OHIO DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
General information (DOH)

The Ohio Department of Health (ODH) is a cabinet-level agency. The Ohio Department of Health’s mission is advancing the health and well-
being of all Ohioans.

Membership (Current members, chairperson and other officers, and selection process.)

The Ohio Department of Health Director reports to the governor.

Budget (Current budget, description of budgeting process, sources of funding, and expected increases or decreases in budget or funding in

future years.)

Total budget appropriations: $1.03 billion in FY 2024 and $846.8 million in FY 2025. GRF appropriations are $92.4 million in FY 2024 and $94.1
million in FY 2025. (HB 33 Greenbook)
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Workload (Assess current, past, and anticipated workload. Has the workload increased or decreased significantly in the preceding six years?)

Significant workload, including pandemic response.

Staffing (How many staff are currently employed by the Department? What are their roles? Are staffing levels proportionate to the

Department's current and anticipated workload?)

Full Time Perm: 1350

Part Time Perm: 152

Administrative hearings and public complaints (Describe the Department's processes for administering discipline and addressing complaints.

Assess the efficiency of the processes.)

Included in some of the professions below, ODH holds hearings under Chapter 119.
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Clearance technician
Survey response (DOH)

Clearance technician means a person, other than a licensed lead inspector or lead risk assessor, who performs a clearance examination
following non-abatement work.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License.

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 90

Number renewed annually 52

Page | 526 Occupational Regulation



If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Have there been significant increases or Increase.
decreases in active registrations,

certifications or licenses in the preceding

six years?

Education or training requirements 7.2 hours.
Experience requirements N/A

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Department receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

Yes, the exam is administered by a 3™ party vendor and is competitively bid.
Fee: $70 to the vendor. No exam fees go to ODH.

For lead license types, ODH has been subsidizing exam fees if individuals apply for the funding.

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Continuing education requirement is 4 hours every 4 years.
Rule:

(a) An overview of current safety practices relating to lead activities in general, as well as specific
information pertaining to the appropriate discipline;

(b) An update on current laws and regulations relating to lead activities in general, as well as
specific information pertaining to the appropriate discipline; and

(c) An update on current technologies related to lead activities in general, as well as specific
information pertaining to the appropriate discipline;
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Initial fee $250
Duration 2 years
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, $250
please explain why.)

Does the Department recognize uniform Yes.
licensure requirements or allow for

reciprocity?

Are there any similar national No.
registrations, certifications, or licenses?

Could they be used as a substitute for the

state regulation?

Are there any circumstances in which an No.

individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Department?

Is the Department permitted to exercise
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Yes, ODH could refuse to issue or renew a license. This would include reviewing history for non-
compliance/enforcement issue history. Not renewing a license would mean an opportunity for a
hearing under Chapter 119.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

ORC 3742/0AC 3701-32

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal

fees)? How is that revenue used?

$23,000. The revenue is used to administer the lead licensure and accreditation program.
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Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

Title IV Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA), 40 CFR Part 745. Ohio is authorized by the US EPA to implement the lead licensure and
accreditation program. If ODH does not enforce the regulation the regulation will revert to implementation by the US EPA.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

Childhood lead poisoning. Lead can damage nearly every system in the human body and has harmful effects on both adults and children.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

Yes, the regulation is effective at preventing childhood lead poisoning.
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Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?

Not at this time.

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of July 30, 2024)

Clearance Technician

Type of regulation | License License License License No clear No clear
(Name of (Clearance (Clearance (Lead dust (Clearance equivalent equivalent
regulation) technician license) | examiner license) | sampling technician
(R.C. 3742.02) (Ind. Code 16-41- tec??'c'i”) certificate)
39.8-3) certificate (Mich. Comp. Laws
(Ky. Rev. Stat. 333.5461 and
211.9063) 333.5468)
Education or Not more than six | Five training Eight training High school N/A N/A
training training hours hours that follows | hours diploma or
;:\IeAs‘s certlfled by 'Iczhe.U.S. o (Ky. Rev. Stat. eqwl/atlhent or
e American nV|ron.men a 211.9063; 902 Ky. mee ' e
Board of Protection Agency Admin. Regs experience
Industrial Hygiene | (USEPA)-approved 48'026 and ' requirements
as a certified Lead Sampling 48.'030) described below
industrial Technician ' .
T o Eight-hour core
hygienist or training course .
) ; lead basics course
industrial
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Clearance Technician

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

hygienist-in-
training or
registered as an
environmental
health specialist
or environmental
health specialist
in training

(R.C. 3742.03)

Two-hour rules
awareness course,
if the lead-based
paint training
course is not
Indiana-approved

(Ind. Code 16-41-
39.8-3;410 Ind.
Admin. Code 32-2-
3 and 32-3-3)

Eight-hour
clearance
technician
training course

(Mich. Comp. Laws
333.5468; Mich.
Admin. Code R.
325.99205,
325.99210, and
325.99302)

Experience

N/A

N/A

N/A

One year of
experience in a
related field, if no
high school
diploma or
equivalent

(Mich. Comp. Laws
333.5468; Mich.
Admin. Code R.
325.99302)

N/A

N/A

Exam

Yes

(R.C. 3742.05 and
3742.08)

Yes

(Ind. Code 16-41-
39.8-3)

Yes

(Ky. Rev. Stat.

211.9063; 902 Ky.

Admin. Regs.
48:020 and
48:030)

Yes

(Mich. Comp. Laws
333.5468)

N/A

N/A
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Clearance Technician

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Continuing Not more than a Approved Four-hour Eight-hour N/A N/A
education two-hour refresher training | refresher course refresher course
refresher training | course (no covering the same | covering the same
program on minimum hours topics as the topics as the
current safety specified) initial course and | initial course and
practices, Iaws., (Ind. Code 16-41- curre.nt safety curre.nt safety
and technologies ] practices, laws, practices, laws,
jating to lead | 5.0 410 Ind. d technologi d technologi
FE? |‘n‘g olea Admin. Code 32-2- | @" _ec nologies | an _ec nologies
activities every 5) relating to lead- relating to lead-
four years hazard activities based paint
(R.C. 3742.03; (Ky. Rev. Stat. activities
0.A.C. 3701-82- 211.9063; 902 Ky. | (Mich. Admin.
01.3) Admin. Regs. Code R.
48:020 and 325.99212 and
48:030) 325.99304)
Initial licensure $250 $150 $50 application $25 initial N/A N/A
fee (R.C. 3742.03; (ind. Code 16-41- | fe@ Plus $100 fee af’p";:g"” fee
0.A.C.3701-32- | 39.8-6;410Ind. | (Ky. Rev. Stat. P ”:_ 7 t,perfyear
04) Admin. Code 32-2- | 211.9067; 902 Ky, | C€rtihcationtee
9) Admin. Regs. (Mich. Comp. Laws
48:020) 333.5471)
License duration Two years Three years Two years Three years N/A N/A

(R.C. 3742.05)

(Ind. Code 16-41-
39.8-3)

(902 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 48:020)

(Mich. Comp. Laws
333.5468)
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Clearance Technician

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Renewal fee $250 $150 $100 S50 per year N/A N/A
(R.C. 3742.05; (Ind. Code 16-41- | (Ky. Rev. Stat. (Mich. Comp. Laws
0.A.C. 3701-32- 39.8-6; 410 Ind. 211.9067; 902 Ky. | 333.5471)
04) Admin. Code 32-2- | Admin. Regs.
9) 48:020)

Environmental health specialists in training and registered environmental health specialist

Survey response (DOH)

Registered environmental health specialist (REHS) / specialist in training (EHSIT) means a person who performs for compensation educational,
investigational, technical, or administrative duties requiring specialized knowledge and skills in the field of environmental health science.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

Registration.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually

For the period of 7/1/2023 - 6/30/2024: 156 EHSIT & 64 REHS.

Number renewed annually

For the period of 7/1/2023 - 6/30/2024: 78 EHSIT & 790 REHS.

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

No.

Education or training requirements

Bachelor’s degree / ORC 3776.05.

Experience requirements

2 Years under REHS or 1 Year under REHS with master's degree / ORC 3776.05.

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Department receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

The exam is administered by ODH. The National Environmental Health Administration (NEHA) is
the vendor we use to provide the exam for all candidates. The fee for the exam is $280/attempt
and that fee is determined by NEHA. ODH charges a total of $330 for the exam, and any revenue
that is collected on top of the fee charged by NEHA is to pay staff salary for processing time.
Reference: ORC 3776.06.

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

All registrants are required to complete at least 24 hours of approved continuing education
during the renewal period.

Initial fee

REHS: $100 / EHSIT: S50.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Duration

2-year registration.

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)

REHS: $75 / EHSIT: $35 / Late fee: $75. Renewal fees were lowered as part of legislation that was
passed in 2023.

Does the Department recognize uniform No.
licensure requirements or allow for

reciprocity?

Are there any similar national No.

registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Are there any circumstances in which an
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Department?

Yes. Some local health districts utilize environmental health techs. These individuals are able to
report their observations and perform activities that do not require specialized knowledge or
skill in the field of environmental health.

Is the Department permitted to exercise
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Yes. An individual must have 30 semester hours, or 45 quarter hours completed within their
bachelor’s degree to be eligible for registration. Those hours must be science or math. ODH has
some discretion regarding the courses that will apply. / ORC 3776.05.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

ORC 3776.09

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal
fees)? How is that revenue used?

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The purpose of the environmental health specialist program is to register individuals who are educated in the practice of environmental
health science by using the educational, investigational, technical, and administrative skills they have learned in the field of environmental
health to protect the public.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

Yes. REHS/EHSITs are employed at the state and local level to oversee air quality, food quality & protection, hazardous & toxic substances,
consumer product safety, housing, institutional health & safety, radiation protection, solid & liquid waste management, vector control, milk &
drinking water quality, & rabies control. This profession has experienced reduced regulation due to legislation in 2023.

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?

Not at this time.
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of July 31, 2024)

In Ohio, an individual may be issued an environmental health specialist in training license if the individual holds a bachelor’s
degree or higher either in environmental health science or with 45 quarter units or 30 semester units of approved science courses and
pays a $50 license fee. The license is valid for four years, although the Director of Health may extend the licensing term for an additional
two years. A license holder must complete 24 hours of continuing education every two years and pay a $35 fee to renew the license.®

West Virginia issues a similar license as a sanitarian-in-training to an individual who holds a bachelor’s or higher degree and
pays a S50 license fee. The individual must complete a 300-hour sanitarian’s training course within 12 months of being hired as a
sanitarian-in-training. A sanitarian-in-training license is valid for three years. A license holder must complete 15 hours of continuing
education every year and pay a S50 fee to renew the license.?!

While Kentucky does not issue a separate license, an individual who has been issued an initial environmental health specialist
license must complete a public health training program under the direct supervision of a licensed environmental health specialist.8?

Registered Environmental Health Specialist

Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Type of regulation | License No clear License License No clear License
(Name of (Environmental equivalent (Environmental (Sanitarian equivalent (Registered
regulation) health specialist health specialist registration) sanitarian license)
cer'Fchatt.e of registration) (Mich. Comp. Laws (W. Va. Code 30-
registration) (Ky. Rev. Stat. 333.18411) 17-1)
(R.C. 3776.11) 223.080)
Education or Bachelor’s degree | N/A High school Bachelor’s degree | N/A Bachelor’s degree
training or higher either in diploma or or higher either in or higher from an
environmental equivalentand a environmental accredited school

80 R.C. 3776.05, 3776.07, and 3776.08.
81 W. Va. Code 30-17-10; W. Va. Code R. 20-4-5.
82902 Ky. Admin. Regs. 10:030.
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Registered Environmental Health Specialist

Ohio

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

health science or
with 45 quarter
units or 30
semester units of
approved science
courses

(R.C. 3776.05)

four-year degree
with either a
minor or 24
semester hours in
environmental
health, biological
science, or
physical science

(Ky. Rev. Stat.
223.030)

health or with 45
quarter hours or
30 semester
hours of science
courses and
courses in
mathematics or
statistics

(Mich. Admin.
Code R. 338.3913)

and a 300-hour
sanitarian’s
training course

(W. Va. Code 30-
17-8)

Experience

One year of full-
time employment
asan
environmental
health specialist
for an applicant
who has a
bachelor’s degree
in environmental
health science or
a higher degree or
two years of full-
time employment
asan
environmental
health specialist
for all other
applicants

N/A

N/A

4,000 hours in
planning,
developing, or
implementing
systems to
improve the
quality of
environmental
factors that affect
public health for
an applicant who
does not have a
degree in
environmental
health

(Mich. Admin.
Code R. 338.3925)

N/A

Two years of
experience in the
field of public
health sanitation
and
environmental
health science

An applicant may
substitute a
master’s or higher
degree in public
health,
environmental
science, sanitary
science,
community
hygiene, or
another science
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Registered Environmental Health Specialist

Ohio

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

(R.C. 3776.05)

field for one year
of experience

(W. Va. Code 30-
17-8; W. Va. Code
R. 20-4-3)

Exam

Yes; Registered
Environmental
Health Specialist/
Registered
Sanitarian Exam
administered by
the National
Environmental
Health
Association
(NEHA)

(R.C. 3776.06;
Ohio Dept. of
Health
Environmental
Health Specialist

Registration in
Ohio (PDF))

N/A

Yes

(Ky. Rev. Stat.
223.030)

Yes; Registered
Environmental
Health Specialist/
Registered
Sanitarian Exam
administered by
NEHA

(Mich. Admin.
Code R. 338.3923)

N/A

Yes; Registered

Sanitarian Exam
administered by
NEHA

(W. Va. Code 30-
17-8; W. Va. Code
R. 20-4-8)

Continuing
education

24 hours every
two years

(R.C. 3776.07)

N/A

Ten hours every
year

(902 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 10:030)

N/A

N/A

15 hours every
year

(W. Va. Code R.
20-4-5)
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https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/wcm/connect/gov/bfaeb1d9-bdf7-4594-9324-63758514b760/EHS%2BRegistration%2BIn%2BOhio%2B%289-22%29.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&CONVERT_TO=url&CACHEID=ROOTWORKSPACE.Z18_K9I401S01H7F40QBNJU3SO1F56-bfaeb1d9-bdf7-4594-9324-63758514b760-ofmDEwV

Registered Environmental Health Specialist

Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Initial licensure $100 (S50 if the N/A S50 $20 application N/A S50
fee ﬁpp"cagt 15 (902 Ky. Admin. plroczzsc')“g fee (W. Va. Code R.
|cef15e asan Regs. 10:030) p us per year 20-4-5)
environmental license fee
,hetalth §peC|aI|st (Mich. Comp. Laws
in training) 333.16347)
(R.C. 3776.08)
License duration Two years N/A One year Two years N/A One year
(R.C. 3776.07) (Ky. Rev. Stat. (Mich. Admin. (W. Va. Code R.
223.050) Code R. 338.3931) 20-4-5)
Renewal fee S75 N/A S20 S50 per year N/A S50
(R.C. 3776.08) (902 Ky. Admin. (Mich. Comp. Laws (W. Va. Code R.
Regs. 10:030) 333.16347) 20-4-5)

Epinephrine autoinjector certification
Survey response (DOH)

course title is “Anaphylaxis Training for Qualified Entities.” The training length is 38 minutes.

ODH offers a training for epinephrine autoinjectors. Individuals who complete the training receive a certificate showing completion. The
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

N/A. This is a 38-minute training available where a certificate of completion of the training is provided.

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually N/A

Number renewed annually N/A

Have there been significant increases or N/A
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding

six years?
Education or training requirements N/A
Experience requirements N/A
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Examination requirements (Who N/A
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Department receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

Continuing education requirements N/A
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Initial fee N/A

Duration 38 minutes

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, N/A
please explain why.)

Does the Department recognize uniform N/A
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Are there any similar national N/A
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Are there any circumstances in which an N/A
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Department?

Is the Department permitted to exercise N/A
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Other information (Significant attributes N/A
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

N/A
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal

fees)? How is that revenue used?

N/A

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

N/A

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

N/A
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

N/A

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?

N/A

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of September 3, 2024)

Epinephrine Auto-injector

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

Type of regulation

Certification

Certification

Certification

Certification

Certification

West Virginia

Certification

(Name of (Certificate to (Certificate to (Certificate to (Certificate to (Certificate to (Authorization to
regulation) administer an administer auto- administer an administer auto- administer an administer an
epinephrine auto- | injectable injectable injectable epinephrine auto- | epinephrine auto-
injector) epinephrine) epinephrine epinephrine) injector) injector)
(R.C. 3728.05) (Ind. Code 16-41- (I;Iewcehord‘l ; (Mich. Comp. Laws | (35 Pa. Cons. Stat. | (W. Va. Code 16-
43-4) ronchodiiator 333.17744d) 5503) 50-4)
rescue inhaler)
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Epinephrine Auto-injector

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

(Ky. Rev. Stat.

311.646)

Education or Training that Training in Training for Anaphylaxis Anaphylaxis Educational

training covers recognizing | recognizing recognizing the training program training program training program
severe allergic anaphylaxis and symptoms of that covers that covers that includes
reactions, properly anaphylaxis and recognizing recognizing recognizing
administering and | administering asthma and symptoms of symptoms of symptoms of
storing auto-injectable administering an allergic reactions, | allergic reactions, | allergic reactions
epinephrine auto- | epinephrine injectable storing and storing and and properly
injectors, and (Ind. Code 16-41- epir?ephrine admiljlis.tering ad.ministgring an administering a
emergency 43-4) device ora auto-injectable epinephrine auto- | subcutaneous
follow-up bronchodilator epinephrine, and | injector, and injection of
procedures rescue inhaler emergency emergency epinephrine auto-
Training may be (Ky. Rev. Stat. follow-up follow-up injector
conducted by a 311.646) procedures procedures Training must be
nationally Training must be | Training must be conducted by a
recognized conducted by a conducted by a nationally
organization nationally nationally recognized
experienced in recognized recognized organization
providing organization organization experienced in
emergency health experienced in experienced in training
care training to training training laypersons in
individuals who laypersons in laypersons in emergency health
are not health emergency health | emergency health | treatment or by
care professionals treatment or by treatment or by another approved
or by another another approved | another approved | provider
apprpved provider provider (W. Va. Code 16-
provider 50-3)
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Epinephrine Auto-injector

Ohio

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

(R.C. 3728.04) (Mich. Comp. Laws | (35 Pa. Cons. Stat.
333.17744d) 5503)
Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Exam Yes N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
(R.C. 3728.04;
Ohio Dept. of
Health,
Epinephrine
Autoinjector Use)
Continuing N/A N/A N/A Anaphylaxis N/A N/A
education training program
every two years
(Mich. Comp. Laws
333.17744d)
Initial licensure N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
fee
License duration N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Renewal fee N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
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Food protection manager certification for food service operations and person in charge
certification in food protection

Survey response (DOH)

Manager (formerly called level two) certification in food protection is a process of training and testing to assure an individual has achieved a
level of competency in skills and knowledge of food safety necessary to be certified in food protection. The Director of Health is authorized to
approve manager certification courses and course providers and certify individuals who successfully complete a manager certification in food
protection course and examination.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

Government Certification.

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 14,000

Number renewed annually N/A. Manager certificates do not expire.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

There was an increase in number of certificates issued in 2017 and 2018. Since then, the number
of certificates issued has been consistent.

Education or training requirements

To be certified by the Director of Health, an individual must complete a manager certification in
food protection course approved by Ohio Dept. of Health and pass an ANSI-approved exam.

Experience requirements

There are no experience requirements for certification in food protection.

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Department receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

Manager certification examinations are certified by the American National Standards Insititute
(ANSI). The exam can be proctored by a course provider approved by ODH or can be taken
online with an online proctor. There are multiple ANSI-approved exams and exam proctors to
choose from. There is a fee to complete the course and exam, which will vary by company or
provider. ODH does not charge fees to issue certificates or receive proceeds from exams.

There are no experience requirements to
be certified.

There are no continuing education requirements for certification in food protection.

Initial fee

ODH does not charge fees to issue certificates.

Duration

The time to complete the course and exam will vary by person or provider, but the average time
is 6-8 hours.

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)

N/A. Manager certificates do not have to be renewed.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Does the Department recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Individuals who complete a course and exam from a provider not approved by ODH or complete
an online course and exam may apply to receive a manager certificate from ODH.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

There are some states that issue a similar manager certificate. If an individual from another state
has completed a course and examination that comply with OAC 3701-21-25, they may apply to
receive a manager certificate from ODH.

Are there any circumstances in which an
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Department?

Yes, individuals may work in the food industry without a certification.

Is the Department permitted to exercise
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

No, but certification is not required for an individual to work in the food industry.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

ORC 3717.09 authorizes the Director of Health to approve courses of study for certification in food protection as it pertains to retail food
establishments and as it pertains to food service operations and certify individuals in food protection who successfully complete a course of
study. ORC 3717.51 authorizes the Director to adopt rules for Procedures to be used by the director of health in approving courses of study
for persons seeking certification in food protection, standards that must be met to receive and maintain the director’s approval, and
procedures for withdrawing the director’s approval of a course if the standards for approval are no longer being met.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal

fees)? How is that revenue used?

ODH does not charge fees for manager certification (no revenue).

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

Federal law does not require ODH to regulate certification in food protection.

Page |553 Occupational Regulation



What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The purpose of the certification in food protection program is to protect and promote food safety for the welfare of the public by reducing the

risk of foodborne illnesses.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

Studies conducted by the Centers for Disease Control have concluded that facilities that have a manager certified in food protection have
fewer food code violations, better food safety practices, and are less likely to be a source of a foodborne illness.

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?

Not at this time.
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of September 6, 2024)

Manager Certification in Food Protection

License

Type of regulation

(Name of
regulation)

License

(Manager
certification in
food protection)

License

(Certified food
protection
manager)

License

(Certified food
protection
manager)

License

(Certified food
safety manager)

(Mich. Comp. Laws

License

(Food employee
certificate)

(3 Pa. Cons. Stat.

(Certified food
protection
manager)

(R.C. 3717.09) (Ind. Code 16-42- | (Ky. Rev. Stat. 289.2129) 6504) (W. Va. Code 16-
5.2-7.1and 16-42- | 217.127; 902 Ky. 6-2; W. Va. Code
5.2-7.5) Admin. Regs. R. 64-17-3; 2013
45:005; 2013 FDA Food Code 2-
Food and Drug 102.12)
Administration
(FDA) Food Code
2-102.12)
Education or Manager N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
training certification in
food protection
course
(R.C. 3717.51;
0.A.C. 3701-21-
25)
Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Exam Yes; Conference Yes; accreditation | Yes Yes; American Yes; exam Yes

for Food
Protection
standards for food

exam given by an
accredited testing
service recognized

(Ky. Rev. Stat.
217.127; 902 Ky.
Admin. Regs.

National
Standards
Institute or

conducted by a
certification
program

(W. Va. Code 16-
6-2; W. Va. Code
R. 64-17-3; 2013
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Manager Certification in Food Protection

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

safety by the Conference | 45:005; 2013 FDA | Conference for recognized by the | FDA Food Code 2-
certification exam | for Food Food Code 2- Food Protection Conference for 102.12)
(R.C. 3717.51; Prot.ection or an 102.12) nationz.ﬂlly Food Protection
O.AC 3701-21- | Sauivalent accredited exam | 3 b, cons, Stat.
25) nat|ona_1lly (Mich. Comp. Laws | 6503)
recognized 289.2129; Mich.
certification Dept. of
program Agriculture &
(Ind. Code 16-42- Rural
5.2-3.7) Development,
Food Manager
Certification)
Continuing N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
education

Initial licensure
fee

Varies (fee is set
by the public or
private course

Varies (fee is set
by the private
certification

Varies (fee is set
by the private
certification

Varies (fee is set
by the private
certification

Varies (fee is set
by the private
certification

Varies (fee is set
by the private
certification

provider) provider) provider) provider) provider) provider)
(R.C. 3717.25and | (Ind. Code 16-42- | (Ky. Rev. Stat. (Mich. Dept. of (W. Va. Code 16-
3717.45; 0.A.C. 5.2-3.7) 217.127; 902 Ky. Agriculture & 6-2; W. Va. Code
3701-21-02.1 and Admin. Regs. Rural R. 64-17-3; 2013
3701-21-25) 45:005; 2013 FDA | Development, FDA Food Code 2-

Food Code 2- Food Manager 102.12)

102.12) Certification)

License duration N/A Five years N/A Five years Valid for the N/A
interval

prescribed by the
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Manager Certification in Food Protection

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

(Ind. Code 16-42-
5.2-7.1)

(Mich. Comp. Laws
289.2129; Mich.
Admin. Code R.
289.570.2; Mich.
Dept. of
Agriculture &
Rural
Development,

Food Manager
Certification

accredited
certification
program

(3 Pa. Cons. Stat.

6504)

Renewal fee N/A

Varies (fee is set
by the private
certification
provider)

(Ind. Code 16-42-
5.2-3.7)

N/A

Varies (fee is set
by the private
certification
provider)

(Mich. Dept. of
Agriculture &
Rural
Development,
Food Manager
Certification)

Varies (fee is set
by the private
certification
provider)

N/A

In Ohio, certain food service operations and retail food establishments must have a person in charge who is certified by the
Director of Health. A person in charge is the individual present at a food service operation or retail food establishment who is
responsible for the operation at the time of inspection. To be issued a person in charge certification, an individual must complete a
person in charge certification course approved by the Director. The course curriculum includes a verbal or written exercise; the written
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exercise does not have a passing score. The fee an individual pays to attend a course varies depending on the fee charged by the public
or private course provider.®3

None of the surrounding states appear to require that an individual hold a person in charge certification or an equivalent
authorization.

Lead abatement contractor

Survey response (DOH)

Lead abatement contractor means any individual who engages in or intends to engage in lead abatement who may employ or supervise one
or more lead abatement workers, including on-site supervision of lead abatement projects, or prepares specifications, plans, or documents for
a lead abatement project.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License.

83R.C.3717.09, 3717.25, 3717.45, and 3717.51; 0.A.C. 3701-21-01, 3701-21-02.1, and 3701-21-25.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 382
Number renewed annually 120
Have there been significant increases or Increase.
decreases in active registrations,

certifications or licenses in the preceding

six years?

Education or training requirements 40 hours.

Experience requirements

At least one year experience as a lead abatement worker; or at least two years experience in
asbestos, lead abatement, radon or other environmental remediation or building construction.

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Department receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

Yes — There is a 3™ party vendor that is competitively bid. The exam cost is $70 charged for the
vendor. No exam fees go to ODH.

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Continuing education requirements are established in rule.

(a) An overview of current safety practices relating to lead activities in general, as well as specific
information pertaining to the appropriate discipline;

(b) An update on current laws and regulations relating to lead activities in general, as well as
specific information pertaining to the appropriate discipline; and
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

(c) An update on current technologies related to lead activities in general, as well as specific

information pertaining to the appropriate discipline;

Initial fee $500
Duration 2 years.
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, $500

please explain why.)

Does the Department recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

ODH recognizes current out-of-state licenses for reciprocity consideration.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

US EPA offers certification for states that don’t have state licensure.

Are there any circumstances in which an
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Department?

No.

Is the Department permitted to exercise
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Yes, ODH could refuse to issue or renew a license. This would include reviewing history for non-
compliance/enforcement issue history. Not renewing a license would mean an opportunity for a
hearing under Chapter 119.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Other information (Significant attributes Statewide HUD funding is conditioned to states where the state administers the US EPA lead
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed | licensure and accreditation program.
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

ORC 3742/0AC 3701-32

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal

fees)? How is that revenue used?

$190k, revenue used to administer the lead licensure and accreditation program and provide resources for oversight.
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Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

Title IV Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA), 40 CFR Part 745. Ohio is authorized by the US EPA to implement the lead licensure and
accreditation program, if ODH does not enforce the regulation the regulation will revert to implementation by the US EPA.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

Childhood lead poisoning.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

Yes, the regulation is effective at preventing the harm.

Page | 562 Occupational Regulation



Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?

Not at this time.

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 16, 2024)

Lead Abatement Contractor

License

Type of regulation

(Name of
regulation)

License

(Lead abatement
contractor
license)

(R.C. 3742.02)

License

(Lead-based paint
activities
contractor
license)

License

(Lead-hazard
supervisor
certificate)

(Ky. Rev. Stat.

License

(Lead abatement
supervisor
certificate)

(Mich. Comp. Laws

License

(Supervisor
certificate)

(35 P.S. 5910)

(Supervisor
license)

(W. Va. Code 16-
35-5)

(Ind. Code 16-41- | 211.9063) 333.5461 and
39.8-3) 333.5468)
Education or 40 training hours | 32-hour lead- High school Eight-hour core 32-hour lead- 32-hour lead-
training based on OSHA based paint diploma or lead basics course | based paint based paint
training program training course for | equivalent Eight-hour training program training program
for lead unless supervisors . that meets USEPA | that meets USEPA
tified by th 32-hour lead- training course for ) ¢ . ¢
/ier ' |‘e ; ed Two-hour rules hazard training lead abatement requirements requirements
:Te(rjlca:. :)ar awareness course | course for supervisors (35 P.S. 5906; 34 (W. Va. Code 16-
° n ustria if the lead-based supervisors . Pa. Code 203.4; 35-5; W. Va. Code
Hygiene as a . . 16-hour training
o . paint training 40 C.F.R. 745.225 | R. 64-45-4 and 64-
certified industrial (Ky. Rev. Stat. course for lead o 745.996
hygienist or 211.9063; 902 Ky. | workers an .226)
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Lead Abatement Contractor

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
industrial course is not Admin. Regs. (Mich. Comp. Laws 45-16; 40 C.F.R.
hygienist-in- Indiana-approved | 48:020 and 333.5468; Mich. 745.225)
tral_nlng odr (Ind. Code 16-41- 48:030) /34;’;”;’;2%05(16 R.
resistere ai aln 39.8-3; 410 Ind. S on 99908,
nealth specialist | “imin: Code 32-2- 325.99207, and
ea .speC|a is 3 and 32-3-3) . , an
or environmental 325.99302)
health specialist
in training
(R.C. 3742.03;
0.A.C. 3701-82-
01.3)

Experience One year of One year of Two years of One year of One year of Must be at least
experience as a experience as a related work experience as a experience as a 18 years of age
lead abatement licensed lead- experience certified lead certified lead-

. . One year of
worker or two based paint abatement based paint .
. (Ky. Rev. Stat. experience as a
years in asbestos, | abatement worker or two abatement

lead abatement,
radon, or other
environmental
remediation or
building
construction

(R.C. 3742.03;

0.A.C. 3701-32-
04)

worker or two
years in a related
field

(Ind. Code 16-41-
39.8-3; 410 Ind.
Admin. Code 32-2-
3)

211.9063; 902 Ky.

Admin. Regs.
48:020)

years in a related
field

(Mich. Comp. Laws
333.5468; Mich.
Admin. Code R.
325.99302)

worker or two
years in a related
field or in the
building trades

(35 P.S. 5906; 34
Pa. Code 203.4;
40 C.F.R. 745.226)

lead abatement
worker or two
years in a related
field or the
building trades

(W. Va. Code 16-
35-5; W. Va. Code
R. 64-45-4)
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Lead Abatement Contractor

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Exam Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
(R.C. 3742.05 and | (Ind. Code 16-41- | (Ky. Rev. Stat. (Mich. Comp. Laws | (35 P.S. 5906) (W. Va. Code 16-
3742.08) 39.8-3) 211.9063; 902 Ky. | 333.5468) 35-5)
Admin. Regs.
48:020 and
48:030)
Continuing Eight-hour Eight-hour Eight-hour Eight-hour Eight-hour Eight-hour
education refresher training | refresher course refresher course refresher course refresher course refresher course
program on covering the same | covering the same | covering the same | covering the same | covering the same

current safety
practices, laws,
and technologies
relating to lead
activities every

topics as the
initial supervisor
course and
current safety
practices, laws,

topics as the
initial course and
current safety
practices, laws,
and technologies

topics as the
initial course and
current safety
practices, laws,
and technologies

topics as the
initial course and
current safety
practices, laws,
and technologies

topics as the
initial course and
current safety
practices, laws,
and technologies

two years and technologies | relating to lead- relating to lead- relating to lead- relating to lead-
(R.C. 3742.03; Lelat:jng tg Lead- hazard activities bats.ef:i'pamt based paint ?ssed paint every
0.A.C. 3701-82- ats_e,t,pa'” (Ky. Rev. Stat. activities (35 P.S. 5906; 34 reeyears
01.3) activities 211.9063; 902 Ky. | (Mich. Admin. Pa. Code 203.3; | (W. Va. Code 16-
(Ind. Code 16-41- | Admin. Regs. Code R. 40 C.F.R. 745.225) | 35-5; W. Va. Code
39.8-3;410 Ind. 48:020 and 325.99212 and R. 64-45-4 and 64-
Admin. Code 32-2- | 48:030) 325.99304) 45-16; 40 C.F.R.
5 and 32-3-4) 745.225)
Initial licensure $500 $150 S50 application $25 initial S75 $100
fee (R.C. 3742.03; (Ind. Code 16-41- | fee Plus 5150 fee alpp";gg"” fee | 35p.5 5009;34 | (W. va. Code 16-
0.A.C. 3701-32- | 39.8-6;410Ind. | (Ky. Rev. Stat. P “:‘, ; t‘per;/ear Pa. Code 203.8) | 35-5; W. Va. Code
04) 211.9067; 902 ky. | cErHcationtee R. 64-45 Table A)
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Lead Abatement Contractor

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Admin. Code 32-2- | Admin. Regs. (Mich. Comp. Laws
9) 48:020) 333.5471)
License duration Two years Three years Two years Three years One year One year
(R.C. 3742.05) (Ind. Code 16-41- | (902 Ky. Admin. (Mich. Comp. Laws | (35 P.S. 5906) (W. Va. Code R.
39.8-3) Regs. 48:020) 333.5468) 64-45-4)
Renewal fee $500 $150 $150 S50 per year $75 $100
(R.C. 3742.03; (Ind. Code 16-41- | (Ky. Rev. Stat. (Mich. Comp. Laws | (35 P.S. 5909; 34 (W. Va. Code 16-
0.A.C. 3701-32- 39.8-6;, 410 Ind. 211.9067; 902 Ky. | 333.5471) Pa. Code 203.8) 35-5; W. Va. Code
04) Admin. Code 32-2- | Admin. Regs. R. 64-45 Table A)
9) 48:020)

Lead abatement project designer
Survey response (DOH)

Lead abatement project designer means a person who is responsible for designing lead abatement projects and preparing a pre-abatement
plan for all designed projects, and who engages in or intends to engage in lead abatement who may employ or supervise one or more lead
abatement workers, including on-site supervision of lead abatement projects, or prepares specifications, plans, or documents for a lead
abatement project.
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License.

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 3

Number renewed annually 1

Have there been significant increases or No.
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding

six years?
Education or training requirements 56 hours.
Experience requirements A bachelor's degree in engineering, architecture, or a related profession, and one year

experience in building construction and design or a related field; or

Have four years experience in building construction and design or a related field.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Examination requirements (Who Yes, the testing is completed by a 3™ party vendor, competitively bid. The cost is $70 to the
administers the exam? How is the exam vendor. No exam fees go to ODH.

and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Department receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

Continuing education requirements Continuing education requirement of 8 hours is established in rule.
(Including a description of the curriculum

(a) An overview of current safety practices relating to lead activities in general, as well as specific
and the process of setting it.)

information pertaining to the appropriate discipline;

(b) An update on current laws and regulations relating to lead activities in general, as well as
specific information pertaining to the appropriate discipline; and

(c) An update on current technologies related to lead activities in general, as well as specific
information pertaining to the appropriate discipline;

Initial fee $500

Duration 2 year.

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, $500
please explain why.)

Does the Department recognize uniform Yes.
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Are there any similar national No.
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Are there any circumstances in which an No.
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Department?

Is the Department permitted to exercise Yes, ODH could refuse to issue or renew a license. This would include reviewing history for non-
discretion in determining whether to compliance/enforcement issue history. Not renewing a license would mean an opportunity for a
register, certify, or license an individual? hearing under Chapter 119.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

ORC 3742/0AC 3701-32
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal

fees)? How is that revenue used?

$1500 over the biennium. The revenue is used to administer the lead licensure and accreditation program.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

Title IV Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA), 40 CFR Part 745. Ohio is authorized by the US EPA to implement the lead licensure and
accreditation program, if ODH does not enforce the regulation the regulation will revert to implementation by the US EPA.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

Childhood lead poisoning
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

Yes, the regulation is effective.

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?

Not at this time.

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 16, 2024)

Lead Abatement Project Designer

(GIERGE] Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Type of regulation | License License License License License License
(Name of (Lead abatement | (Project designer | (Lead-hazard (Project designer | (Project designer | (Project designer
regulation) project designer license) project designer certificate) certificate) license)
license) (Ind. Code 16-41- certificate) (Mich. Comp. Laws | (35 P.S. 5910) (W. Va. Code 16-
(R.C. 3742.02) 39.8-3) (Ky. Rev. Stat. 333.5461 and 35-5)
211.9063) 333.5468)
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Lead Abatement Project Designer

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Education or
training

24 training hours
based on OSHA
training program
for lead and 32-
hour lead
abatement
contractor
training program
unless certified by
the American
Board of
Industrial Hygiene
as a certified
industrial
hygienist or
industrial
hygienist-in-
training or
registered as an
environmental
health specialist
or environmental
health specialist
in training

(R.C. 3742.03;
0.A.C. 3701-32-04
and 3701-82-01.3)

32-hour lead-
based paint
training course for
supervisors

Eight-hour lead-
based paint
training course for
project designers

Two-hour rules
awareness course
if the lead-based
paint training
courses are not
Indiana-approved

(Ind. Code 16-41-
39.8-3; 410 Ind.
Admin. Code 32-2-
3 and 32-3-3)

32-hour training
course for
supervisors

Eight-hour
training course for
lead-hazard
project designers

(Ky. Rev. Stat.
211.9063; 902 Ky.
Admin. Regs.
48:020 and
48:030)

Hold a lead
abatement
supervisor
certificate

Eight-hour
training course for
project designers

(Mich. Comp. Laws
333.5468; Mich.
Admin. Code R.
325.99211 and
325.99302)

Eight-hour lead-
based paint
training program
that meets USEPA
requirements

(35 P.S. 5906; 34
Pa. Code 203.4;
40 C.F.R. 745.225
and 745.226)

Eight-hour lead-
based paint
training program
that meets USEPA
requirements

(W. Va. Code 16-
35-5; W. Va. Code
R. 64-45-4 and 64-
45-16; 40 C.F.R.
745.225)
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Lead Abatement Project Designer

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Experience Have either:

= |fhold a
bachelor’s
degree in
engineering,
architecture, or
related
profession, one
year of
experience in
building
construction
and design or
related field;

= |f no bachelor’s
degree, four
years of
experience in
building
construction
and design or a
related field

(R.C. 3742.03;
0.A.C. 3701-32-
04)

Have either:

= |fholda
bachelor’s
degree in
engineering,
architecture, or
related
profession, one
year of
experience in
building
construction
and design or
related field;

* |f no bachelor’s
degree, four
years of
experience in
building
construction
and design or
related field

(Ind. Code 16-41-
39.8-3; 410 Ind.
Admin. Code 32-2-
3)

Have either:

= |fholda
bachelor’s
degree in
engineering,
architecture, or
related
profession, one
year of related
work
experience;

= |f no bachelor’s
degree, four
years of related
work
experience

(Ky. Rev. Stat.
211.9063; 902 Ky.
Admin. Regs.
48:020)

Have either:

= [fholda
bachelor’s
degree in
engineering,

architecture, or

related

profession, one

year of
experience in
building
construction
and design or
related field;

= |f no bachelor’s

degree, four
years of
experience in
building
construction
and design or
related field

(Mich. Comp. Laws

333.5468; Mich.
Admin. Code R.
325.99302)

Have either:

= |fholda
bachelor’s
degree in
engineering,
architecture, or
related
profession, one
year of
experience in
building
construction
and design or
related field;

* |f no bachelor’s
degree, four
years of
experience in
building
construction or
related field

(35 P.S. 5906; 34
Pa. Code 203.4;
40 C.F.R. 745.225
and 745.226)

Must be at least
18 years of age

Have either:

= |fholda
bachelor’s
degree in
engineering,
architecture, or
related
profession, one
year of
experience in
building
construction
and design or
related field;

* |f no bachelor’s
degree, four
years of
experience in
building
construction
and design or
related field

(W. Va. Code 16-
35-5; W. Va. Code
R. 64-45-4)
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Lead Abatement Project Designer

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Exam Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
(R.C. 3742.05 and | (Ind. Code 16-41- | (Ky. Rev. Stat. (Mich. Comp. Laws | (35 P.S. 5906) (W. Va. Code 16-
3742.08) 39.8-3) 211.9063; 902 Ky. | 333.5468) 35-5)
Admin. Regs.
48:020 and
48:030)
Continuing Eight-hour Eight-hour Eight-hour Four-hour Four-hour Four-hour
education refresher training | refresher course refresher course refresher course refresher course refresher course
program on covering the same | covering the same | covering the same | covering the same | covering the same

current safety
practices, laws,
and technologies
relating to lead
activities every
two years

(R.C. 3742.03;
0.A.C. 3701-82-
01.3)

topics as the
initial supervisor
course and
current safety
practices, laws,
and technologies
relating to lead-
based paint
activities

Four-hour
refresher course
covering the same
topics as the
initial project
designer course

(Ind. Code 16-41-
39.8-3; 410 Ind.

topics as the
initial course and
current safety
practices, laws,
and technologies
relating to lead-
hazard activities

(Ky. Rev. Stat.
211.9063; 902 Ky.
Admin. Regs.
48:020 and
48:030)

topics as the
initial project
designer course
and current safety
practices, laws,
and technologies
relating to lead-
based paint
activities

(Mich. Admin.
Code R. 325.99212
and 325.99304)

topics as the
initial course and
current safety
practices, laws,
and technologies
relating to lead-
based paint

(35 P.S. 5906; 34
Pa. Code 203.3;
40 C.F.R. 745.225)

topics as the
initial course and
current safety
practices, laws,
and technologies
relating to lead-
based paint every
three years

(W. Va. Code 16-
35-5; W. Va. Code
R. 64-45-4 and 64-
45-16; 40 C.F.R.
745.225)
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Lead Abatement Project Designer

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Admin. Code 32-2-

5and 32-3-4)
Initial licensure $500 $150 $50 application $25 initial $200 $100
fee (R.C. 3742.03; (Ind. Code 16-41- | fee Plus 5300 fee alppl';its'gn fee (35 P.S. 5909; 34 | (W. Va. Code 16-
0.A.C. 3701-32- | 39.8-6;410Ind. | (Ky. Rev. Stat. P “:_ b pefr Year | pg. Code 203.8) | 35-5; W. Va. Code
04) Admin. Code 32-2- | 211.9067; 902 Ky. | c€rtiricationtee R. 64-45 Table A)
9) Admin. Regs. (Mich. Comp. Laws
48:020) 333.5471)
License duration Two years Three years Two years Three years One year One year
(R.C. 3742.05) (Ind. Code 16-41- | (902 Ky. Admin. (Mich. Comp. Laws | (35 P.S. 5906) (W. Va. Code R.
39.8-3) Regs. 48:020) 333.5468) 64-45-4)
Renewal fee $500 $150 $300 $150 per year $200 $100
(R.C. 3742.03; (Ind. Code 16-41- | (Ky. Rev. Stat. (Mich. Comp. Laws | (35 P.S. 5909; 34 (W. Va. Code 16-
0.A.C. 3701-32- 39.8-6; 410 Ind. 211.9067; 902 Ky. | 333.5471) Pa. Code 203.8) 35-5; W. Va. Code
04) Admin. Code 32-2- | Admin. Regs. R. 64-45 Table A)
9) 48:020)
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Lead abatement worker
Survey response (DOH)

Lead abatement worker means an individual responsible in a non-supervisory capacity for the performance of lead abatement.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License.

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 259

Number renewed annually 184
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

Increasing.

Education or training requirements

24 hours. (Reduced from 32 hours).

Experience requirements

N/A

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Department receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

Yes, 3" party vendor, competitive bid, $70, No exam fees go to ODH they stay with the vendor.

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Continuing education requirements established in rule. 8 hours during the 2-year licensure
period.

(a) An overview of current safety practices relating to lead activities in general, as well as specific
information pertaining to the appropriate discipline;

(b) An update on current laws and regulations relating to lead activities in general, as well as
specific information pertaining to the appropriate discipline; and

(c) An update on current technologies related to lead activities in general, as well as specific
information pertaining to the appropriate discipline;
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Initial fee $50
Duration 2 years.
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, S50
please explain why.)

Does the Department recognize uniform yes
licensure requirements or allow for

reciprocity?

Are there any similar national No.
registrations, certifications, or licenses?

Could they be used as a substitute for the

state regulation?

Are there any circumstances in which an No.

individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Department?

Is the Department permitted to exercise
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Yes, ODH could refuse to issue or renew a license. This would include reviewing history for non-
compliance/enforcement issue history. Not renewing a license would mean an opportunity for a
hearing under Chapter 119.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

ORC 3742/0AC 3701-32

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal

fees)? How is that revenue used?

$13,000 annual revenue. This is used to administer the lead licensure and accreditation program.
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Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

Title IV Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA), 40 CFR Part 745. Ohio is authorized by the US EPA to implement the lead licensure and
accreditation program, if ODH does not enforce the regulation the regulation will revert to implementation by the US EPA.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

Childhood lead poisoning

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

Yes, the regulation is effective.
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Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?

Not at this time.

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 16, 2024)

Lead Abatement Worker

License

Type of regulation

(Name of
regulation)

License

(Lead abatement
worker license)

(R.C. 3742.02)

License

(Lead-based paint
abatement
worker license)

(Ind. Code 16-41-

License

(Lead-hazard
abatement
worker certificate)

(Ky. Rev. Stat.

License

(Abatement
worker certificate)

(Mich. Comp. Laws
333.5461 and

License

(Worker
certification)

(35 P.S. 5910)

(Worker license)

(W. Va. Code 16-
35-5)

39.8-3) 211.9063) 333.5468)
Education or 24 training hours | 16-hour lead- 16-hour lead- Eight-hour core 16-hour lead- 16-hour lead-
training based on OSHA based paint hazard training lead basics course | based paint based paint

training program
for lead unless
certified by the
American Board
of Industrial
Hygiene as a
certified industrial
hygienist or
industrial

training course for
workers

Two-hour rules
awareness course
if the lead-based
paint training
course is not
Indiana-approved

course for lead-
hazard abatement
workers

(Ky. Rev. Stat.
211.9063; 902 Ky.
Admin. Regs.
48:020 and
48:030)

16-hour training
course for lead
workers

(Mich. Comp. Laws
333.5468; Mich.
Admin. Code R.
325.99205,

training program
that meets USEPA
requirements

(35 P.S. 5906; 34
Pa. Code 203.4;
40 C.F.R. 745.225
and 742.226)

training program
that meets USEPA
requirements

(W. Va. Code 16-
35-5; W. Va. Code
R. 64-45-4 and 64-
45-16; 40 C.F.R.
745.225)
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Lead Abatement Worker

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

hygienist-in- (Ind. Code 16-41- 325.99206, and
training or 39.8-3; 410 Ind. 325.99302)
registered as an Admin. Code 32-2-
environmental 3 and 32-3-3)
health specialist
or environmental
health specialist
in training
(R.C. 3742.03;
0.A.C. 3701-32-04
and 3701-82-01.3)
Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A Must be at least
18 years of age
(W. Va. Code 16-
35-5; W. Va. Code
R. 64-45-4)
Exam Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
(R.C. 3742.05 and | (Ind. Code 16-41- | (Ky. Rev. Stat. (Mich. Comp. Laws | (35 P.S. 5906) (W. Va. Code 16-
3742.08) 39.8-3) 211.9063; 902 Ky. | 333.5468) 35-5)
Admin. Regs.
48:020 and
48:030)
Continuing Eight-hour Eight-hour Eight-hour Eight-hour Eight-hour Eight-hour
education refresher training | refresher course refresher course refresher course refresher course refresher course
program on covering the same | covering the same | covering the same | covering the same | covering the same

current safety

topics as the

topics as the

topics as the

topics as the

topics as the
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Lead Abatement Worker

Ohio

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

practices, laws,
and technologies
relating to lead
activities every

initial course and
current safety
practices, laws,
and technologies

initial course and
current safety
practices, laws,
and technologies

initial course and
current safety
practices, laws,
and technologies

initial course and
current safety
practices, laws,
and technologies

initial course and
current safety
practices, laws,
and technologies

two years relating to lead- relating to lead- relating to lead- relating to lead- relating to lead-
(R.C. 3742.03; ba:.ei.pamt hazard activities ba:.ei.pamt based paint :);sed paint every
0.A.C. 3701-82- | @ctvities (Ky. Rev. Stat. activities (35 P.S. 5906; 34 reeyears
01.3) (Ind. Code 16-41- | 211.9063; 902 Ky. | (Mich. Admin. Pa. Code 203.3; (W. Va. Code 16-
39.8-3; 410 Ind. Admin. Regs. Code R. 325.99212 | 40 C.F.R. 745.225) | 35-5; W. Va. Code
Admin. Code 32-2- | 48:020 and and 325.99304) R. 64-45-4 and 64-
5and 32-3-4) 48:030) 45-16; 40 C.F.R.
745.225)
Initial licensure S50 $150 S50 application $25 application S50 S50
fee (R.C. 3742.03; (ind. Code 16-41- | fee Plus 375 fee | fee plustS.fZ‘S i’,er (35 P.S. 5909; 34 | (W. Va. Code 16-
0.A.C. 3701-32- | 39.8-6; 410Ind. | (Ky. Rev. Stat. }’ear certification | by Code 203.8) | 35-5; W. Va. Code
04) Admin. Code 32-2- | 211.9067: 902 Ky. | '<¢ R. 64-45 Table A)
9) Admin. Regs. (Mich. Comp. Laws
48:020) 333.5471)
License duration Two years Three years Two years Three years One year One year
(R.C. 3742.05) (Ind. Code 16-41- | (902 Ky. Admin. (Mich. Comp. Laws | (35 P.S. 5906) (W. Va. Code R.
39.8-3) Regs. 48:020) 333.5468) 64-45-4)
Renewal fee $50 $150 $75 $25 per year $50 S50
(R.C. 3742.03; (Ind. Code 16-41- | (Ky. Rev. Stat. (Mich. Comp. Laws | (35 P.S. 5909; 34 (W. Va. Code 16-
0.A.C. 3701-32- 39.8-6; 410 Ind. 211.9067; 902 Ky. | 333.5471) Pa. Code 203.8) 35-5; W. Va. Code
04) R. 64-45 Table A)
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Lead Abatement Worker

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia

Admin. Code 32-2- | Admin. Regs.
9) 48:020)

Lead inspector
Survey response (DOH)

Lead inspector means any individual who conducts a lead inspection, provides professional advice regarding a lead inspection, or prepares a
report explaining the results of a lead inspection. Lead inspectors can perform lead-based paint inspections and lead clearance examinations.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 7
Number renewed annually 5

Have there been significant increases or No.
decreases in active registrations,

certifications or licenses in the preceding

six years?

Education or training requirements 24 hours.
Experience requirements N/A.

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Department receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

Yes, the exam is administered by a 3™ party vendor, competitively bid. The exam cost is $70 to
the vendor. No exam fees go to ODH.

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Continuing education requirement is 8 hours (federal minimum standard).
Rule:

(a) An overview of current safety practices relating to lead activities in general, as well as specific
information pertaining to the appropriate discipline;
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

(b) An update on current laws and regulations relating to lead activities in general, as well as
specific information pertaining to the appropriate discipline; and

(c) An update on current technologies related to lead activities in general, as well as specific
information pertaining to the appropriate discipline;

Initial fee $250
Duration 2 years.
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, $250
please explain why.)

Does the Department recognize uniform Yes.
licensure requirements or allow for

reciprocity?

Are there any similar national No.
registrations, certifications, or licenses?

Could they be used as a substitute for the

state regulation?

Are there any circumstances in which an No.

individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Department?
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Is the Department permitted to exercise Yes, ODH could refuse to issue or renew a license. This would include reviewing history for non-
discretion in determining whether to compliance/enforcement issue history. Not renewing a license would mean an opportunity for a
register, certify, or license an individual? hearing under Chapter 119.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

ORC 3742/0AC 3701-32

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal

fees)? How is that revenue used?

$2,000 annual revenue. The revenue is used to administer the lead licensure and accreditation program.
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Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

Title IV Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA), 40 CFR Part 745. Ohio is authorized by the US EPA to implement the lead licensure and
accreditation program, if ODH does not enforce the regulation the regulation will revert to implementation by the US EPA.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

Childhood lead poisoning

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

Yes, the regulation is effective.
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Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?

Not at this time.

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of July 30, 2024)

Lead Inspector

License

Type of regulation

(Name of
regulation)

License

(Lead inspector
license)

(R.C. 3742.02)

License
(Inspector license)

(Ind. Code 16-41-
39.8-3)

License

(Lead-hazard
inspector
certificate)

(Ky. Rev. Stat.

License

(Inspector
certificate)

(Mich. Comp. Laws
333.5461 and

License

(Inspector-
technician
certificate)

(35 P.S. 5910)

(Lead inspector
license)

(W. Va. Code 16-
35-5)

211.9063) 333.5468)
Education or 24 classroom High school High school High school 24-hour lead- 24-hour lead-
training training hours diploma or GED diploma or diploma or based paint based paint
based on the U.S. equivalent equivalent training program | training program

Occupational
Safety and Health
Act (OSHA)
training program
for lead unless
certified by the
American Board
of Industrial

24 hours in a lead-
based paint
training course

Two-hour rules
awareness course,
if the lead-based
paint training

24 training hours

(Ky. Rev. Stat.

211.9063; 902 Ky.

Admin. Regs.
48:020 and
48:030)

Eight-hour core
lead basics course

16-hour training
course for
inspectors

(Mich. Comp. Laws
333.5468; Mich.

that meets USEPA
requirements

(35 P.S. 5906; 34
Pa. Code 203.4;
40 C.F.R. 745.225)

that meets USEPA
requirements

(W. Va. Code 16-
35-5; W. Va. Code
R. 64-45-4 and 64-
45-16; 40 C.F.R.
745.225)
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Lead Inspector

(0],11] Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia

Hygiene as a course is not Admin. Code R.

certified industrial | Indiana-approved 325.99205,

hyj'e:'§t|°r (ind. Code 16-41- gﬁﬁ'ﬁﬁﬁgﬁ’ and

A 39.8-3; 410 Ind. :99302)

tyg,"’j”'s n- Admin. Code 32-2-

rallnlng or 3 and 32-3-3)

registered as an

environmental

health specialist

or environmental

health specialist

in training

(R.C. 3742.03;

0.A.C. 3701-82-

01.3)

Experience N/A N/A One year of N/A N/A Must be at least
related work 18 years of age
experience (W. Va. Code 16-
(Ky. Rev. Stat. 35-5; W. Va. Code
211.9063; 902 Ky. R. 64-45-4)
Admin. Regs.
48:020)
Exam Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes

(R.C. 3742.05 and
3742.08)

(Ind. Code 16-41-
39.8-3)

(Ky. Rev. Stat.

211.9063; 902 Ky.

Admin. Regs.

(Mich. Comp. Laws
333.5468)

(35 P.S. 5906)

(W. Va. Code 16-
35-5)
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Lead Inspector

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
48:020 and
48:030)
Continuing Eight-hour Eight-hour Eight-hour Eight-hour Eight-hour Eight-hour
education refresher training | refresher course refresher course refresher course refresher course refresher course
program on covering the same | covering the same | covering the same | covering the same | covering the same

current safety
practices, laws,
and technologies
relating to lead
activities every

topics as the
initial course and
current safety
practices, laws,
and technologies

topics as the
initial course and
current safety
practices, laws,
and technologies

topics as the
initial course and
current safety
practices, laws,
and technologies

topics as the
initial course and
current safety
practices, laws,
and technologies

topics as the
initial course and
current safety
practices, laws,
and technologies

two years relating to lead- relating to lead- relating to lead- relating to lead- relating to lead-
(R.C. 3742.03; bats.efjt'palnt hazard activities bats.efjt'pamt based paint I;?sed paint every
0.A.C.3701-82- | 2ctVIHes (Ky. Rev. Stat. activities (35 P.S. 5906; 34 ree years
01.3) (Ind. Code 16-41- | 211.9063; 902 Ky. | (Mich. Admin. Pa. Code 203.3; (W. Va. Code R.
39.8-3; 410 Ind. Admin. Regs. Code R. 40 C.F.R. 745.225) | 64-45-4 and 64-
Admin. Code 32-2- | 48:020 and 325.99212 and 45-16; 40 C.F.R.
5and 32-3-4) 48:030) 325.99304) 745.225)
Initial licensure $250 $150 $50 application $25 application $200 $100
fee (R.C. 3742.03; (Ind. Code 16-41- | fe€ Plus 3200 fee | fee plust$:50tper (35 P.S. 5909; 34 | (W. Va. Code 16-
0.A.C. 3701-32- | 39.8-6; 410Ind. | (Ky. Rev. Stat. }’ear certification | by Code 203.8) | 35-5; W. Va. Code
04) Admin. Code 32-2- | 211.9067; 902 Ky. | €€ R. 64-45 Table A)
9) Admin. Regs. (Mich. Comp. Laws
48:020) 333.5471)
License duration Two years Three years Two years Three years One year One year
(R.C. 3742.05) (Ind. Code 16-41- | (902 Ky. Admin. (Mich. Comp. Laws | (35 P.S. 5906) (W. Va. Code R.
39.8-3) Regs. 48:020) 333.5468) 64-45-4)
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Lead Inspector

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Renewal fee

$250

(R.C. 3742.03;
0.A.C. 3701-32-
04)

$150

(Ind. Code 16-41-
39.8-6; 410 Ind.
Admin. Code 32-2-
9)

$200

(Ky. Rev. Stat.
211.9067; 902 Ky.
Admin. Regs.
48:020)

$150 per year

(Mich. Comp. Laws
333.5471)

$200

(35 P.S. 5909; 34
Pa. Code 203.8)

$100

(W. Va. Code 16-
35-5; W. Va. Code
R. 64-45 Table A)

Lead principal instructor

Survey response (DOH)

Description

Lead principal instructors are approved as part of a given training course approval. No occupational licenses are issued for this discipline.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

N/A.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually N/A

Number renewed annually N/A

Have there been significant increases or N/A
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding

six years?

Education or training requirements N/A
Experience requirements N/A
Examination requirements (Who N/A

administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Department receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

Continuing education requirements N/A
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Initial fee N/A
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Duration N/A

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, N/A
please explain why.)

Does the Department recognize uniform N/A
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Are there any similar national N/A
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Are there any circumstances in which an N/A
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Department?

Is the Department permitted to exercise N/A
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Other information (Significant attributes N/A
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Page | 594 Occupational Regulation



Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

N/A

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal

fees)? How is that revenue used?

N/A

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

N/A
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

N/A

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

N/A

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?

Not at this time.
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC)

Under Ohio law, a qualified principal instructor must teach an approved training program. The training program operator
designates a person who has met specified training or experience requirements. Although the training program must designate a
person as a qualified principal instructor as part of the training program’s requirements for approval,* that designation is not an
“occupational regulation” and is beyond the scope of this report.

Lead risk assessor
Survey response (DOH)

Lead risk assessor means a person who is responsible for developing a written inspection, risk assessment and analysis plan; conducting
inspections for lead hazards in a residential unit, child care facility, or school; interpreting results of inspections or risk assessments;
identifying hazard control strategies to reduce or eliminate lead exposures; and completing a risk assessment report.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License.

84 See 0.A.C. 3701-82-01.1.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 263
Number renewed annually 130
Have there been significant increases or Increase.
decreases in active registrations,

certifications or licenses in the preceding

six years?

Education or training requirements 40 hours.

Experience requirements

1-3 years experience in lead, asbestos, or other environmental remediation work or building
construction. The experience length required is dependent on the applicant’s level of education.

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Department receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

Yes, the exam is administered by a 3™ party vendor, competitively bid. The cost is $70 to the
exam vendor. No exam fees go to ODH.

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Continuing education requirements are 8 hours every two years including:

(a) An overview of current safety practices relating to lead activities in general, as well as specific
information pertaining to the appropriate discipline;

(b) An update on current laws and regulations relating to lead activities in general, as well as
specific information pertaining to the appropriate discipline; and
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

(c) An update on current technologies related to lead activities in general, as well as specific

information pertaining to the appropriate discipline;

Initial fee $250
Duration 2 years.
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, $250
please explain why.)

Does the Department recognize uniform Yes.
licensure requirements or allow for

reciprocity?

Are there any similar national No.
registrations, certifications, or licenses?

Could they be used as a substitute for the

state regulation?

Are there any circumstances in which an No.

individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Department?

Is the Department permitted to exercise
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Yes, ODH could refuse to issue or renew a license. This would include reviewing history for non-
compliance/enforcement issue history. Not renewing a license would mean an opportunity for a
hearing under Chapter 119.

Page |599

Occupational Regulation



If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

ORC 3742/0AC 3701-32

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal

fees)? How is that revenue used?

$66,000 annually. The revenue used to administer the lead licensure and accreditation program.
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Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

Title IV Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA), 40 CFR Part 745. Ohio is authorized by the US EPA to implement the lead licensure and
accreditation program, if ODH does not enforce the regulation the regulation will revert to implementation by the US EPA.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

Childhood lead poisoning

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

Yes, the regulation is effective.
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Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?

Not at this time.

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of July 30, 2024)

Lead Risk Assessor

License

Type of regulation

(Name of
regulation)

License

(Lead risk assessor
license)

(R.C. 3742.02)

License

(Risk assessor
license)

(Ind. Code 16-41-
39.8-3)

License

(Lead-hazard risk
assessor)

(Ky. Rev. Stat.
211.9063)

License

(Risk assessor
certificate)

(Mich. Comp. Laws
333.5461 and
333.5468)

License

(Inspector-risk
assessor
certificate)

(35 P.S. 5910)

(Lead risk assessor
license)

(W. Va. Code 16-
35-5)

Education or
training

24 classroom
training hours
based on the
OSHA training
program for lead
and 16-hour lead
inspector training
program, unless
certified by the
American Board
of Industrial

16-hour lead-
based paint
training course for
risk assessors

24-hour lead-
based paint
training course for
inspectors

Two-hour rules
awareness course,

24-hour training
course for
inspectors

16-hour training
course for lead-
hazard risk
assessors

Have any one of
the following:

Eight-hour core
lead basics course

16-hour training
course for
inspectors

16-hour training
course for risk
assessors

16-hour lead-
based paint
training program
that meets USEPA
requirements

Have any one of
the following:

= Certification as
an industrial
hygienist,

16-hour lead-
based paint
training program
that meets USEPA
requirements

Hold a lead
inspectors license

Have any one of
the following:
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Lead Risk Assessor

Ohio

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Hygiene as a
certified industrial
hygienist or
industrial
hygienist-in-
training or
registered as an
environmental
health specialist
or environmental
health specialist
in training

Have any one of
the following:

= An industrial
hygienist,
engineer,
architect, or
related license;

= A bachelor’s
degree;
= An associate’s

degree;

= A high school
diploma or
equivalent

if the lead-based
paint training
course is not
Indiana-approved

Have any one of
the following:

= A bachelor’s
degree;

= An associate’s
degree;

= A high school
diploma or GED

(Ind. Code 16-41-
39.8-3; 410 Ind.
Admin. Code 32-2-
3 and 32-3-3)

= An industrial
hygienist,
professional
engineer,
registered
architect, or
registered
sanitarian
certificate;

= A bachelor’s
degree;

= An associate’s
degree;

= A high school
diploma or
equivalent

(Ky. Rev. Stat.

211.9063; 902 Ky.

Admin. Regs.
48:020 and
48:030)

Have any one of
the following:

= Certification as
an industrial
hygienist,
safety
professional,
professional
engineer,
nurse,
sanitarian,
architect, or in
a related field;

= A bachelor’s
degree;

= An associate’s
degree;

= A high school
diploma or
equivalent

(Mich. Comp. Laws
333.5468; Mich.
Admin. Code R.
325.99205,
325.99208,
325.99209, and
325.99302)

professional
engineer,
architect, orin
another related
engineering,
health, or
environmental
field;

= A bachelor’s
degree;

= An associate’s
degree;

= A high school
diploma or
equivalent

(35 P.S. 5906; 34
Pa. Code 203.4;
40 C.F.R. 745.225
and 745.226)

= Certification as
an industrial
hygienist,
professional
engineer,
registered
architect,
registered
sanitarian, or in
a related
engineering,
health, or
environmental
field;

= A bachelor’s
degree;

= An associate’s
degree;

= A high school
diploma or
equivalent

(W. Va. Code 16-
35-5; W. Va. Code
R. 64-45-4 and 64-
45-16; 40 C.F.R.
745.225)
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Lead Risk Assessor

Ohio

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

(R.C. 3742.03;

O.A.C. 3701-32-04
and 3701-82-01.3)

Experience

Amount of
relevant
experience
required is based
on level of
education
attained:

= |f hold an
industrial
hygienist,
engineer,
architect, or

related license,

none;

= |fhold a
bachelor’s
degree, one
year;

= |f hold an
associate’s
degree, two
years;

= |f hold a high

school diploma

Amount of
relevant
experience
required is based
on level of
education
attained:

= Ifholda
bachelor’s
degree, one
year;

= If hold an
associate’s
degree, two
years;

= |f hold a high
school diploma
or GED, three
years

(410 Ind. Admin.
Code 32-2-3)

Amount of
relevant
experience
required is based
on level of
education
attained:

= |f hold an
industrial
hygienist,
professional
engineer,
registered
architect, or
registered
sanitarian
certificate,
none;

= |fholda
bachelor’s
degree, one
year;

= |f hold an
associate’s

Amount of
relevant
experience
required is based
on level of
education
attained:

* |fholda
certification as
an industrial
hygienist,
safety
professional,
professional
engineer,
nurse,
sanitarian,
architect, or in
a related field,
none;

= |fholda
bachelor’s
degree, one
year;

Amount of
relevant
experience
required is based
on level of
education
attained:

* |fholda
certification as
an industrial
hygienist,
professional
engineer,
architect, or in
another related
engineering,
health, or
environmental
field, none;

= |fholda
bachelor’s
degree, one
year;

= |f hold an
associate’s

Must be at least
18 years of age

Amount of
relevant
experience
required is based
on level of
education
attained:

* |fholda
certification as
an industrial
hygienist,
professional
engineer,
registered
architect,
registered
sanitarian, orin
a related
engineering,
health, or
environmental
field, none:

Page | 604

Occupational Regulation



Lead Risk Assessor

Ohio

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

or equivalent,
three years

(O.A.C. 3701-42-
04)

degree, two
years;

= |f hold a high
school diploma
or equivalent,
three years

(Ky. Rev. Stat.

= |f hold an
associate’s
degree, two
years;

= |f hold a high
school diploma
or equivalent,

degree, two
years;

= |f hold a high
school diploma
or equivalent,
three years

(35 P.S. 5906; 34

* |fholda
bachelor’s
degree, one
year;

= |f hold an
associate’s
degree, two

211.9063; 902 ky, | treevears Pa. Code 203.4; years;
Admin. Regs. (Mich. Admin. 40 C.F.R. 745.225 | = If hold a high
48:020) Code R. and 745.226) school diploma
325.99302) or equivalent,
three years
(W. Va. Code 16-
35-5; W. Va. Code
R. 64-45-4)
Exam Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
(R.C. 3742.05 and | (Ind. Code 16-41- | (Ky. Rev. Stat. (Mich. Comp. Laws | (35 P.S. 5906) (W. Va. Code 16-
3742.08) 39.8-3) 211.9063; 902 Ky. | 333.5468) 35-5)
Admin. Regs.
48:020 and
48:030)
Continuing Eight-hour Eight-hour Eight-hour Eight-hour Eight-hour Eight-hour
education refresher training | refresher training | refresher course refresher course refresher course refresher course
program on course covering covering the same | covering the same | covering the same | covering the same

current safety
practices, laws,
and technologies

the same topics as
the initial course
for lead risk

topics as the
initial course and
current safety

topics as the
initial lead
inspector course

topics as the
initial course and
current safety

topics as the
initial course and
current safety
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Lead Risk Assessor

Ohio

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

relating to lead
activities every

assessors and
current safety

practices, laws,
and technologies

and current safety
practices, laws,

practices, laws,
and technologies

practices, laws,
and technologies

two years practices, laws, relating to lead- and technologies | relating to lead- relating to lead-
(R.C. 3742.03; and t.echnologies hazard activities relating t.o lead- based paint in based paint in
O.AC. 3701-82- relating tF) lead- (Ky. Rev. Stat. bas.efilpalnt general general every
01.3) based paint 211.9063; 902 ky. | actvities (35P.S. 5906; 34 | threeyears
activities Admin. Regs. Eight-hour Pa. Code 203.3; (W. Va. Code R.
Eight-hour 48:020 and refresher course 40 C.F.R. 745.225) | 64-45-4 and 64-
refresher training | 48:030) covering the same 45-16; 40 C.F.R.
course covering topics as the 745.225)
the same topics as initial risk
the initial course assessor course
for inspectors (Mich. Admin.
In lieu of separate Code R.
inspector and risk 325.99212 and
assessor refresher 325.99304)
courses, may take
an approved
eight-hour
combined
refresher course
(Ind. Code 16-41-
39.8-3,410 Ind.
Admin. Code 32-2-
5and 32-3-4)
Initial licensure $250 $150 S50 application $25 application $200 $100

fee

(Ind. Code 16-41-
39.8-6; 410 Ind.

fee plus $250 fee

fee plus $150 per
year fee
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Lead Risk Assessor

(0],11] Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
(R.C. 3742.03; Admin. Code 32-2- | (Ky. Rev. Stat. (Mich. Comp. Laws | (35 P.S. 5909; 34 (W. Va. Code 16-
0.A.C. 3701-32- 9) 211.9067; 902 Ky. | 333.5471) Pa. Code 203.8) 35-5; W. Va. Code
04) Admin. Regs. R. 64-45 Table A)
48:020)
License duration Two years Three years Two years Three years One year One year
(R.C. 3742.05) (Ind. Code 16-41- | (902 Ky. Admin. (Mich. Comp. Laws | (35 P.S. 5906) (W. Va. Code R.
39.8-3) Regs. 48:020) 333.5468) 64-45-4)
Renewal fee $250 $150 $250 $150 per year $200 $100
(R.C. 3742.03; (Ind. Code 16-41- | (Ky. Rev. Stat. (Mich. Comp. Laws | (35 P.S. 5909; 34 (W. Va. Code 16-
0.A.C. 3701-32- 39.8-6;, 410 Ind. 211.9067; 902 Ky. | 333.5471) Pa. Code 203.8) 35-5; W. Va. Code
04) Admin. Code 32-2- | Admin. Regs. R. 64-45 Table A)
9) 48:020)

Lead training manager
Survey response (DOH)

No occupational licenses issued for lead training manager. Lead training manager are approved as part of a given training course approval.
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

N/A

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually N/A

Number renewed annually N/A

Have there been significant increases or N/A
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding

six years?
Education or training requirements N/A
Experience requirements N/A
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Examination requirements (Who N/A
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Department receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

Continuing education requirements N/A
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Initial fee N/A

Duration N/A

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, N/A
please explain why.)

Does the Department recognize uniform N/A
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Are there any similar national N/A
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Are there any circumstances in which an N/A
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Department?

Is the Department permitted to exercise N/A
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

N/A
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal

fees)? How is that revenue used?

N/A

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

N/A

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

N/A
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

N/A

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?

Not at this time.

Surrounding state comparison (LSC)

Under Ohio law, a training program applicant must designate a training manager who is responsible for ensuring that an
approved training program complies with the law. The training program operator designates a person who has met specified training
or experience requirements. Although the training program must designate a person as a training manager as part of the training
program’s requirements for approval,® that designation is not an “occupational regulation” and is beyond the scope of this report.

85 See 0.A.C. 3701-82-01.1.
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Nonagency home health provider
Survey response (DOH)

“Nonagency home health provider” is a term used by Medicaid. ODH does not certify or license nonagency home health providers.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually

Number renewed annually
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

Education or training requirements

Experience requirements

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Department receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Initial fee

Duration

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Does the Department recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Are there any circumstances in which an
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Department?

Is the Department permitted to exercise
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal

fees)? How is that revenue used?

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of September 6, 2024)

in Ohio, a nonagency provider of direct care must hold a skilled home health services license or nonmedical home health
services license to provide skilled or nonmedical home health services. A nonagency provider is a person who provides direct care to
individuals on a self-employed basis and does not directly or contractually employ others to provide services. Skilled home health
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services include skilled nursing care, physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech-language pathology, medical social services, and
home health aide services. Nonmedical home health services include assistance with bathing, dressing, walking, and toileting; catheter
care; meal preparation and feeding; and personal care services. Skilled and nonmedical home health services licenses are valid for
three years. The application and renewal fees for both licenses are $250.

The requirements to obtain a skilled home health services license are largely based on providing proof of an underlying
certification or accreditation, such as certification to participate in the Medicare program, accreditation by various accrediting bodies,
or an existing certification issued by the Department of Aging. A nonagency provider that holds a skilled home health services license
also may provide nonmedical home health services without obtaining a separate nonmedical home health services license.2°

Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia do not appear to require an individual provider of home health
services to be licensed as home health providers.

Radiation expert
Survey response (DOH)

Radiation expert" means an individual who meets the qualifications of:

(a) Applicable paragraphs of rule 3701:1-66-03 of the Administrative Code;
(b) Paragraph (D) of rule 3701-83-45 of the Administrative Code, for any facility providing radiation therapy services;

(c) Paragraph (C)(3) of rule 3701-83-52 of the Administrative Code for CT equipment, or paragraph (F)(3) of rule 3701-83-52 of the
Administrative Code for fluoroscopy, at any facility providing CT or fluoroscopy services; or

(d) 21 C.F.R. 900.12(a)(3) (as effective on the effective date of this rule) for any facility providing mammography services.

86 R.C. 3740.01, 3740.02, 3740.03, and 3740.05.
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

(1) Therapeutic
(2) Diagnostic other than mammography

(3) Mammography

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 41 Initial certificates for 2023

Number renewed annually 159 Renewal certificates for 2023

Have there been significant increases or No.
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

Education or training requirements An applicant for radiation expert certification for the category of mammography radiation-
generating equipment shall have at least one of the following:

(1) Certification by the "American Board of Radiology" in radiologic physics, diagnostic radiologic
physics or diagnostic medical physics;

(2) Certification by the "American Board of Medical Physics" with a specialty in diagnostic
imaging physics;
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

(3) A master's degree or higher in a physical science from an accredited college or university, and
at least the following:

(a) Twenty semester hours or thirty quarter hours of graduate or undergraduate level
physics;

(b) Twenty contact hours of documented specialized training in conducting surveys of
mammography facilities; and

(c) Have the experience of conducting surveys of at least ten mammography x-ray units
under the direct supervision of a certified individual as provided in paragraph (E)(1) or
(E)(2) of this rule or a radiation expert certified in mammography.

An applicant for radiation expert certification for the category of diagnostic radiation-generating
equipment shall have at least one of the following:

(1) Certification by the "American Board of Radiology" in radiologic physics, diagnostic radiologic
physics or diagnostic medical physics;

(1) Certification by the "American Board of Radiology" in radiologic physics, diagnostic
radiologic physics or diagnostic medical physics;

(2) Certification by the "American Board of Medical Physics" in medical physics with a
specialty in diagnostic imaging physics;

(3) A master's degree or doctorate from an accredited college or university in physics,
biophysics, medical physics, radiological physics or health physics, engineering, or applied
mathematics with a minor in physics; and completed a clinical residency applicable to this
category from an accredited program, or completed one year of full time training in
medical physics and an additional year of full time work experience under the direct

supervision of a certified individual as provided in paragraph (D)(1) or (D)(2) of this rule or a
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

radiation expert certified in diagnostic radiation-generating equipment in developing and
performing oversight of quality assurance for diagnostic radiation-generating equipment.

An applicant for radiation expert certification for the category of therapeutic radiation-
generating equipment shall have at least one of the following:

(1) Certification by the "American Board of Radiology" in one of the following:
(a) Therapeutic radiologic physics;
(b) Therapeutic medical physics;
(c) Roentgen-ray and gamma-ray physics;
(d) X-ray and radium physics;
(e) Radiologic physics; or

(2) Certification by the "American Board of Medical Physics in Radiation Oncology Physics";
or

(3) Certification by the "Canadian College of Physicists in Medicine in Radiation Oncology
Physics"; or

(4) A master's or doctor's degree in physics, medical physics, other physical science,
engineering, or applied mathematics from an accredited college or university; and

(a) Have completed a clinical residency applicable to this category from an accredited
program, or one year of full time training in medical physics and an additional year of
full time work experience under the supervision of a board certified medical physicist
who meets the qualifications of paragraph (C)(1), (C)(2) or (C)(3) of this rule at a
medical institution. This training and work experience shall be conducted in clinical
radiation facilities that provide high-energy external beam radiation therapy with
photons and electrons with energies greater than or equal to one MV or one MeV;
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

(b) The individual shall have performed the applicable tasks listed in rules 3701:1-67-
08 and 3701:1-67-09 of the Administrative Code under the supervision of a qualified
medical physicist during the year of work experience; and

(c) Obtain certification pursuant to paragraph (C)(1), (C)(2), or (C)(3) of this rule within
five years of qualifying under paragraph (C)(4) of this rule.

Experience requirements Therapy:

Master's or doctor's degree in physics, medical physics, other physical science, engineering,
or applied mathematics from an accredited college or university; and

(a) Have completed a clinical residency applicable to this category from an accredited
program, or one year of full time training in medical physics and an additional year of
full time work experience under the supervision of a board certified medical physicist
who meets the qualifications of paragraph (C)(1), (C)(2) or (C)(3) of this rule at a
medical institution. This training and work experience shall be conducted in clinical
radiation facilities that provide high-energy external beam radiation therapy with
photons and electrons with energies greater than or equal to one MV or one MeV;

(b) The individual shall have performed the applicable tasks listed in rules 3701:1-67-
08 and 3701:1-67-09 of the Administrative Code under the supervision of a qualified
medical physicist during the year of work experience; and

(c) Obtain certification pursuant to paragraph (C)(1), (C)(2), or (C)(3) of this rule within
five years of qualifying under paragraph (C)(4) of this rule.

Mammography:

A master's degree or higher in a physical science from an accredited college or university, and at
least the following:
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

(a) Twenty semester hours or thirty quarter hours of graduate or undergraduate level
physics;

(b) Twenty contact hours of documented specialized training in conducting surveys of
mammography facilities; and

(c) Have the experience of conducting surveys of at least ten mammography x-ray units
under the direct supervision of a certified individual as provided in paragraph (E)(1) or
(E)(2) of this rule or a radiation expert certified in mammography.

Diagnostic:

Master's degree or doctorate from an accredited college or university in physics, biophysics,
medical physics, radiological physics or health physics, engineering, or applied mathematics with
a minor in physics; and completed a clinical residency applicable to this category from an
accredited program, or completed one year of full time training in medical physics and an
additional year of full time work experience under the direct supervision of a certified individual
as provided in paragraph (D)(1) or (D)(2) of this rule or a radiation expert certified in diagnostic
radiation-generating equipment in developing and performing oversight of quality assurance for
diagnostic radiation-generating equipment.

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Department receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

No examination.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

Each certified radiation expert shall obtain continuing education for each certification period in
accordance with the following:

(1) Certified radiation experts having certification in one category specified in paragraph (A)
of this rule shall obtain fifteen hours of continuing education pertaining to the category of
certification;

(2) Certified radiation experts having certification in two categories specified in paragraph
(A) of this rule shall obtain twenty hours of continuing education pertaining to one or both
categories of certification; and

(3) Certified radiation experts having certification in three categories specified in paragraph
(A) of this rule shall obtain twenty-five hours of continuing education pertaining to one or
more categories of certification.

(4) Individuals in active military service during the certification renewal period may have
the continuing education period extended in accordance with section 5903.12 of the
Revised Code.

Initial fee

$100 per category

Duration

2 Years

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)

$100 per category

Does the Department recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

No.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Are there any similar national No.
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Are there any circumstances in which an No, to be a CRE you must have certification
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Department?

Is the Department permitted to exercise No, they must meet the requirements in the Ohio Administrative Code 3701:1-66-03
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Other information (Significant attributes N/A
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

Ohio Revised Code 3748.04
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal

fees)? How is that revenue used?

Initial and Renewals for 2023 was $20,000.00

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Federal Law does not require the state to regulate the occupation. There are Federal Regulations for MQSA 21 CFR Part 900 regulates the
individual but not the state.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The regulation seeks to protect consumers and handlers from present, significant, and substantiated harms that threaten public health,
safety, or welfare from radiation-generating equipment.
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

Yes, we make sure the individuals testing the equipment have the proper education and experience. There is nothing less restrictive.

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?

Not at this time.

Certified radiation expert
Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of September 17, 2024)

Ohio law requires hospitals to develop a quality assurance program for all sources of radiation-generating equipment. A
certified radiation expert must conduct oversight and maintenance of a hospital’s quality assurance program. An individual may be
licensed in three categories — diagnostic radiation-generating equipment, therapeutic radiation-generating equipment, or
mammography radiation-generating equipment.8” To be issued a certified radiation expert license, an individual must pay a $100
license fee and meet the requirements for one of the following categories:

* Diagnostic equipment — (1) certification from the American Board of Radiology (ABR) or American Board of Medical Physics
(ABMP) or (2) a master’s or doctorate degree in physics, biophysics, medical physics, radiological or health physics, engineering,

87 R.C. 3748.12 and 3748.13. See also Ohio Dept. of Health, Certified Radiation Expert (CRE).
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or applied mathematics with a physics minor and either a clinical residency or one year of full-time training in medical physics
and one year of full-time supervised work experience.

* Therapeutic equipment — (1) certification from the ABR, ABMP, or Canadian College of Physicists in Medicine or (2) a master’s
or doctorate degree in physics, medical physics, other physical science, engineering, or applied mathematics and either a
clinical residency or one year of full-time training in medical physics and one year of full-time supervised work experience.

=  Mammography equipment — (1) certification from the ABR or ABMP or (2) a master’s degree or higher in a physical science
with course work in physics and 20 hours of training in surveying mammography facilities and supervised experience surveying
at least ten mammography x-ray units.

A license is valid for two years and may be renewed by completing continuing education and paying a $100 per category of
license held renewal fee. A license holder certified in one category must complete 15 hours of continuing education, 20 hours for two
categories, and 25 hours for all three categories.®®

Pennsylvania law specifies the education, training, and experience requirements for a qualified expert who conducts surveys
of therapeutic x-ray systems or qualified medical physicist who conducts surveys and other quality control procedures for computed
tomography x-ray systems. A qualified expert must hold a certification from the ABR, ABMP, or American Board of Health Physics and
have additional training and experience if the expert works with radiation therapy calibrations or diagnostic x-ray performance
evaluations. A qualified medical physicist must meet requirements similar to the Ohio requirements for a certified radiation expert
license, by either holding a certification from a national certifying body or holding an appropriate degree with three years of relevant
clinical training and experience.®°

While Indiana, Kentucky, and West Virginia do not require a separate license to conduct oversight of a facility’s quality
assurance program, an individual conducting safety audits or other surveys of the facility generally must hold a private certification or
meet specified education, training, and experience requirements.’® Michigan law is silent regarding personnel qualifications for
facilities utilizing radiation machines.

88 R.C. 3748.12; 0.A.C. 3701:1-66-03.
89 25 Pa. Code 215.2, 221.2, 221.73, and 221.204.
%0 See 410 Ind. Admin. Code 5-6.1-118; W. Va. Code R. 64-23-7; Ky. Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Qualifications for Qualified Expert.
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Radiologic occupations (X-ray machine operator, radiographer, radiation therapist,
nuclear medicine technologist)

Survey response (DOH)

Each radiologic licensee shall operate ionizing radiation-generating equipment or use radiopharmaceuticals in accordance with the
documented quality assurance and radiation protection programs required under the rules adopted pursuant to Chapter 3748. of the Revised
Code.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

Radiographer is an individual who operates ionizing radiation-generating equipment, administers contrast, and determines procedure
positioning and the dosage of ionizing radiation in order to perform a comprehensive scope of radiology procedures on human beings.

Radiation therapist is an individual who utilizes ionizing radiation-generating equipment including therapy simulator radiation-generating
equipment for therapeutic purposes on human beings.

Nuclear medicine technologist is an individual, other than a licensed practitioner, who prepares and administers radio-pharmaceuticals to a
patient and conducts in vivo or in vitro detection and measurement of radioactivity for medical purposes.

General x-ray machine operator is an individual who operates ionizing radiation-generating equipment in order to perform standard,
radiology procedures; whose performance of such procedures is limited to specific body sites; and who does not, to any significant degree,
determine procedure positioning or the dosage of radiation to which a patient is exposed.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually Calendar Year 2023 New Licenses
General X-ray Machine Operator- 91
Radiographer- 996

Radiation Therapist- 114

Nuclear Medicine Technologist- 67

Number renewed annually Calendar Year 2023 Renewal Licenses
General X-ray Machine Operator- 240
Radiographer- 5,452

Radiation Therapist- 369

Nuclear Medicine Technologist- 443

Have there been significant increases or No.
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding

six years?

Education or training requirements Evidence that the applicant successfully completed an educational program for the applicable
license category accredited by the department under rule 3701-72-03 of the Administrative
Code.

Experience requirements Evidence that the applicant successfully completed an educational program for the applicable

license category accredited by the department under rule 3701-72-03 of the Administrative
Code.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Department receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

GXMO exam is provided by RadEd. The exam is giving at multiple test centers throughout Ohio.
The cost of the examination is $150.00. The Department does not receive any fees.

Radiographer, Radiation Therapist, and Nuclear Medicine Technologist may submit proof of their
active national license from American Registry of Radiologic Technologists or Nuclear Medicine
Technology Certification Board.

If the Radiographer, Radiation Therapist, and Nuclear Medicine Technologist does not have a
national certification they can demonstrate the educational requirements to take the Ohio state
examination administered by American Registry of Radiologic Technologists. The cost of the
exam given by American Registry of Radiologic Technologists is $150.00.

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

GXMO- 12 CEs every two years

Any individual applying to renew a general x-ray machine operator license shall have completed
twelve CE credits before the license expiration date

Radiographer, Radiation Therapist, and Nuclear Medicine Technologist- 24 CE’s every two years

Any individual applying to renew a radiographer, nuclear medicine technologist or radiation
therapist license shall have completed twenty-four CE credits before the license expiration date.

A radiographer, nuclear medicine technologist, or radiation therapist renewing a license who is
currently certified and in good standings with the continuing education requirements of the
"American Registry of Radiologic Technologists" may submit evidence of this certification as
proof of meeting the continuing education requirement set forth in paragraph (J) of this rule. A
nuclear medicine technologist renewing a license who is currently certified and in good
standings with the continuing education requirements of the "Nuclear Medicine Technology
Certification Board," may submit evidence of this certification, as proof of meeting the
continuing education requirement set forth in paragraph (J) of this rule.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

please explain why.)

Initial fee $65.00
Duration Two years
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, $45.00

Does the Department recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Yes, for Radiographer, Radiation Therapist, and Nuclear Medicine Technologist through
American Registry of Radiologic Technologists and Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification
Board.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

American Registry of Radiologic Technologists and Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification
Board are the national certifications. If a Radiographer, Radiation Therapist, and Nuclear
Medicine Technologist holds this certification they meet the examination and education
requirements for a license. If they are not certified by American Registry of Radiologic
Technologists and Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board they must take the Ohio
examination provided by American Registry of Radiologic Technologists.

General X-ray Machine Operators must take the Ohio examination provided by RadEd.

Are there any circumstances in which an
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Department?

No.

Is the Department permitted to exercise
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

No, they must meet requirements of Ohio Administrative Code 3701-72.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Other information (Significant attributes N/A
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

Ohio Revised Code 4773.08

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal

fees)? How is that revenue used?

For Calendar Year 2023:
New Licenses Revenue: $82,420.00
Renewal Licenses Revenue: $300,040.00

All application fees received shall be deposited in the general operations fund specified in section 3701.83 of the Revised Code to be used for
the administration and enforcement of Chapter 4773. of the Revised Code. The revenue is used to process the applications.
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Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The Federal Law does not require the state to regulate the occupation.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The regulation seeks to prevent individuals who have not completed an educational program and passed an examination from operating
radiation-generating equipment.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

Yes, the Department reviews all licenses at each facility we inspect to assure everyone operating radiation-generating equipment holds the
appropriate license.
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Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?

Not at this time.

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of September 12, 2024)

The radiologic license, in Ohio, covers four different occupations: X-ray machine operator, radiographer, radiation therapist,
nuclear medicine technologist. Other states regulate these occupations differently. Thus, the report contains four tables to cover this
license, to demonstrate the varying regulations.

X-ray Machine Operator

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Type of regulation | License No clear License No clear License No clear
(Name of (X-ray machine equivalent (General limited equivalent (Auxiliary equivalent
regulation) operator license) x-ray machine personnel
(R.C. 4773.02) operator license) pedrfolrm!ng
(Ky. Rev. Stat. racio gglc )
311B.090) procedures
(63 P.S. 422.45)
Education or Educational N/A Postsecondary N/A N/A N/A
training program educational
approved by the program with 240
Ohio Department classroom hours
of Health and and 360 clinical
competency- hours approved
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X-ray Machine Operator

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

based clinical by the Kentucky

training modules Board of Medical

(0.A.C. 3701-72- ::‘Z_g':_g ar}‘:\

02, 3701-72-03, adiation Therapy

and 3701-72-04) (201 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 46:081)

Experience Must be at least N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
18 years of age
(R.C. 4773.03)

Exam Yes, unless the N/A Yes; limited scope | N/A Yes; limited exam | N/A
applicant holds a radiography exam in radiography
certification from administered by administered by
the American ARRT ARRT
Eei{sﬁry of (201 Ky. Admin. (49 Pa. Code
Ta }'10 °|g'c, . Regs. 46:081) 18.202 and

echnologists 18.203)
(ARRT) or
American
Chiropractic
Registry of
Radiologic
Technologists
(R.C. 4773.03)

Continuing 12 hours every N/A 12 hours every N/A N/A N/A

education two years two years, with

six hours in
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X-ray Machine Operator

Ohio

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

(O.A.C. 3701-72-
02)

radiation safety or
medical imaging

(201 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 46:060 and
46:081)

Initial licensure S65 N/A $100 license fee N/A $25 exam fee N/A
fee (0.A.C. 3701-72- plus 52 d5 fexamt_fee (49 Pa. Code
02) (walve“or active 16.13)
duty military
members)
(Ky. Rev. Stat.
311B.140; 201 Ky.
Admin. Regs.
46:020)
License duration Two years N/A One year N/A N/A N/A
(R.C. 4773.03) (201 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 46:081)
Renewal fee S45 N/A S50 (waived for N/A N/A N/A

(0.A.C. 3701-72-
02)

active duty
military members)

(Ky. Rev. Stat.
311B.140; 201 Ky.
Admin. Regs.
46:020)
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Radiographer

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Type of regulation | License License License No clear License License
(Name of (Radiographer (Radiologic (Radiographer equivalent (Auxiliary (Radiologic
regulation) license) technologist license) personnel — technologist
(R.C. 4773.02) license) (Ky. Rev. Stat. :ad;]ololgm_ X license)
(Ind. Code 16-41- | 311B.090) echnologist) (W. Va. Code 30-
35-26) (63 P.S. 422.45) 23-2)
Education or Educational Radiologic Accredited N/A Radiography High school
training program technology radiography certification diploma or
approved by the certification educational issued by ARRT equivalent and an
thll-|0 Dlir[:\)artment issued by ARRT prggram ahnd (49 Pa. Code ac;re;jltgd
othea (410 Ind. Admin. | ™ t'_c:cfgrat? y 18.202) ;a ;‘0 °Ig'c
(0.A.C. 3701-72- | Code 5.2-6-1) certl (chz 'OA”RRT echno oiy
02 and 3701-72- issued by programd ro:l aT
03) (210 Ky. Admin. approved schoo
Regs. 46:040; Ky. (W. Va. Code 30-
Bd. of Medical 23-9)
Imaging and
Radiation
Therapy, License
Application -
Medical Imaging
or Radiation
Therapy (PDF
Experience Must be at least N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

18 years of age
(R.C. 4773.03)
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Radiographer

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Exam Yes, unless the N/A Yes; radiography N/A Yes; radiography Yes
applicant !’1.0|dS. an exarT.m . exam _ (W. Va. Code 30-
ARRT certification administered by administered by 23-9)
(R.C. 4773.03) ARRT ARRT
(201 Ky. Admin. (49 Pa. Code
Regs. 46:040) 18.202 and
18.203)
Continuing 24 hours every N/A 24 hours every N/A N/A 24 hours every
education two years two years two years
(O.A.C. 3701-72- (201 Ky. Admin. (W. Va. Code R.
02) Regs. 46:060) 18-2-3)
Initial licensure $65 (S15 if the $60 $100 (waived for | N/A $25 exam fee $92 application
fee applicant :glds an (Ind. Code 16-41- ac.tl!:c/e duty ers) (49 Pa. Code :ee (plus. $9d2fexam
X-ray Tacr ine ) 35-29; 410 Ind. military members 16.13) Iee walve or
OPEratorficensel | admin. code 5.2- | (Ky. Rev. Stat. ,Og",':jw’re .
(0.A.C.3701-72- | 4-8) 311B.140; 201 Ky. navigua’s an
. military members
02) Admin. Regs. thei
46:020) or their spouses)
(W. Va. Code R.
18-1-2 and 18-1-
4)
License duration Two years Two years One year N/A N/A One year

(R.C. 4773.03)

(Ind. Code 16-41-
35-29; 410 Ind.

(201 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 46:040)

(W. Va. Code 30-
23-22)
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Radiographer

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Admin. Code 5.2-
4-2)

Renewal fee

845

(0.A.C. 3701-72-
02)

$60

(Ind. Code 16-41-
35-29; 410 Ind.
Admin. Code 5.2-
4-8)

S50 (waived for
active duty
military members)

(Ky. Rev. Stat.
311B.140; 201 Ky.
Admin. Regs.
46:020)

N/A

N/A

$60 (waived for
military members
or their spouses if
the member is on
active duty)

(W. Va. Code R.
18-1-2 and 18-1-
4)

Radiation Therapy Technologist

(GIERGE] Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Type of regulation | License License License No clear License License
(Name of (Radiation (Radiation (Radiation equivalent (Auxiliary (Radiation
regulation) therapy therapist license) | therapist license) personnel — therapist license)
;c.echnologlst (Ind. Code 16-41- | (Ky. Rev. Stat. :z;dmtl?r; (W. Va. Code 30-
icense) 35-26) 311B.090) erapist) 23-2)
(R.C. 4773.02) (63 P.S. 422.45)
Education or Educational Radiation therapy | Accredited N/A Radiation therapy | High school
training program certification radiation certification diploma or
approved by the issued by ARRT therapist issued by ARRT equivalent and an
educational accredited
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Radiation Therapy Technologist

Ohio

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Ohio Department | (410 Ind. Admin. program and (49 Pa. Code radiation therapy
of Health Code 5.2-7-1) radiation therapy 18.202) program from an
(0.A.C. 3701-72- Fertification approved school
02 and 3701-72- issued by ARRT (W. Va. Code 30-
03) (210 Ky. Admin. 23-9)
Regs. 46:040; Ky.
Bd. of Medical
Imaging and
Radiation
Therapy, License
Application -
Medical Imaging
or Radiation
Therapy (PDF,
Experience Must be at least N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
18 years of age
(R.C. 4773.03)
Exam Yes, unless the N/A Yes; radiation N/A Yes; radiation Yes

applicant holds an
ARRT certification

(R.C. 4773.03)

therapy exam
administered by
ARRT

(201 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 46:040)

therapy
technology exam
administered by
ARRT

(49 Pa. Code
18.202 and
18.203)

(W. Va. Code 30-
23-9)
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Radiation Therapy Technologist

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Continuing 24 hours every N/A 24 hours every N/A N/A 24 hours every
education two years two years two years
(O.A.C. 3701-72- (201 Ky. Admin. (W. Va. Code R.
02) Regs. 46:060) 18-2-3)
Initial licensure $65 $60 $100 (waived for | N/A $25 exam fee $92 application
fee (0.A.C. 3701-72- | (410 Ind. Admin. ac_tl'_‘t’e duty ] (49 Pa. Code :ee plus 59 d2 am
02) Code 5.2-4-8) military members) 16.13) Iee (}Nalve or
(Ky. Rev. Stat. _O;V,_I_ZCOTE g
311B.140; 201 Ky. individuals an
. military members
Admin. Regs. thei
46:020) or their spouses)
(W. Va. Code R.
18-1-2 and 18-1-
4)
License duration Two years Two years One year N/A N/A One year
(R.C. 4773.03) (Ind. Code 16-41- | (201 Ky. Admin. (W. Va. Code 30-
35-29; 410 Ind. Regs. 46:040) 23-22)
Admin. Code 5.2-
4-2)
Renewal fee S45 S60 $50 (waived for N/A N/A $60 (waived for
(0.A.C. 3701-72- | (410 Ind. Admin. ac_tl'_‘t’e duty pers m"t':"r,y member:;
02) Code 5.2-4-8) military members or their spouses i

(Ky. Rev. Stat.
311B.140; 201 Ky.

the member is on
active duty)
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Radiation Therapy Technologist

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Admin. Regs.
46:020)

(W. Va. Code R.
18-1-2 and 18-1-
4)

Nuclear Medicine Technologist

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Type of regulation | License License License No clear License License
(Name of (Nuclear medicine | (Nuclear medicine | (Nuclear medicine equivalent (Auxiliary (Nuclear medicine
regulation) technologist technologist technologist personnel — technologist
license) license) license) nuclear medicine | license)
(R.C. 4773.02) (Ind. Code 16-41- | (Ky. Rev. Stat. technologist) (W. Va. Code 30-
35-26) 311B.090) (63 P.S. 422.45) 23-2)
Education or Educational Nuclear medicine | Accredited N/A Nuclear medicine | High school
training program technology nuclear medicine technology diploma or
approved by the certification technologist certification equivalent and
Ohio Department | issued by ARRT or | educational issued by ARRT or | either an

of Health

(0.A.C. 3701-72-
02 and 3701-72-
03)

the Nuclear
Medicine
Technology
Certification
Board (NMTCB)

(410 Ind. Admin.
Code 5.2-8-1)

program and
nuclear medicine
technology
certification
issued by ARRT or
NMTCB

(210 Ky. Admin.
Regs. 46:040; Ky.

NMTCB

(49 Pa. Code
18.202)

associate’s or
bachelor’s degree
in a relevant
physical or
biological science
or with specified
courses or an
applicable
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Nuclear Medicine Technologist

Indiana

Kentucky

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Bd. of Medical
Imaging and

national
certification

Radiation (W. Va. Code 30-
Therapy, License 23-15)
Application -
Medical Imaging
or Radiation
Therapy (PDF
Experience Must be at least N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
18 years of age
(R.C. 4773.03)
Exam Yes, unless the N/A Yes; nuclear N/A Yes; nuclear Yes
applicant holds an medicine medicine (W. Va. Code 30-
ARRT or NMTCB technology exam technology exam 23-15)
certification administered by administered by
(R.C. 4773.03) ARRT or NMTCB ARRT
(201 Ky. Admin. (49 Pa. Code
Regs. 46:040) 18.202 and
18.203)
Continuing 24 hours every N/A 24 hours every N/A N/A 24 hours every
education two years two years two years
(0.A.C. 3701-72- (201 Ky. Admin. (W. Va. Code R.
02) Regs. 46:060) 18-2-3)
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Nuclear Medicine Technologist

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Initial licensure $65 $60 $100 (waived for | N/A $25 exam fee $92 application
fee (0.A.C. 3701-72- | (410 Ind. Admin. ac_tl'_‘t’e duty ] (49 Pa. Code ]‘:ee plus 59 dz e
02) Code 5.2-4-8) military members) 16.13) Iee (}Nalve or
(Ky. Rev. Stat. _O:_I_ZCOTE g
311B.140; 201 Ky. individuals an
. military members
Admin. Regs. thei
46:020) or their spouses)
(W. Va. Code R.
18-1-2 and 18-1-
4)
License duration Two years Two years One year N/A N/A One year
(R.C. 4773.03) (Ind. Code 16-41- | (201 Ky. Admin. (W. Va. Code 30-
35-29; 410 Ind. Regs. 46:040) 23-22)
Admin. Code 5.2-
4-2)
Renewal fee S45 S60 S50 (waived for N/A N/A S60 (waived for
(0.A.C. 3701-72- | (410 Ind. Admin. ac_tl'_‘t’e duty X m'::lafy member_sf
02) Code 5.2-4-8) military members) or their SpOU‘SESI
the member is on
(Ky. Rev. Stat. tive dut
311B.140; 201 Ky. active duty)
Admin. Regs. (W. Va. Code R.
46:020) 18-1-2 and 18-1-
4)

Page | 645

Occupational Regulation



Radon mitigation contractor
Survey response (DOH)

Radon mitigation contractor means a business or government entity which performs or authorizes employees to perform radon mitigation.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License.

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 66

Number renewed annually 66
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Have there been significant increases or
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding
six years?

No.

Education or training requirements

The business must employ at least one licensed Mitigation specialist.

Experience requirements

N/A

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Department receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

N/A

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

N/A

Initial fee S0 for a business where one Radon mitigation specialist has to own more than 50% of the
business. There is an initial fee of $800 if the owner employs multiple Radon Mitigation
Specialist.

Duration 2 years
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee,
please explain why.)

Same as initial fee structure.

Does the Department recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Yes.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

No.

Are there any circumstances in which an
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Department?

No.

Is the Department permitted to exercise
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Yes, ODH could refuse to issue or renew a license. This would include reviewing history for non-
compliance/enforcement issue history. Not renewing a license would mean an opportunity for a
hearing under Chapter 119.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

R.C.3723/0.A.C. 3701-69

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal

fees)? How is that revenue used?

$14,000 estimated annual revenue. The revenue used to administer the radon licensing program.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The US EPA has recognized “Radon Standards of Practice,” established in coordination with American National Standards Institute (ANSI) &
Indoor Environments Association. The US EPA Indoor Radon Reduction Act (IRAA) required the US EPA to create regulatory framework and the
Radon Gas and Indoor Air Quality Research Act classified radon as a known human carcinogen. No, federal law does not require the state to
regulate the occupation.
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

Lung Cancer prevention.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

Yes, the regulation is effective.

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?

Not at this time.
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of September 3, 2024)

Radon Mitigation Contractor

Type of regulation | Registration No clear No clear No clear Registration License
(Name of (Radon mitigation equivalent equivalent equivalent (Mitigator firm (Radon mitigation
regulation) contractor certification) contractor
license) (63 P.S. 2006) license)
(R.C. 3723.02) (W. Va. Code 16-
34-3)
Education or N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A Training approved
training by the Director of
Health
(W. Va. Code R.
64-78-5)
Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A Yes
(W. Va. Code R.
64-78-5)
Continuing N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
education
Initial licensure $800 (no fee if the | N/A N/A N/A $1,050 $100 (no fee if the
fee appl|c‘ant is a sole (25 Pa. Code appllc.a:t is a sole
proprietor) 240.999a, proprietor)
Appendix A)
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Radon Mitigation Contractor

Ohio

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

(O.A.C. 3701-69-
05)

(W. Va. Code R.
64-78-5 and 64-
78-13)

License duration Two years N/A N/A N/A Two years One year
(R.C. 3723.06) (25 Pa. Code (W. Va. Code 16-
240.202) 34-5)
Renewal fee $800 N/A N/A N/A $1,050 $100
(O.A.C. 3701-69- (25 Pa. Code (W. Va. Code R.
05) 240.999a, 64-78-13)
Appendix A)

Radon mitigation specialist

Survey response (DOH)

Radon mitigation specialist means an individual who performs radon testing; provides professional or expert advice on radon testing, radon
exposure, health risks related to radon exposure, radon mitigation, or radon entry routes; provides on-site supervision of radon mitigation; or
holds himself or herself out as doing any of the foregoing.
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License.

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 103

Number renewed annually 103

Have there been significant increases or No.
decreases in active registrations,
certifications or licenses in the preceding

six years?
Education or training requirements 40 hours.
Experience requirements N/A

Page | 653 Occupational Regulation



If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Examination requirements (Who Exams are administered by independent third parties approved by the director, currently either
administers the exam? How is the exam National Radon Proficiency Program (cost $150) or Nation Radon Safety Board (cost $120). ODH
and administrator selected? What fees are | does not receive revenue related to the examination requirements.

charged? Does the Department receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

Continuing education requirements During each two-year licensing period, successfully complete at least sixteen hours of the
(Including a description of the curriculum continuing education of which eight hours must be specific to radon mitigation that the director
and the process of setting it.) has approved for continuing education credit.

Initial fee $600

Duration 2 years

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, S600
please explain why.)

Does the Department recognize uniform Yes.
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Are there any similar national Yes, NRPP and NRSB certifications.
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

No, the above certifications could not be used as a substitute.
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Are there any circumstances in which an No.
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Department?

Is the Department permitted to exercise Yes, ODH could refuse to issue or renew a license. This would include reviewing history for non-
discretion in determining whether to compliance/enforcement issue history. Not renewing a license would mean an opportunity for a
register, certify, or license an individual? hearing under Chapter 119.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

R.C.3723/0.A.C. 3701-69
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal

fees)? How is that revenue used?

$62,000 annual revenue. The annual revenue is used to administer the radon licensing program.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The US EPA has recognized “Radon Standards of Practice”, established in coordination with American National Standards Institute (ANSI) &
Indoor Environments Association. The US EPA Indoor Radon Reduction Act (IRAA) required the US EPA to create regulatory framework and the
Radon Gas and Indoor Air Quality Research Act classified radon as a known human carcinogen. No, federal law does not require the state to
regulate the occupation.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

Lung cancer prevention.
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

Yes, the regulation is effective.

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?

Not at this time.

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of September 3, 2024)

Radon Mitigation Specialist

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Type of regulation

(Name of
regulation)

License

(Radon mitigation
specialist license)

(R.C. 3723.02)

License

(Radon mitigator
certificate)

(Ind. Code 16-41-
38-5)

License

(Mitigation
contractor
certification)

(Ky. Rev. Stat.
309.436)

No clear
equivalent

License

(Mitigator
certification)

(63 P.S. 2006)

License

(Radon mitigation
specialist license)

(W. Va. Code 16-
34-3)
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Radon Mitigation Specialist

Indiana

Kentucky

Michigan

Pennsylvania

West Virginia

Education or 16-hour radon Radon mitigation | Radon mitigation | N/A Radon mitigation | Training approved
training measurement specialist specialist course approved by the Director of

training course certification from | certification from by the Health

and 20-h.o.ur . the NRPP or NRSB | the NRPP or NRSB Department of (W. Va. Code R.

radon mitigation | 11 1no Admin. | (Ky. Rev. Stat. Environmental 64-78-5)

.tra|n|n.g course, Code 5.1-1-26; 309.430 and Protection

L”;L‘:S';‘f;::{;s_on Ind. Dept. of 309.440) (25 Pa. Code

. Health, 240.112)

field work at a L

L . Application for

mitigation site Radon

(O.A.C. 3701-69- Tester/Mitigator

04, 3701-69-06, License (PDF))

and 3701-69-10)
Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A One year of N/A

experience in
radon mitigation
system
installation or
three years of
experience in
architecture,
engineering,
electrical
contracting,
plumbing,
carpentry,
masonry, or
related trades
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Radon Mitigation Specialist

Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
(25 Pa. Code
240.112)
Exam Yes Yes N/A N/A Yes Yes
(O.A.C. 3701-69- (410 Ind. Admin. (25 Pa. Code (W. Va. Code R.
04 and 3701-69- Code 5.1-1-26) 240.112) 64-78-5)
06)
Continuing 16 hours every N/A N/A N/A 16 hours every N/A
education two years two years
(0.A.C. 3701-69- (25 Pa. Code
08) 240.306)
Initial licensure $600 $100 $500 N/A $450 $100
fee (0.A.C. 3701-69- | (410 Ind. Admin. | (902 Ky. Admin. (25 Pa. Code (W. Va. Code R.
04) Code 5.1-1-26) Regs. 95:040) 240.999a, 64-78-13)
Appendix A)
License duration Two years Two years Two years N/A Two years One year
(R.C. 3723.06) (410 Ind. Admin. (902 Ky. Admin. (25 Pa. Code (W. Va. Code 16-
Code 5.1-1-22) Regs. 95:040) 240.202) 34-5)
Renewal fee $600 $100 $500 N/A $450 $100
(0.A.C. 3701-69- (410 Ind. Admin. (902 Ky. Admin. (25 Pa. Code (W. Va. Code R.
04) Code 5.1-1-26) Regs. 95:040) 240.999q, 64-78-13)
Appendix A)
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Radon tester
Survey response (DOH)

Radon tester means any individual who performs a test to determine the presence and concentration of radon; provides professional or
expert advice on radon testing, radon exposure, or health risks related to radon exposure; or holds himself or herself out as doing any of the
foregoing.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process

regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License.

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Number issued annually 247

Number renewed annually 247
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Have there been significant increases or No.
decreases in active registrations,

certifications or licenses in the preceding

six years?

Education or training requirements 16 hours.
Experience requirements N/A

Examination requirements (Who
administers the exam? How is the exam
and administrator selected? What fees are
charged? Does the Department receive any
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the
proceeds used?)

Exams are administered by independent third parties approved by the director. Currently the
exam options are either National Radon Proficiency Program (cost $150) or National Radon Safety
Board (cost $120). ODH does not receive revenue related to the examination requirements.

Continuing education requirements
(Including a description of the curriculum
and the process of setting it.)

During each two-year licensing period, successfully complete at least sixteen hours of continuing
education relevant to radon testing that the director has approved for continuing education
credit.

Initial fee $400
Duration 2 years
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, $400

please explain why.)
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Does the Department recognize uniform
licensure requirements or allow for
reciprocity?

Yes.

Are there any similar national
registrations, certifications, or licenses?
Could they be used as a substitute for the
state regulation?

Yes, NRPP and NRSV national certifications are available. They cannot be used as a substitute for
the state regulation.

Are there any circumstances in which an
individual may practice elements of the
occupation without being regulated by
the Department?

No.

Is the Department permitted to exercise
discretion in determining whether to
register, certify, or license an individual?

Yes, ODH could refuse to issue or renew a license. This would include reviewing history for non-
compliance/enforcement issue history. Not renewing a license would mean an opportunity for a
hearing under Chapter 119.

Other information (Significant attributes
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed
in this chart.)
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

R.C.3723/0.A.C. 3701-69

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal

fees)? How is that revenue used?

$100,000 annual revenue. The revenue is used to administer the radon licensing program.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

The US EPA has recognized “Radon Standards of Practice”, established in coordination with American national Standards Institute (ANSI) &
Indoor Environments Association. The US EPA Indoor Radon Reduction Act (IRAA) required the US EPA to create regulatory framework and the
Radon Gas and Indoor Air Quality Research Act classified radon as a known human carcinogen. No, federal law does not require the state to
regulate the occupation.
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

Lung cancer prevention.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

Yes, the regulation is effective.

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?

Not at this time.
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of September 3, 2024)

Radon Tester

Type of regulation | License License License No clear License License
(Name of (Radon tester (Primary or (Measurement equivalent (Primary or (Radon tester
regulation) license) secondary radon contractor secondary tester license)
(R.C. 3723.02) tester certificate) | certification) certification) (W. Va. Code 16-
(Ind. Code 16-41- | (Ky. Rev. Stat. (63 P.S. 2006) 34-3)
38-5) 309.436)
Education or 16-hour radon Applicable radon | Applicable radon N/A Radon Training approved
training measurement measurement measurement measurement by the Director of
training course certification from | certification from proficiency Health
(0.A.C. 3701-69- ’:{hedNatFion?I. the NRPP or NRSB programcI - (W. Va. Code R.
03, 3701-69-06, Pa on r°N';';:CV (Ky. Rev. Stat. aDppro‘t’e Z fe 64-78-5)
and 3701-69-10) | "ro8ram (NRPP) 1 555 120 and epartment o
or National Radon Environmental
309.438) .
Safety Board Protection
(NRSB) (25 Pa. Code
(410 Ind. Admin. 240.102 and
Code 5.1-1-23 and 240.307)
5.1-1-24; Ind.
Dept. of Health,
Application for
Radon
Tester/Mitigator
License (PDF))
Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
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Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Exam Yes Yes N/A N/A Yes Yes
(O.A.C. 3701-69- (410 Ind. Admin. (25 Pa. Code (W. Va. Code R.
03 and 3701-69- Code 5.1-1-23 and 240.102) 64-78-5)
06) 5.1-1-24)
Continuing 16 hours every N/A N/A N/A 16 hours every N/A
education two years two years
(0.A.C. 3701-69- (25 Pa. Code
07) 240.306)
Initial licensure $400 $100 $500 N/A $525 ($150 if an S50
fee (0.A.C. 3701-69- | (410 Ind. Admin. | (902 Ky. Admin. emtp_:fyj?, of a (W. Va. Code R.
03) Code 5.1-1-23 and | Regs. 95:040) certified firm) 64-78-13)
5.1-1-24) (25 Pa. Code
240.999q,
Appendix A)
License duration Two years Two years Two years N/A Two years One year
(R.C. 3723.06) (410 Ind. Admin. (902 Ky. Admin. (25 Pa. Code (W. Va. Code 16-
Code 5.1-1-22) Regs. 95:040) 240.202) 34-5)
Renewal fee S400 $100 S500 N/A $525 ($150 if an S50
(0.A.C. 3701-69- | (410 Ind. Admin. | (902 Ky. Admin. ems:fyji of ;" (W. Va. Code R.
03) Code 5.1-1-23 and | Regs. 95:040) certified firm 64-78-13)
5.1-1-24) (25 Pa. Code
240.999q,
Appendix A)
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