Ohio Public Defender Commission

Agency Fees - 01/31/2025

Inclusion on mailing list, for advance notice of
Ohio Public Defender Commission meetings

Training and publications

Client payments — reimbursement to the
state of cost of legal services provided by SPD
to an indigent client who has ability to pay
some part of cost

SPD representation of indigent defendant in
court — county payment of fees and expenses

SPD provision of investigation or mitigation
services to appointed counsel or local public
defender — county payment of cost of
services

Surcharge to be paid when a person posts bail
and to be retained by the clerk if the person
is convicted, pleads guilty, or forfeits bail and
transmitted to State Treasurer for deposit in
the Indigent Defense Support Fund

Additional court costs imposed on any person
who is convicted of or pleads guilty to, or is
adjudicated a delinquent child or a juvenile
traffic offender for, a felony — deposited into
the Indigent Defense Support Fund

121.22(F)

120.03(E)

120.04(B)(5), 120.05
(D), 2941.51, 120.33
(A)(4)

120.06(D)(1)

120.06(D)(3)

120.08, 2937.22(B)

120.08, 2949.091(A)

(1)(a)(i), (b), (2)(a)(i),

and (b)

*Contact LSC for more information about this fee.

120-2-01(B)

$5.00

Fees for educational
seminars and
publications

Depends on client's
ability to pay;
amount client
reasonably can be
expected to pay

100% of legal fees
and expenses.
(County then submits
costs for
reimbursement at
state reimbursement
rate of up to 100%)

100% of the cost.
(County then submits
costs for
reimbursement at
state reimbursement
rate of up to 100%)

$25.00

$30.00; court may
waive if offender is
indigent

Yes, by rule

No

No

No

No

No

No

Annually

As Needed

As Needed

As Needed

As Needed

As Needed

As Needed




Ohio Public Defender Commission

Additional court costs imposed on any person
who is convicted of or pleads guilty to, or is
adjudicated a delinquent child or a juvenile
traffic offender for, a misdemeanor other
than a traffic offense that is not a moving
violation — deposited into the Indigent
Defense Support Fund

Additional court costs imposed on a person
who is convicted of or pleads guilty to, or is
adjudicated a delinquent child or a juvenile
traffic offender for, a traffic offense that is
neither a moving violation nor a parking
violation — deposited into the Indigent
Defense Support Fund

Additional court costs imposed on any person
who is convicted of or pleads guilty to any
moving violation — specified percentage
deposited into the Indigent Defense Support
Fund

General driver's license reinstatement fee —
specified amount deposited into the Indigent
Defense Support Fund

Reinstatement fee for a financial
responsibility violation — specified amount
deposited into the Indigent Defense Support
Fund

120.08, 2949.091(A)

(1)(a)(ii), (b), (2)(a)(ii),

and (b)

120.08, 2949.091(A)

(1)(a)(iii), (b), (2)(a)
(i), and (b)

120.08, 2949.094(A)

120.08, 4507.45

120.08, 4509.101(A)
(5)(a)

*Contact LSC for more information about this fee.

$20.00; court may
waive if offender is
indigent

$10.00; court may
waive if offender is
indigent

$10.00; 50%
deposited into Fund

$44.00; $10.00
deposited into Fund

$40/first violation
(510 deposited into
fund);
$300.00/second
violation ($50.00
deposited into fund);
and $600.00/third or
subsequent violation
(5100.00 deposited
into Fund)

No

No

No

No

Agency Fees - 01/31/2025

As Needed

As Needed

As Needed

As Needed

As Needed




Ohio Public Defender Commission

Agency Fees - 01/31/2025

Reinstatement fee for a person who commits

a specified traffic offense, motor vehicle
equipment offense, or motor vehicle crime
that is a misdemeanor other than a minor
misdemeanor and whose license is forfeited
for failing to appear in court to answer the
charge or pay the fine

Application fee of person who requests or is
provided a state or local public defender or
appointed counsel

Additional filing fees in municipal court civil
actions, other than in small claims division,
for financial assistance to legal aid societies
and to support the SPD's office*

Additional filing fee in municipal court civil
actions in small claims division, for financial
assistance to legal aid societies and to
support the SPD's office*

Additional filing fees in most court of
common pleas civil actions, for financial
assistance to legal aid societies and to
support the SPD's office*

Additional filing fees in county court civil
actions, other than in small claims division,
for financial assistance to legal aid societies
and to support the SPD's office*

Additional filing fee in county court civil
actions in small claims division, for financial
assistance to legal aid societies and to
support the SPD's office*

120.08, 4510.22(A)

120.36(A)(1), (A)(7),
and (D)

1901.26(C), 120.07,
120.52

1901.26(C), 120.07,
120.52

2303.201(C), 120.07,

120.52

1907.24(C), 120.07,
120.52

1907.24(C), 120.07,
120.52

*Contact LSC for more information about this fee.

$25.00; $10 00
deposited into Fund

$25.00 charged by
clerk of court, with
$5.00 remitted to
SPD; court may waive
or reduce fee

$26.00; court may
waive under certain
circumstances

$11.00; court may
waive

$26.00; court may
waive

$26.00; court may
waive

$11.00; court may
waive

No

No

No

No

No

No

As Needed

One time

As Needed

As Needed

As Needed

As Needed

As Needed




Ohio Public Defender Commission Agency Fees - 01/31/2025

DUI penalty fines — first violation 120.08, 4511.19 S375 to $1 075; $75 No As Needed
deposited into fund

DUI penalty fines — second violation 120.08, 4511.19 $525to $1,625; $S125  No As Needed
deposited to fund

DUI penalty fines — third violation 120.08, 4511.19 $850 to $2,750; $250 No As Needed
deposited to fund

DUI Penalty Fines — fourth violation 120.08, 4511.19 $1,350 to $10,500; No As Needed
$500 deposited to
fund

*Contact LSC for more information about this fee. 320 PUB-4



