Ohio's sex offender registry includes over 20,000 offenders

Registered, Nonincarcerated Sex Offenders in Ohio, July 2024			
Sex Offender Classification System	Juvenile Offenders	Adult Offenders	Total Offenders
Sex Offender Registration and Notification (SORN) Law	1,087	14,010	15,097
Tier I: Required to register for 15 years (adults) or 10 years (juveniles) and verify address annually	556	4,420	4,976
Tier II: Required to register for 25 years (adults) or 20 years (juveniles) and verify address every 180 days	341	6,631	6,972
Tier III: Required to register for life and verify address every 90 days	188	2,943	3,131
Pending: Offenders moved to Ohio from other states	2	16	18
Megan's Law (pre-S.B. 10)	107	5,534	5,641
Sexual offender/child-victim offender: Required to register annually for 10 years	29	1,042	1,071
Habitual offender: Required to register annually for 20 years	12	401	413
Sexual predator/child-victim predator: Required to register every 90 days for life	66	4,091	4,157
Grand Total	1,194	19,544	20,738

- As of July 2024, Ohio had 20,738 registered, nonincarcerated sex offenders.
 - Of this total, 94% (19,544) were adults and 6% (1,194) were juveniles based on their age at the time of the initial offense.
- S.B. 10 of the 127th General Assembly, enacted in 2007, replaced the state's existing sex offender classification system (Megan's Law) with an "offense-based" system that classifies offenders into three tiers based upon the severity of the committed offense with increasingly strict registration, notification, and verification requirements.
- The law also required the retroactive reclassification of Megan's Law registrants, which, in June 2010, the Ohio Supreme Court invalidated. As a result, offenders previously classified under Megan's Law remain registered under that system.
- Megan's Law was a "risk-based" system that classified offenders based on their likelihood of committing a future sex offense.

Source: Ohio Attorney General