutor Certificate

26: Substitute 1 Year Substitute Vocational Education Certificate

26: Substitute 1 Year Substitute Vocational Supervisor Certificate

26: Substitute 5 Year Short Term Substitute Adolescence to Young Adult (7-12) License
26: Substitute 5 Year Short Term Substitute Early Childhood (P-3) License

26: Substitute 5 Year Short Term Substitute General Education License

26: Substitute 5 Year Short Term Substitute Middle Childhood (4-9) License

26: Substitute 5 Year Short Term Substitute Multi Age (P-12) License

26: Substitute 5 Year Short Term Substitute School Counselor License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute Administrative Specialist License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute Assistant Superintendent License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute Comprehensive High School (7-12) License
26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute Early Childhood Intervention Specialist (P-3) License
26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute Education of the Handicapped (K-12) License
26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute General Education License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute EAS - Instructional Services License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute MRDD Principal License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute Middle School (4-9) License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute Principal License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute Pupil Services License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute School Counselor License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute School Nurse License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute School Psychologist License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute Special All Grades (K-12) License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute Superintendent License

26: Substitute 5 Year Long Term Substitute Vocational Education License

26: Substitute 1 Year Substitute Pupil Services License

26: Substitute 5 Year Substitute Pupil Services License

26: Substitute 1 Year Substitute Multi-Age PK-12 License
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26: Substitute 5 Year Substitute Multi-Age PK-12 License

26: Substitute 1 Year Substitute Career Technical Workforce Development License
26: Substitute 5 Year Substitute Career Technical Workforce Development License
26: Substitute 1 Year Temporary Substitute Multi-Age PK-12 License

27: Nonpublic Permanent Permanent Non-Tax Certificate

27: Nonpublic Permanent Non Tax Non-Tax Certificate

27: Nonpublic Permanent Non Tax School Psychologist Certificate

27: Nonpublic Permanent Non Tax Supervisor Certificate

27: Nonpublic Permanent Non Tax N/A Certificate

27: Nonpublic Permanent Non Tax Non-Tax,Non Bachelors Certificate

27: Nonpublic Permanent Non Tax Non-Chartered,Non-Tax Supported School Certificate
28: Pupil Activity 3 Year Pupil Activity N/A Permit

28: Pupil Activity 4 Year Pupil Activity N/A Permit

28: Pupil Activity 5 Year Pupil Activity N/A Permit

29: Supplemental 1 Year Supplemental Adolescence to Young Adult (7-12) License

29:

Supplemental

1 Year Supplemental Career Technical (4-12) License

29:

Supplemental

1 Year Supplemental Early Childhood (P-3) License

29:

Supplemental

1 Year Supplemental Early Childhood Intervention Specialist (P-3) License

29:

Supplemental

1 Year Supplemental Intervention Specialist (K-12) License

29:

Supplemental

1 Year Supplemental Middle Childhood (4-9) License

29:

Supplemental

1 Year Supplemental Multi Age (P-12) License

29:

Supplemental

1 Year Supplemental High School (7-12) License

29:

Supplemental

1 Year Supplemental Elementary (1-8) License

29:

Supplemental

1 Year Supplemental Special All Grades (K-12) License

29:

Supplemental

1 Year Supplemental Kindergarten-Elementary (K-8) License

29:

Supplemental

1 Year Supplemental Kindergarten-Primary (K-3) License

29:

Supplemental

1 Year Supplemental Comprehensive High School (7-12) License

29:

Supplemental

1 Year Supplemental Education of the Handicapped (K-12) License

29:

Supplemental

1 Year Supplemental Career Technical Workforce Development License
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29:

Supplemental

1 Year Supplemental Adolescence to Young Adult (Grades 7-12) License

29:

Supplemental

1 Year Supplemental Early Childhood (Grades P-3) License

29:

Supplemental

1 Year Supplemental Prekindergarten License

29:

Supplemental

1 Year Supplemental Vocational Education License

29:

Supplemental

1 Year Supplemental Designated Subject (Grades K-12) License

29:

Supplemental

1 Year Supplemental Middle School (4-9) License

29:

Supplemental

1 Year Supplemental Designated Subject (4-12) License

29:

Supplemental

1 Year Supplemental Primary (PreK-5) License

29: Supplemental 1 Year Supplemental Primary Intervention Specialist (PreK-5) License
29: Supplemental 1 Year Supplemental Montessori (PK-12) License

99: Other 1 Year Temporary Career Technical (4-12) License

99: Other 1 Year Temporary Early Childhood (P-3) License

99: Other 1 Year Temporary Early Childhood Intervention Specialist (P-3) License
99: Other 1 Year Temporary Intervention Specialist (K-12) License

99: Other 1 Year Temporary Middle Childhood (4-9) License

99: Other 1 Year Temporary Multi Age (P-12) License

99: Other 2 Year Alternative Educator Adolescence to Young Adult (7-12) License
99: Other 2 Year Alternative Educator Intervention Specialist (K-12) License
99: Other 1 Year Temporary Comprehensive High School (7-12) License

99: Other 1 Year Temporary Education of the Handicapped (K-12) License

99: Other 1 Year Temporary Elementary (1-8) License

99: Other 1 Year Temporary High School (7-12) License

99: Other 1 Year Temporary Kindergarten-Elementary (K-8) License

99: Other 1 Year Temporary Kindergarten-Primary (K-3) License

99: Other 1 Year Temporary Middle School (4-9) License

99: Other 1 Year Temporary Prekindergarten License

99: Other 1 Year Temporary Prekindergarten Associate License

99: Other 1 Year Temporary Special All Grades (K-12) License

99: Other 1 Year Temporary Vocational Education License
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99: Other 1 Year Interim Adolescence to Young Adult (7-12) License

99: Other 1 Year Interim Associate License

99: Other 1 Year Interim Career Technical (4-12) License

99: Other 1 Year Interim Early Childhood (P-3) License

99: Other 1 Year Interim Early Childhood Intervention Specialist (P-3) License
99: Other 1 Year Interim Elementary (1-8) License

99: Other 1 Year Interim High School (7-12) License

99: Other 1 Year Interim Intervention Specialist (K-12) License

99: Other 1 Year Interim Kindergarten-Elementary (K-8) License

99: Other 1 Year Interim Middle Childhood (4-9) License

99: Other 1 Year Interim Multi Age (P-12) License

99: Other 1 Year Interim Pupil Services License

99: Other 1 Year Interim Adult Education License

99: Other 2 Year Alternative Educator Adolescence to Young Adult (Grades 7-12) License
99: Other 1 Year Interim Early Childhood (Grades P-3) License

99: Other 1 Year Interim Adolescence to Young Adult (Grades 7-12) License
99: Other 1 Year Interim Career Technical Workforce Development License
99: Other 1 Year Interim Designated Subject (4-12) License

99: Other 1 Year Interim Designated Subject (Grades K-12) License

99: Other 1 Year Instructional Assistant Instructional Assistant Permit

99: Other 1 Year Interim Multi-Age PK-12 License

99: Other 1 Year Temporary Adolescence to Young Adult (7-12) License

99: Other 1 Year Temporary Alternative Intervention Specialist (K-12) License
99: Other 1 Year Temporary Alternative Multi Age (P-12) License

99: Other 1 Year Temporary Alternative Designated Subject (Grades K-12) License
99: Other 1 Year Temporary Interim Early Childhood (P-3) License

99: Other 1 Year Temporary Interim Multi-Age PK-12 License

99: Other 1 Year Temporary Primary (PreK-5) License

99: Other 1 Year Temporary Primary Intervention Specialist (PreK-5) License

Page |443

Occupational Regulation




99: Other 3 Year Temporary Military Duty Administrative Specialist License

99: Other 3 Year Temporary Military Duty Adolescence to Young Adult (7-12) License
99: Other 3 Year Temporary Military Duty Career Technical (4-12) License

99: Other 3 Year Temporary Military Duty Intervention Specialist (K-12) License

99: Other 3 Year Temporary Military Duty Middle Childhood (4-9) License

99: Other 3 Year Temporary Military Duty Multi Age (P-12) License

99: Other 3 Year Temporary Military Duty Primary (PreK-5) License

99: Other 3 Year Temporary Military Duty Primary Intervention Specialist (PreK-5) License
99: Other 3 Year Temporary Military Duty Principal License

99: Other 3 Year Temporary Military Duty Pupil Services License

99: Other 3 Year Temporary Military Duty Superintendent License

99: Other 1 Year Coordinating Service Center Tutor Registration

*Does not include Speech-Language Pathologists
**Includes Speech-Language Pathologists
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